We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Pop Century Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Pop Century Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Pop Century Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1050 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is a good price and very convienant with having the bus transportation to the parks. It is a great place for the kids, It is decorated very cute with Huge Disney character statues throught the resort. The rooms are comfortable and clean. They also provide a mini fridge for free.

Room Tip: There is less noise in rooms not facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,599
    2,961
    1,002
    291
    144
See reviews for
4,303
1,069
105
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

had a great time at this disney value resort. stayed in the 80's building for a 2 week holiday. the rooms are on the cozy side but are very clean and tidy. the towels are changed everyday and sheets every other. the self service laundry is great and only costs a few dollars per cycle. food is ok gets a bit the same if you stay around the hotel for dinner, found as we were on the dining plan we went to epcot for more variation. there is only one bar at this hotel, considring the size it is a bit of a dissopointment. the bar is called petels and its outside the hippy dippy pool. disney prices off course. $8 a beer and same for a glass of pinot. a bottle of white is $15. outdoor films are great my kids loved it. overall thought it was a great place on a budget, only one problem was the swimming pool is cold at the hippy dippy pool so stayed at the 80's pool all the time whilst returning from the parks, myself and my 2 children cought a stomach bug from the 80's pool with some serious sickness and cramps that wrote off 3 days off the end of our holiday. lifeguard tried to reassure me that was not possible but as my wife does'nt swim and myself and 2 kids do. we all eat the same thing do the math as the yanks say!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Plus:
Check in a breeze, now they really do separate those that have checked in on line, so the process goes much quicker.
The rooms seem bigger than All Star Resorts, like the mini frig, and the privacy curtain into the sink area.
Room also was quiet, on third floor, and no matter where you were only a short walk to Classic Years Hall.
Since the buses only serve Pop century, they seem a lot less hassle.
The only reason I could not give them 5 *****, was that the person before me in the room used the toilet and did not flush.
Minor gross out.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went on the March Break of 2012, so WDW and Pop was crowded. That being said, I found our room quiet on most nights. The food court offered many choices, some were delicious (Greek salad! Ice cream sundaes!) and others were not (hamburgers). Busses were fast everywhere for us except to Downtown Disney, not a big deal as we only went the one day. The kids enjoyed the atmosphere and it was a lot of fun!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Let me start by saying in the past 23 years we have stayed at the following resorts numerous times: Grand Floridian, Swan, Caribbean Beach, Port Orleans French Quarter and Riverside. This year we decided to try a value resort - Pop Century. We stayed there Oct 7th thru 17th. When we opened the door to our ground floor room (2109) in the 50s building we were surprised and could not believe what some of these people writting bad reviews were talking about. The room may have been a little smaller but for the two of us it was great. We didn't hear any noise from any other rooms. One morning I did take a shower with someone staying in the next room (joke - I could hear the shower running at the same time). We were kicking ourselves over the thousands of dollars we have wasted staying in all the other resorts. The only complaint we had was the size of the parking spaces. Our rental car could barely fit into a space and if you have some that shouldn't have a license and then they would park on or over the line it would throw off the entire section. Besides the parking we agreed that we would be staying at the value resorts for the next 23 years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have been staying @ Pop Century for several years now. As expected, Disney does try to keep things clean overall but I think it is beginning to show it's age a little. We requested a room up front by the Hippy Dippy pool on the ground floor, paid a little extra for this but wound up getting stuck in a building that was on the side of the restaraunt. After a trip to the park came back to find little furry caterpillar things crawling around in our room on the floor. We did not complain, just killed what we saw & went to bed. Did not have any more issues after that. Just stayed one night.
Best advice I can give is to look at a map of the place & request a room in one of the front buildings because if you get stuck in a room at the back it's a long walk especially at the end of the day with tired or sleeping children. Been there done that our 1st visit, it's worth it to pay that little extra. Seems no matter where you stay here dragging your luggage to your room is a lot of work, parking is not near rooms, I would suggest getting your baggage delivered but be aware it may not come as quickly as you need it. We do use the Disney busses to & from the parks but be aware there are a lot of rude people & if you are older or carrying a baby you still may wind up standing up & trying to hold on during your ride. Last but not least is when you go to leave Magic Kingdom via their bus this location's bus pick up is the fartherest away which makes for a long walk at the end of the day with tired or sleepy children

Room Tip: Pay extra & get a room near Hippy Dippy pool, saves a lot of walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was the worst hotel we ever stayed at in Disney! We loved the All-Star Music so we thought we'd feel the same way about this - but it was awful! We even encountered argumentive staff! The noise level was atrocious. The rooms were anything but quiet and comforting. We had a wheelchair accessible room that wasn't on the first floor (wanna tell me how we're supposed to get a wheelchair bound person down the stairs if the elevators aren't working in a fire?????) There was no space in the room to put the trundle bed unless we wanted to block the door - and is that safe????
I could go on - but I get aggrivated just thinking about it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Pop Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Pop Century Resort

Address: 1050 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#100 Family Hotel in Orlando
#102 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Disney's Pop Century Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unforgettable fads of the 1950s through the 1990s all over again. From yo-yos and Play-Doh(R) to Rubik's Cube(R) and rollerblades, this Resort hotel salutes the timeless fashions, catch phrases, toys and dances that captivated the world through the decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Pop Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Pop Century Resort
Disney Pop Century Hotel
Pop Century Disney
Disneys Pop Century Resort
Disneys Pop Century Hotel
Century Pop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Pop Century Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.