We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiasco” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Cook's

Captain Cook's
1600 Seven Seas Drive, Disney Polynesian Resort, Orlando, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #914 of 3,166 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fiasco”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The food we had here was pretty good, but paying for the food is a fiasco. Avoid the prime times and it's probably a little better.

I was annoyed that I was charged for an item I didn't order and that it was more-or-less impossible to get it refunded. They did give me a complimentary cup of coffee.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    66
    58
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Get the Tonga toast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Really I could stop there and this review would be sufficient. Like the other resort dining options, you get a drink with your meal, so fill up your mug and grab a drink for later. The toast is huge and really 2 people could share it if you had that kind of willpower. Service is excellent, as to be expected.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A fast service restaurant that is lacking the Disney magic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

You are required to place your order on a touch screen, that continually did not accept my touch. Finally a food preparer had to walk around and do it for me. I also purchased a soda, you are given a cup with a chip, so you can only fill it once in self service soda bar. The machine would not fill the cup because the machine would not read the chip. Disney help needed again. The hamburger I purchased was delicious. It had a real small piece of tomato and lettuce. I discared the one piece of lettuce because it was past its prime, it was a marbled black and green color. To place one piece of lettuce on a hamburger, and not to notice its condition, does not meet the quality I epect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Crazy Hectic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Crazy hectic self serve combo food court/gas station food. You order via touch screen so you cannot make any changes or ask for any substations or requests. then you proceed to a gas station type refrigerator section to choose a drink --- small container of orange juice $2.50. You pay for everything at once then take your receipt to wait for your food which will be served to you on a paper plate. We bought one breakfast platter, one Mickey waffle, one child's plate waffle, and one breakfast sandwich, a choc milk and a coffee and spent $50. My pet peeve is eating "real" food on a paper plate. I don't mind a sandwich or a hamburger on a paper plate but who wants to eat eggs or waffles with syrup on a paper plate. My kids scavenged for a table (that's a whole different Disney event -- finding a table anywhere you go) and we cleaned it with wipes I had in my bag. Stepped in egg left on the floor by previous people. The only people working there are the three or four people behind the counter cooking and the two ladies at the cash register. There is no one actually cleaning the dining room. Nothing special at all about the food. I did not have young kids there --- but was feeling the pressure of every other mom there with small children. It is crazy hectic trying to keep up with people, order food, find drinks, pay, etc. Kids and people were going everywhere. I was so ready to get out of there. The ONLY thing I liked about this restaurant was the Dole Whip available. It was a nice treat at night (when no one else was in the restaurant.) This is definitely NOT a deluxe hotel. All the restaurants are way too small for the number of people they are trying to service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Make your own Dole Whip and Tonga Toast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The highlights of this quick service location are the Tonga Toast that was previously only served at the Kona Cafe upstairs and make your own Dole Whip machine (previously you could only get Dole Whips at the Magic Kingdom). The popularTonga Toast is thick French toast stuffed with bananas and covered in cinnamon sugar. Being able to get it for breakfast without needing a reservation was good thinking on someone's part. As is the Dole Whip machine. You are free to pile your swirl as high as you can make it without toppling the spire of creamy goodness. With a steady hand and patience I made a Dole Whip that was probably twice as high as the ones you would be served at Aloha Isle. Not that I NEEDED that much Dole Whip but it was just the challenge. Captain Cook's can be pretty busy and noisy but there is outside seating overlooking the lush Polynesian grounds.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Cook's also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Captain Cook's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Cook's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.