We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Only at Universal's Islands of Adventure
6000 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #9 of 108 activities in Orlando
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: There are many ways to enjoy your Orlando vacation, but there is only one place where vacation becomes adventure: Universal Orlando Resort. It is a unique destination featuring two theme parks, Universal Studios Florida and Universal's Islands of Adventure, three magnificently themed on-site hotels and a nighttime entertainment complex. It's the only Orlando destination where you are not just entertained - you become part of the most exhilarating entertainment ever created. You can soar above Hogwarts with Harry Potter, swing above the streets with Spider-Man, battle aliens alongside Agent J, and help Shrek save Princess Fiona in Shrek 4-D. Now open: the new, heart-warming and hilarious Despicable Me Minion Mayhem ride. And coming soon: Transformers The Ride-3D. Universal Orlando Resort is part of NBCUniversal, a Comcast company.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wizarding! Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Absolutely incredible what the designers did for this place--it will transform your chaotic day in Universal to the wintery Hogsmead. A MUST! and by far the best ride in the park! do not miss the big roller coaster!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,530
    1,414
    486
    155
    80
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“truely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Im not a great fan of Harry Potter even though I come from England...However...I think I will be now and visit the UK attractions...Anyway this was great...though to be honest it gets very packed so if your taking young ones be sure to hold onto them...the rides can be very long in waiting times either get there when park opens for short time or like us queue after 5pm or your looking at upto 2 hour wait times during day...we went after 5 and we waited 40 mins...anyway the main ride in the castle is fantastic im not going to spoil it by saying but a little hint..feels like your riding on the broom..you will need to put anything like bags into a locker ....first 45 mins are free...however just be careful if it goes over that time...you will need your fingerprint to access the lockers (good idea i think...this is used throughout universal)....prices are expensive for the shop however to be honest compared to costs in uk...well worth it....so do buy a wand from harry or the uniform the students wore...truely fantabulous....

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Julie
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“All hipe, no substance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I should start off by saying I'm a huge fan of the books, movies and anything to do with Harry Potter. Needless to say I was very excited at the prospect of seeing the WWoHP at Universal while visiting Walt Disney World. Pros: The facades were very cool and I loved the winter aspect. The ride in the castle is the best I've ridden to date! (Other than waiting in line for 2 1/2 hours before being told a member of my party could not fit the ride!). Cons: Well there are a lot. First there are only about 4 shops that you can actually enter and they all carry the exact same (super overpriced) merchandise. Secondly, it is so short. I mean you can literally walk from one end to another in 2 minutes or less. Thirdly, there are only 4 rides and they are all roller coasters. Next, they combined Diagon Alley, Hogsmeade and Hogwarts into one area. Also the butter beer is only so so.

Bottom line, save your money and your time, wait until Universal improves the place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Brook, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went there with my hubbie during the Christmas break and the lines were super long but please don't let that dismay you...its a moving line and worth the wait...I'm not someone who enjoys big drops and loops and this ride has none of those...definite must ride...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The book came to life!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My family went here over the summer. The detail of everything is amazing! Here are the pros and cons of our visit:

Pros:
-detail
-butter beer
-going in the castle
-seeing all the wands
-The animation of different objects
-The every flavor jellybeans
-The moaning myrtle sounds in the girl's bathroom
-had singer and dancers do shows
-magician doing magic tricks outside

Cons:
-We waited for 45 minutes out in the hot sun to get into the wand shop. I did not know what you are really waiting for is a two minute wand show. There is a separate entrance tat leads straight into the shop without waiting. There was no sign telling us this and could have done without the show.
-shops are VERY small. I know that they wanted it to be realistic to the movies but it was hard to move in them.
- There are only three shops there. The rest are just store front windows.
-on the ride in the castle the ride actually stopped for about 15 minutes. When it stopped, we were almost all the way upside down. Not a comfy position to stay in for a wile.
- The food was just ok
-There are no benches. Had to sit on the hot ground

Overall though I would recommend coming here. You will enjoy yourself. Though try not to come on the peak season as it is very crowded.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Only at Universal's Islands of Adventure also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Only at Universal's Islands of Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Only at Universal's Islands of Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Only at Universal's Islands of Adventure to your Saves list