We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Only at Universal's Islands of Adventure
6000 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$156*
and up
Ranked #2 of 285 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: There are many ways to enjoy your Orlando vacation, but there is only one place where vacation becomes adventure: Universal Orlando Resort. It is a unique destination featuring two theme parks, Universal Studios Florida and Universal's Islands of Adventure, three magnificently themed on-site hotels and a nighttime entertainment complex. It's the only Orlando destination where you are not just entertained - you become part of the most exhilarating entertainment ever created. You can soar above Hogwarts with Harry Potter, swing above the streets with Spider-Man, battle aliens alongside Agent J, and help Shrek save Princess Fiona in Shrek 4-D. Now open: the new, heart-warming and hilarious Despicable Me Minion Mayhem ride. And coming soon: Transformers The Ride-3D. Universal Orlando Resort is part of NBCUniversal, a Comcast company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“A theme park as its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Let me begin by saying I'm not even a big big Harry Potter fan. I watched the film before our trip to Orlando just so the WWOHP wouldn't be lost on me and thought it was 'ok'. Having read lots of advice online we made this our first stop as soon as the park opened. We went straight to the Harry Potter and the Forbidden journey ride as you can't use the Fastpass on this - there was already a 30 minute wait but I actually enjoyed the wait, in fact for once I would have preferred the queue to be a little longer so I could enjoy all stuff on show as you're waiting, this is all an integral part of the ride with cleverly recreated parts of the film involving the characters. The ride was good, even to 2 non Harry Potter fanatics, it relied heavily on special effects created by projection of images onto a screen in front of you and the sets pivot to create the effect of flying and jolting and everything else, a bit like the Transformers and Spiderman rides. After this we we speedily made our way to flight of the Hippogrith which had no queues but was really quite a tame rollercoaster that's not particularly exciting but it was ok. The best bit is walking through Hogsmeade and admiring the view of Hogwarts from a distance, Universal have really done a fantastic job here, the view of Hogwarts from a snow covered Hogsmeade is breathtaking and the detail in the shops, the street and the train station is excellent. We went to the 3 broomsticks for lunch which was good for a bit of fun, we bought sweets in Honeydukes and tried Butterbeer which is heavenly for the first few sips then gets a bit sickly so it's a good one to share. It's got a butterscotch marshmallow-y topping followed by sweet fizzy soda. The queue for Ollivanders (where you get a wand chosen for you) were ridiculous so we skipped that, queuing for ages to buy an overpriced stick was no on my agenda. I do think they make the queues massive on purpose so everyone thinks the experience is much better than it is just because everyone else is doing it!

I would definitely advise an early visit as when we went back for lunch it was so much more crowded in Hogsmeade than it was at 8.30 am.My trip was so good it has inspired me to read the first book and watch the film again and I can only imagine how exciting this place would be to a true Harry Potter fan!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,076
    1,729
    573
    176
    99
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“AMAZING! So realistic, feels like you are in the film!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

OMG!!
This is awesome, you walk into the world and your jaw just drops it's breathtaking! Everything is so realistic just fantastic! Hard to explain how amazing it is, wherever you are a Harry potter fan or not, you will still be blown away by how wonderful it is.
The Harry potter and the forbidden journey ride is out of this world, you actually feel like you are part of a movie, it's very, very realistic, I loved it and hated it at the same time, as it's so real but very scary and throws you around a lot, the awesome thing is they have a separate parents swap room where kids who are too young can watch harry potter films with one parent whilst the other parent rides then you swap over fantastic.
The three broomsticks pub is awesome just like the film, the shops are great tiny and small, the sweet shop was great loads of unusual sweets at good prices too.
You must try the butter beer it's delicious!!!! Like nothing I've ever tasted, very sweet but yummy!
Every staff member is dressed authentically, the attention to detail is unreal, you cannot buy any others drinks there only butter beer and pumpkin juice, so buy at Jurassic park area before you go in if you don't like butter beer.
We didn't go on the flight of the hippogriff ride as the wait time was around 50 minutes, plus we have done this ride before as this was here already they just changed it to look like a hippogriff.
Dragon challenge was cool, but again this was here before, but still a good ride.
Getting to see the hogwarts express was awesome, the whole world was just fantastic!!
Highly recommend!! Be prepared for queues but soooooo worth it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deni C, Social Media Coordinator at The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Only at Universal's Islands of Adventure, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of The Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Orlando Resort. It continues to be one of the most popular entertainment destinations in the world, and we're continuing the magical adventure by next year with The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Diagon Alley. We're always happy to hear that our guests left our resort with fond vacation memories. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Off the chain awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

When you walk into Hogsmeade, you see the magic train on the riight and the whole village takes you straight into the movies. Absolutely amazing detail! Then you can go on the ride which leads you into the Hogswart castle with exact detail to movie that every step in line has something intriguing behind each turn. Then you are taken on a ride that made us go about 4 times. We loved this experience!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deni C, Social Media Coordinator at The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Only at Universal's Islands of Adventure, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Orlando Resort. We are always thrilled to hear that our guests left our resort with fond vacation memories. We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Over Rated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

unless your a harry potter fan this area located inside Island of Adventure is not worth the money. Poor design and maintenance plus hotel guest get to bump to the front of the line. This park is poor on A/C and in hot months most ques are not A/C. Compare to a day at disney both parks at universal are over priced (around 100 dollars per day per park with $20. to park than walk what fells like a mile to get to the gate) and rated.. BUT i do fined fans of the park mostly those that don't like disney.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Live the books here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing, you can't tell every little thing was thought out. The forbidden journey may be second to none when it comes to fun, which all starts in the line. Every 50ft or so you are looking at something new. Olivanders wand shop little show is a must for all Harry potter fans, you will be glad you waited in the line. Butter bear has become my family's new favorite dessert and I'm sure I will drive myself crazy attempting to recreate it at home, but I will try. This place is enough reason alone to visit Universal!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deni C, Social Media Coordinator at The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Only at Universal's Islands of Adventure, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation memories and feedback about your visit to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Orlando. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to have a great experience with your family. We hope you will visit us again next year when The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Diagon Alley opens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Only at Universal's Islands of Adventure also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Only at Universal's Islands of Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wizarding World of Harry Potter - Only at Universal's Islands of Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.