We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CRUEL AND ABHORRENT TREATMENT OF ANIMALS SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gator Golf And Adventure Park

Gator Golf And Adventure Park
6584 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
321-689-3090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 195 attractions in Orlando
Type: Zoos, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Golf Courses
Attraction Details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CRUEL AND ABHORRENT TREATMENT OF ANIMALS SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The most important thing you need to know about this establishment is that the way the alligators and other animals are treated is completely abhorrent. I have lodged a complaint with the wildlife conservation commission and I hope they close this place down. A number of alligators are kept in a small shallow pond out front in filthy water with so space to swim and no land to lay on. They are also fed hot dogs! The alligators are manhandled by anyone and everyone with their mouths secured using regular cello tape. They are also left for people to sit on and yank around all day with no rest. Additionally, other animals such as turtles are kept in tiny tanks where they literally cannot move. Please do not go here, there are plenty of other attractions on international drive which are much better value for money and which do not torture animals for your entertainment.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    10
    12
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO HERE! STAY AWAY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The is the most disgusting place I have ever been! It is cruel and barbaric! The alligators have there mouths taped up with sellotape just so the owner can charge $10 to let a child sit on the alligators back! He claims it is okay as he rescued the alligators from some sort of farm, but it just seems cruel to attract publicity in this sort of way it is not fair on the animals! We did the golf as we were travelling with a big family and there are younger children. But the golfing itself is worn down and tedious and whilst walking around inside the golf we cam across some sort of turtle, maybe a snapping turtle being kept in a tank which he was too big for! the tank was so small that he couldn't change direction only swim forward a little and then back up again! This place is disgusting a needs to be shut down!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We have been in Florida for two weeks and have done really well in fitting in a lot of attractions such as the parks. So as it was our last day we chose to have a more relaxed day of shopping and golf! Little did we expect to turn up to a such a run down, and poor inviroment for the gators!... As we approached the golf we were greated by what I think was the owner sitting on one of the 14 alligators, the alligator looked distressed! Which wasn't a good first impression! But stupidly we went past and gave the place a second chance...as we were working our way round, by hole two we had seen enough, but as we hade children with us we thought we would just push past the run down vandalised course..but as we got further round the back(hole6) we called it a day and skipped the rest. The smell was unbearable and the environment didn't look like a good enviroment for any animal! As we were returning the equipment the woman on the desk asked us if we wanted to feed the alligators..this involved dangling hotdog pieces on a fishing rod in front of them. And I'm not saying I'm an expert on alligators but I don't think that hotdogs the most nutritious diet for them....so I personally would not recommend anyone to go here! And really hope the treatment to the alligators improves, as it wanst to a standard you would expect for such a large group of alligators!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We wanted a low-key activity on our first day and Gator Golf was a great starting point. Fun, innovative mini-golf, with all sorts of twists that made it more interesting. And yes, you can hold a gator for an extra fee...one of my daughters couldn't resist.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This place needs a total revamping! It's so run down and nasty! The golf balls got stuck in a few of the "houses/under passes"; many of the holes were missing boarders; the back holes actually wreaked of a septic smell (no joke); and the big alligator is in a very small, confined place for his size! Not at all a pleasant experience and we will not be returning, especially when there is so many other mini golf courses to choose from right in the immediate area. I even got a family 4 pass off Groupons for this and I still think I overpaid. Stay away and don't waste your time or money. If you do, bring a gas mask or nose plug for when you get to the back area!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gator Golf And Adventure Park also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Gator Golf And Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gator Golf And Adventure Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gator Golf And Adventure Park to your Saves list