We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Save Saved
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Calhoun, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here 7/ 17- 7/19. A beautiful resort with great staff! Loved seeing all the animals on the savannahs. We enjoyed all the viewing areas located throughout the resort. Lots of great photo ops. The staff is wonderful and accommodating! Beautifully decorated, comfortable room. I am rating it as a 4 only because of the amount of walking required to our room. (Great views while you walk.) Great experience!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,194
    947
    343
    163
    89
See reviews for
2189
666
28
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent hotel, with animals walking just outside your veranda, the whole stay was enjoyable, services were very good, staff very friendly and helpful....
Excellent shuttle services to all the parks, every 20 minutes.
Wild animals walking freely outside on the vast fields and you can watch them from your veranda, it feels as if you were in an African luxury hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a lovely stay here with Husband and two children (17 & 12) Room was a good size, as was bathroom. We looked out onto the Savannah which was simply breathtaking. Only downside for us was the cost of the food. Had a buffet at restaurant which can best be described as average that cost a small fortune. Other alternative was a budget style restaurant where food was served on paper plates with plastic cutlery (not what I expect from 1 4-5* hotel) Transport to theme parks worked pretty well. Would probably select another Disney hotel if we ever return.

Room Tip: Go for a savannah view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Jambo House.......Used Disney Club points....4 Night stay........great time......place is huge....had savanna view.........1 bedroom suite.........fifth floor.....saw animals and even fireworks from Epcot.......everything you need in lodge.....giant swimming pool with slide......great food......had a kitchen with EVERYTHING!!!!!! Whole hotel decorated to the max!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with the view of the savannas....saw many animals!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed at Animal Kingdom Lodge before and always loved it. This time there were 6 of us - my huband and I in one room and my brother, sister in law and their two girls (ages 8 and 3) in the other. Both rooms had 2 queen beds which suited us fine but you can request a room with a queen and a set of bunks. We requested rooms near to each other and got side by side which was great. Our rooms were pool view - 2nd floor. I was worried we'd get noice from the pool but you only heard noise when the patio doors were opened so you could choose to shut it out.

More storage space in this hotel than in value resort hotels (for example Art of Animation) so it was good to have more space to put things away. The theming of the hotel is spectacular and the fact you can be wandering along the corridor and look out the window and see giraffes and zebras etc is excellent too. The kids loved it.

Boma restaurant is great for both breakfast and dinner (set price buffet at both) and Jiko is beautiful for something a little different. Victoria Falls (the bar) always has a nice atmosphere and buzz as it sits above Boma so you get some noice and aroma from below.

The buses were a litle frustrating, as a rule (not 100% of the time) they pick up from Animal Kingdom Lodge Kidani Village before coming to Jambo House which can mean by the time they come to pick up at Jambo House they are already very busy and standing room only which is frustrating when you're trying to get your day started. Also means when you're tired and heading back at the end of the day you have the additional stop to make at Kidani Village before you're "home". While this would not put me off staying again, we did find it frustrating at times and waited longer for buses at AKL than we had the previous week at Art of Animation.

The public lobby area of the hotel has some great photo opportunities and many fabulous pieces of art/structures to admire and take interest in. Also, hotel has free wifi throughout - in room and in public spaces. Connection can sometimes be weak but in the main part it was very good.

I would recommend this resort and would stay again.

Room Tip: Depends what you want to spend. Standard rooms are cheapest, then pool view rooms (which was had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Compared with other Disney Deluxe hotels AKL is probably more a 4 because of a boring pool, annoying transportation, and smaller rooms- I had to move furniture for our pack and play.

However, this place still gets a 5 because everywhere you look there is something cool to look at. Whether it be an animal or an intricately carved door or medallion this place is detailed. Staff members are all over the place to answer questions, many actually from Africa. My son left his "puppy dog" and they sent it to us 1 day shipping for free.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Animals outside your window, water slides, 2-3 restaurants, a bar, a gift shop, room service, and on site laundry... what more could you need? Other than a discount, and a golf cart to get to your hotel room from the lobby. Ha! I'd recommend this property.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#38 Family Hotel in Orlando
#94 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge is an African lodge-style resort amidst a 43-acre wildlife preserve. The Resort offers authentic African-inspired architecture and the kraal African-village landscape design—a semi-circle design popular in Africa which offers expansive views of the surrounding savanna and its many animal inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.