We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and fun all rolled into one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Relaxation and fun all rolled into one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay in a Savannah room during our recent stay at AKL. What a wonderful experience. Mornings and afternoons on the balcony were quite peaceful and relaxing. The whole family was excited to view the animals (giraffes, zebras, ostrich, etc.) right outside of our hotel room. The pool area hosted some fun games and activities for everyone to enjoy. The hotel lobby is GORGEOUS! The staff are friendly and courteous and always willing to share a story or two about their country. We rarely eat quick service at the hotels but the Mara had some excellent choices (African stew, falafel, etc.) that we and our 5 year old daughter enjoyed. Boma of course is always fantastic as it offers a wide array of delicious choices. The only negative was a electrical shutdown one night which started around 11pm at night until the am which happened to put a damper on one of our nights out. Other than that, the holiday was fantastic! So much so, we ended up buying into the DVC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,704
    1,168
    395
    186
    100
See reviews for
2,681
819
34
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for 2 days/1nght on 12/30/13. Since it was peak season, we paid $486 for a Double Queen partial Savannah view. Room had double sink separate from bathroom. Only coffee machine and fridge in room.

We never have a chance to enjoy the resorts because we're always at the parks but since Magic Kingdom was closed and most parks were at maximum capacity, we decided to stay at the resort. I think Disney's Aulani in Hawaii mirrored after Animal Kingdom Lodge. I'll do a separate review on that.

We stayed at the Jamboo House and I do agree that any view of the Savannah will make your experience more enjoyable. There are scheduled activities throughout the day for you to participate in. There is also an arcade room and laundry for $2ea washer/dryer (30mins).

I had the delicious stew at The Mara for $8.49 and BBQ Chicken Flatbread Pizza for $9.99- both have a kick of spicy. There is a fitness center with sauna/steam room and Simba's Clubhouse where you can drop off your kids starting at 4:30pm for a fee per hour.

We also went over to the Kidani Village side to check out the amenities. Since Jamboo House is in the main area, that is where the larger fitness center is and restaurants.

Kidani is quieter and the pool area is amazing! It's geared towards children with waterfalls, buckets and sprays. Both have playgrounds. Kidani has a larger pool and slide. Also a comfortable Community Hall for you to enjoy movies and a place just to relax. There is also an arcade room on premise. What I loved most was the campfire. Roasting marshmallows brought me back to being a kid again. I enjoyed it with my 3yr old while the 10 month old splashed away in the kiddie pool. We all loved it here and are planning to go back next May.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Staying here right now. Room is adequate but very small for the price. Ceiling fan has a thick layer of dust on the blades, drapes you can see dust as well. Shower was only warm this morning and there is mildew growing on the tile. We have to ask for additional towels every day, they should have figured out by now that we would like a couple extra. Jilko restaurant very expensive for a steak that was probably just choice quality. seasoned very well however.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just returned from a 9 day stay at Animal Kingdom Lodge (December 14-22). It was our second visit in two years and returning to the property felt like coming home. We loved this hotel so much on our first trip to Walt Disney World last year, we were not even tempted to try out a different hotel for this trip. However, this time, I did make note of a few interesting things that other people have mentioned in less glowing reviews of this hotel.

Yes, the rooms are small. On our first trip in 2012, we were upgraded to an Arusha Rock room with a queen bed and bunkbeds for our two children (both under 10 years old). The room had a great view of the savanna, but was a very long walk from the hub of activity around the lobby, restaurants, pool, etc. This trip we requested a pool view room. Upon arrival, I was able to request and obtain a room with bunkbeds, which is a small upgrade. It was exactly the same room that we had last year (layout, size, furniture) but overlooked the pool. I think the price differential is in the thousands of dollars, believe it or not, so don't spend the extra money on the Arusha rock views unless you really want to watch the animals. Admittedly, this is very charming, but if you are like us at all, you will hardly ever be in your room anyway. The only complaints I have about our room during our 2013 stay was it smelled awful whenever you entered, sort of a mildewy smell, likely from being so damp; also the TV did not work well at all and caused us some frustration.

The restaurants are all fantastic, especially JIKO, where we ate twice both in 2012 and this trip. Dawn is a fantastic server and will recommend an excellent wine to pair with your meal. BOMA is also excellent but I found the service a bit impersonal; however, it is a buffet so really not an issue. The food is yummy. The quick-service MARA self-serve drink area could have been cleaner, and the hot chocolate machine was on the fritz all week, but really everything else was fine.

I noted many reviews where people state that the Animal Kingdom Lodge is not a deluxe hotel, although it is billed as one. I have to agree in some ways. The lobby and restaurants are incredible, the pool is quite nice, the spa is OK (we had massages here on both trips), but the room amenities are not near what you would expect in a luxury hotel. Just the small things really, like the quality and quantity of tissue for instance! We were supplied with only one box of tissue on the desk ( I found it annoying to not have a box in the vanity area) and the quality of tissue was poor. The bedding on the beds is very low quality as well, and the mattresses are not exactly in the sweet sleeper category! So, all these little things do sort of keep the hotel rooms in that moderate category.

Also I noted that many of the front desk / concierge staff looked quite unkempt. The uniforms they wear are dowdy and ill-fitting (definitely not the staff's fault) but some staff do not look clean. One concierge had very dirty fingernails and another young girl looked like she had not washed her hair for a week. They also looked tired and sad. This was very disturbing to me simply because I was concerned for these people who did not look like they cared much about themselves. In a upscale hotel I am accustomed to seeing staff who are well-trained and well-presented, who take a lot of pride in their work. I got a very different impression from many of the lobby staff at this hotel. I just hope they are being paid enough to care properly for themselves.

Overall, we really enjoyed our second stay at this hotel. If you choose this resort, I am sure you will enjoy it. It has a nice, secluded resort feel to it. The bus service is fine and has the advantage of not servicing any other resorts, except Kidani Village which is adjacent to Jambo House. The animals are very enjoyable and the restaurants count among our most favourite for all of WDW (and we have tried nearly all of them!!). Just adjust your expectations around the guest rooms a little if it is your first visit. If you want real luxury and space, best spend a few more dollars and book at a posher hotel.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room close the the pool, unless you don't mind walking forever. You may find tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip after staying at the Boardwalk Villas. What an awesome surprise! We had a Savannah view, I can't imagine staying here with out one. Being able to step out on our patio and see the animals was really special experience. The food choices here are pretty good, but travel to the parks is a bit of a pain after being spoiled by the great transport options at the Boardwalk Hotel. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family stayed there for my daughter's birthday. She loved the pool and I loved the waterside. We had a balcony, facing the savanna on the 4th floor. It was an amazing view. The giraffes, the zebras, all the animals were so amazing. The room was kind of small and expensive, but the view was worth it. The lobby and the hotel was amazing. The Animal Kingdom Lodge has surpassed my expectations.

Room Tip: Choose the savanna view, it is well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I travelled here with a group of work colleagues and couldn't fault it. The location is excellent, the facilities are vast and efficient and all staff were helpful and friendly. This would be an ideal hotel to visit if traveling with children, the wildlife is tremendous and can be witnessed straight from the balcony! The price may be quite high to compared to other disney hotels but the experience is priceless and the kids will thank you for that. Hopefully I will be returning with my kids very soon.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room with wildlife view x
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#45 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.