We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved watching the Savannah!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Save Saved
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Cadillac, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved watching the Savannah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

First, it was easy to get to the resort from the airport on the Magic Express; short lines & short wait get going. Then, very welcoming staff came out & greeted us by name as we got off the shuttle, then sat with us in the lobby and went over check-in paperwork & where everything was. Concierge made sure we had reservations/tickets for everything we needed. So friendly, so helpful, above and beyond. Loved our room overlooking the Savannah-there are many viewing areas around the lodge to view animals & birds, with very knowledgeable guides to answer questions & tell stories-but to be able to see giraffes at all times right off our balcony was awesome! Dinner at the buffet restaurant was a good experience in trying new cuisine, but very pricey and I wouldn't pay that price for picky eaters,or eat there twice. I enjoyed the huge pool while my hubby enjoyed the pool bar before dinner. This is a beautiful lodge with great service, and we love watching wildlife so this was a perfect place for us to explore, then relax, for the afternoon and evening before going to Epcot the next morning. They held our bags the whole next day after we checked out, while we did Epcot. This was likely a one-time experience for us (due to the high cost of all things Disney!) and it was so worth it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,825 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,258
    968
    343
    165
    91
See reviews for
2247
682
28
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (902)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed again at Disney's Animal kingdoms Jambo house concierge level 18-23 of July - the staff is so friendly very accommodating - I will highly recommend this to anyone - the animals can be seen from every level - wow what another great Vacation -thank you concierge level for your great hospitality and making our vacation a great one --- I must say Sam - Alex you guys where the best!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at The Animal Kingdom Lodge - Jamba House for eight days in July. It was a fantastic place to stay to visit all of the Disney parks. The staff - Check-In, Housekeeping, gift shop...everyone - were amazing. While the pool was standard it did have a water slide, but since we weren't there to sit by the pool, that was just fine. The room was always clean and we were upgraded with no charge to the animal side. Everyday we saw giraffes, zebras and other animals right off our patio. The only down side was the food - very expensive and not very good. Family of four at the buffet was $180!!!! Not including their "suggested" tip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have stayed here several times. Love club level the staff are amazing. Only quibble I have is the food offering in the lounge have greatly decreased over the years. Getting a savannah view is a must, people say it doesn't matter but it so does, having your coffee on a morning or wine on a night watching the animals is amazing. We stay in jambo but I'd say kidarni has the best pool area. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of four, two mums and two seven year old boys. Our room was a bit cramped but the beds extremely comfortable. The view of the animals was great with a different outlook everyday even though the balcony is small. The hotel facilities were very good and the staff very helpful and polite. The pool was great and managed to always get a sunbed. Clean towels were plentiful. We only used the one at Jambo house. The bus service to the other parks was generally very good and we didn't have to wait too long. The food was ok - either plain snacks or African influenced. It was all very fresh and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Jambo House Club Level 4th Floor Disney Dining Plan.

The only negative I can find with this resort is its distance from the parks (with the exception of Animal Kingdom). As far as comparing pricing to Marriotts with greater square footage... do your homework. You are paying for the Disney experience. And what an experience it is.

The lobby is fantastic. Subtle African touches are found throughout the resort. Activities for kids throughout the day, some very educational. It is not uncommon to see children in the middle of the lobby floor drawing with a cast member or partaking in some cultural art activity.

The room with bunk bed is small, but clean. The Arusha View wore out its novelty after a day or two. It's the same animals everyday doing very little. Having a view would not be a priority if ever staying again. You can actually get a better view by the publicly accessible Arusha Rock where a very knowledgeable cast member is there to answer your questions and provide night vision goggles in the evening!

I ate at Boma (sit-down dining) and Mara (quick service). Boma is all you can eat and the only thing the waiter does is bring your drinks and clear the table of excess plates. Tasks not really worth the suggested 18-20% tip. The food was just okay and may be a little too exotic for picky children. Spaghetti and meatballs available, but I was told nothing special. There wasn't one option that had me going back for more. It was one and done for my party. Mara has a limited menu, but I found the meals to be much more satisfying.

Kilimanjaro Club is amazing. You can really fill up on the snacks and drinks provided. That plus the dining plan is overkill. Free copies of the NY Times. I made little use of the concierge during my stay. Maybe one or two questions here and there. They did help immensely during my pre-trip planning.

The pool is the highlight. Very large, just under 5' at its deepest. The water slide is more for children. Lifeguards are there to strictly enforce rules but after 11PM, when the pool "closes" it's a free for all (though the water slide and bar are closed). They even leave pool towels available after hours. People were in there as late as 2AM. Never overly crowded, even during the holiday week. Children's activities during the day and a seemingly endless loop of tweeny music. The pool is so large that the music is barely audible from the opposite side.

Regrettably, I never took the time to admire all of the intricate details Disney put into the resort. You can collect beads on a string for participating in the various activities (great Disney keepsake). You can play African drums. You can roast marshmallows at the outdoor fire pit. Disney movie night at the pool. I know I missed much more.

Still in the end, the distance will have me stay at another Disney resort for any future visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

stayed here for one week with daughter and 8 yr old granddaughter.,we loved the hotel,even though the walk was a long way from main reception area to our savannah room..hotel staff were all lovely,maid service was hit and miss ,very sorry also that we had no towel animals the whole week unlike our last trip to port Orleans French quarter ,which my granddaughter loved !. the pool area at hotel was beautiful, and food areas fine although not really into African food. the bus service to parks were great and not to long a journey as some reviwers claim . if staying again I definitely would not bother in having a savannah room as there are plenty of viewing areas around hotel and our savannah was almost empty the whole time and so we looked out onto a empty dirt area and pool view would have been much nicer !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#31 Family Hotel in Orlando
#100 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge is an African lodge-style resort amidst a 43-acre wildlife preserve. The Resort offers authentic African-inspired architecture and the kraal African-village landscape design—a semi-circle design popular in Africa which offers expansive views of the surrounding savanna and its many animal inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.