We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few things you might want to know...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Orlando, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A few things you might want to know...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge in July, and it was fun for almost every minute. There are a few things you might not know from the brochures.

First, the "Animal Kingdom Lodge" is more-or-less broken up into two separate hotels. The main one is the "Jambo House", which features the larger lobby, the larger pool, and what seems to be the larger restaurants. At the "Kidani Village", on the other hand, even though the pool is smaller, it is much nicer.

The pool at the Kidani features a splash pad for kids to run around in, including a waterfall that kids seem to find hilarious, even though it is only in about four inches of water at the bottom. The slide at the Kidani seems to be about twice as tall, and the movie set-up is much, much, nicer.

If you don't know about the movie set-up, this is something that Disney provides at several of their resorts. At 9pm or so, they set up a movie screen around the pool area and show some kind of Disney or Pixar movie for families to watch around the pool.

At Kidani, the screen was easy to see, and the speakers were easy to hear from many different angles. At Jambo, the screen was nearly impossible to see unless you were directly in front of it, and the sound was very poor quality. Even sitting directly in front of the movie screen, I only heard one out of every three our four words. From a few feet further back, my son gave up within a few seconds and went back to what he was doing.

There are a lot of other easy-to-spot differences as well. At Kidani, there seemed to be a wider variety of animals that got much closer, and the "night vision" time seemed to be working in better conditions. Even though there is a shuttle that runs back and forth between the two buildings (about a mile apart), the amenities made it clear who were the second-class citizens.

It doesn't matter much, because at Disney, you usually have to pay extra for each upgrade. (If one motel is nicer than another, you can bet that the nicer one costs more.) But if the splash pad and outdoor movie are high on your list, you might want to spend the extra cash. I think the Kidani Village is only available through the Vacation Club, but most everyone knows how to get access to that.

I can't tell you about the kid's activities, because we stayed busy the whole time, but both of the hotels offered some kind of kids program.

I can't tell you about all the restaurants, but I can tell you about Boma, which is one of my favorite restaurants anywhere. But I can also tell you that it is not for everyone. The buffet features a lot of unusual sauces, soups and salads. If you are the kind of person who never tries anything new, you might not like Boma. On the other hand, if you see three different sauces to choose from, and always try all three, then odds are that you will like Boma.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,465
    1,071
    365
    172
    98
See reviews for
2,454
751
28
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,029)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronson, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This resort makes you feel at home and comfortable. When you arrive they say "Welcome home!" It is so unique down to every last detail. The music playing is incredible straight from Africa. The theme is so beautiful. The lobby when you walk just take you back! You cannot help but to just stand there and take it all in. There is a fire pit right in the lobby where you could just sit and relax. It was so warm and welcoming! Then on to the room....which I have to admit were a little small but Disney spares no expense on the details right down to the wallpaper and wood work which was all African themed. The bunk beds my boys just loved! The in room fridge was a great help especially when you have kids. We even got room service one morning for breakfest and the food was so good and the waiter catered to our needs right down to bringing in a toaster for our bread because they did not want to get soft on the way up from the kitchen!!! The grounds were so breath taking. We went in March so it was a little chilly for the pool but we still enjoyed the beautiful scenary. The gift shop is great with all the Disney amenities! Pricey but that's Disney. I am all for paying more for an awesome family experience and this is definately one you have to do with your family because the theme is something you won't see just anywhere. I recommend spending a little more for a balcony in your room so you can sit and watch the animals in the viewing areas. We seen so many just walking by. It was nice to sit out and drink our morning coffee and watch the animals actually play together. The restaraunts were a bit pricey and not a lot on the menu that kids would eat so we just enjoyed the counter service option at the hotel, the food was reasonable and delicious. The game room at the hotel was really cool for my boys, we played in there for awhile! Pictures do not do this place justice, you have to see it for yourself. I am so glad we got to go here and I would definately take my family here again hands down and you should to! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Took a family trip here. Lucky enough to get a room with a view of the savannah even though we booked at a lower rate. Great restaurants on site. Could sit on the porch and watch the animals all day. A bit far from the parks except for Animal Kingdom. Be ready for some longer bus rides and waits. Not cheap, but it is Disney. Africa theme a bit heavy handed. Staff was wonderful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at AKL - Jambo House June 9th to June 13th, the second half of our vacation. The luggage transfer was seamless. We were Magically upgraded from a standard view to a savanna view, which was a very nice surprise. We were in room 3283 on the Kudu Trail with the Sunset Savanna view. The room was beautiful, just like all the pictures we've seen. Being there in June was problematic in that the resort and room were cold but external temperature was really humid and hot. The room quickly warmed up with our constant opening the balcony door. Maybe this is just me, and maybe this is due to the humidity, but the carpet seemed a little damp.

The bathroom was nice and had a shelf above the two sinks. I loved the wall paper. The water closet was small, and the light couldn’t be used without the fan. As others say, it was a little dark.

A good variety of animals greeted us and hung around most of the time. Between Kidani and our room (to the left) was a backstage working area of AKL. While on the balcony, we always heard a low drone from whatever machinery was there, but it was OK. Sometimes, the work being done was a little louder, but the animals didn’t seem to mind.

The lobby is absolutely beautiful, and all the art and artifacts are amazing. The CMs are out and about with hands-on educational and fun activities. SO cool. The décor is totally what we wanted, and AKL delivers. Disney planned the savannah viewing areas behind the pool very well, along with the posts with the animal information and facts.

We didn’t eat at the Mara, but I went in one morning to get a cup of coffee. It was nice, clean, well-stocked and well laid out. The coffee was good, by the way. It is in the perfect location right near the pool. The pool area was great. The slide was fun, and the landscaping was lush.

We ate dinner at Boma one evening. Everything was great. The dishes, sides and desserts were amazing and flavorful.

My only real downer was the bus wait times. I was ready for the trips to the Parks to take a little longer, and that was OK. It seemed that the Park we chose that day always had a long wait for the bus. It was too bad for us that we didn’t use the “whichever bus came first” method of Park decision.

I would stay at AKL again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This resort was great very friendly staff . I was very impressed with the savanna the animals are all over. The 1 bedroom suite was great we had a large bedroom with a king size bed and a large walk in shower and a large bathtub the bathroom was so big we set up a crib in there .The living room had a pullout couch a dining room table and full kitchen and a 2nd bathroom. The pools are really nice and very clean with slides for the kids lots of stuff for the kids to do. I would stay here again .The bus stops were very organized. We took a nice walk to Jambo for lunch at Mara's great food.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the middle of the resort the walk to the elevators was a long walk from the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent 6 days / 5 nights at the hotel. We got the Park Hopper passes and these were worthwhile as we could hit different parks on the same day (and we did!!). Please note that Typhoon Lagoon and Blizzard Beach are not part of this package. You have to pay extra.

The hotel is horseshoe shaped and guest are treated to many areas for viewing animals. From our balcony, we routinely had giraffe, hippopotamus, and many more animals. It was very entertaining for the kids and adults alike.

The pool was large and offered a water slide for the younger kids. The hotel also has a well equipped gym and nice spa.

The restaurants offer a variety of dinning options. We primarily ate at Boma which offers a lot of dinning options in a buffet style environment.

The Mara, was their disney quick service restaurant and it was OK. If using the Disney dinning plan, make sure you understand what you are getting for a meal.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty standard in size. If you are traveling with children ask for a room with bunk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for a week at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge (AKL) in the Kidani village (Disney Vacation Club) by renting points from a DVC member. We got the studio savannah view. The positives include stunning theming, awesome animal views and a very nice studio room that was spotless, with pull out sofa and kitchenette. The room was also very quiet and enabled us to sleep well. Service was excellent throughout. The negative was the long walk to the lobby. Our room was almost at the far end of the resort and it was a 7 minute walk just to get to the lobby walking at a good clip. We had 2 small children with strollers. We did this 2 or more times a day.

The food choices at AKL are limited. Sanna was the restaurant at Kidani and there are fast food choices (pricey) at Jambo house. Additionally, you can't just walk in very easily. You have to make reservations at all the sit down restaurants or you risk long waits. It was a trek to get to Jambo because you either walk (10 minutes) or take a shuttle from the lobby, which took us at least 7 minutes to get to. So the combined time to get to Jambo for us was at least 17 minutes walking.

Lastly, distance to the other resorts was long. We drove to every resort instead of taking the bus.

Overall, I'd stay again but feel like a closer resort would be more convenient. If you want to wake up and look at animals grazing outside your door. This is the place. I am a nature lover and did appreciate this, but I also value convenience and location in terms of access to restaurants, pools, and other resort amenities. Lastly, time is a valuable commodity on vacation and I would not like to spend a lot of it walking to the lobby or the pool or the restaurant at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the lobby if you don't want a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#13 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#64 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge is an African lodge-style resort amidst a 43-acre wildlife preserve. The Resort offers authentic African-inspired architecture and the kraal African-village landscape design—a semi-circle design popular in Africa which offers expansive views of the surrounding savanna and its many animal inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.