We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Africa in the middle of FL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Save Saved
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Africa in the middle of FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Simply amazing. We stayed in a 1 bedroom Savannah suite at Kadani Village and although pricey it was worth every penny. We've stayed at both Jambo and Kadani and they each offer something a little different. Jambo has a sense of grandeur that is just awesome. On the other hand, Kadani has a sense of intimacy that makes you feel like you're on some sort of African getaway.

The service is excellent at both locations. The rooms and property are always impeccably kept. There activities offered make it so that you could spend several days at the lodge and have a great time without going to the parks. The pools are great and some of the most relaxing in Disney. The gym on property is quite adequate for working out on vacation and is better than some of the gyms I've seen in condos and apartments. The on site dining is top notch. Some people who stayed at the Kadani Village complain about the walk between Kadani and Jambo it's really not that bad at all. If you have some medical condition that makes walking difficult for you, they have a shuttle that comes about every 5 mins and continues to run between the two properties.

My only two minor complaints are that the rooms aren't the best lit and the length of the hallways. I'll start by addressing the lighting as that's at least rectifiable. It seems that Disney was trying to accomplish a mix of intimate and bright. It seems really moot but the lighting isn't dim enough to really set a romantic mood but not bright enough to read or do anything of that nature. Maybe install dimmers? The long hallways aren't really an issue but they warrant mention. When in Jambo the hallways can be kind of long but manageable. At Kadani, we stayed in the last room of the 2nd to last building. We clocked it after our first night there going to use the night vision noting that it was a incredibly long walk. Well it was, it was 1/4 of a mile so the walk to the fire pit/night vision area was 1/2 a mile or if you need something from the shop for cooking another 1/2 mile. Don't be concerned about luggling all you stuff down long distances because smartly the ground floor is an entire parking structure. So you'll be able to park near an elevator that will take you up near your room. I really like the parking area as it kept your car cool at all times. I just wanted to make sure those people who were looking at staying at Kadani were aware of the walk because after a long day depending on your method of travel to the parks that walk can be very long.

I'll finish with the views. They are simply amazing. I think it appeals to the inner child in all of us. It really feels as though you're waking up in Africa in a 5 star resort. We awoke every morning to the views of giraffes eating off the trees, ankotle cattle, zebras, and ostrich grazing. The decor, presentation, and views warrant the prices. Honestly, if you can afford the difference, spring for the savannah views.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking try to get rooms closer to the lobby. Otherwise there's really not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,185
    939
    343
    163
    89
See reviews for
2177
664
28
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (861)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you like animals, you'll love this hotel. The lobby is very majestic and pretty...very similar to the Wilderness Lodge (but the African themed version). The fact that you can go out on your balcony and see zebras and giraffes is pretty cool. The club level in this hotel is very nice...more spacious than that of the Yacht Club, though I think the Wilderness Lodge has the best concierge. The signature restaurant here is Jiko, and it's very good, though I think Artist Point in Wilderness Lodge is better. The pool in AKL is unimpressive, but I was more than happy to give that up for the awesome views of the animals. This resort is tucked away in a rather remote corner of the Disney campus, but if your primary park-going interest is Animal Kingdom, then clearly this is the resort for you. I would say that AKL is tied with WL as far as quality and service goes, and the pools. Neither of these hotels has particularly impressive pools, but if you want a great pool go to the Yacht Club.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a bad experience with the keys to the world. You would think with all the info Disney collects on everyone in your party and all the confirmation numbers that it would be easy for them to tie everything together and be an easy check in with tickets and all. We waited an hour at the check in counter while they tried to get it all worked out. We asked for a manager and he took care of our dinner for our time but we still had issues we these keys all the way until we left.
Besides that, the Gran Villa was very nice for 9 of us. Plenty of room. Still don't understand why they have a pool table. It seems they could have done something different in this room. Movie room? Room was clean and well stocked. We were off on the end near Kadini, but we saw all the animals at one time or the other. Second favorite resort to Wilderness Lodge

Room Tip: If you have anyone older you may want to ask for a room near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed I a savannah room on the zebra trail and it was very nice. I didn't think it was that dark and the decor was pleasant. We didn't eat at Boma because we felt it was just too expensive, had breakfast at mara and I wasn't too impressed. The pool was lovely, my children loved the slide, the marshmallow toasting and fire pit were a great idea. We also enjoyed taking part in the nightly parade. My big bugbear was the transport, the buses were rammed and so uncomfortable, such a struggle with a buggy. It was nice enough but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My family of 3 just returned from an 8 day stay at Jambo House at Animal Kingdom Lodge. The hotel and the pool area are absolutely beautiful. We had a pool view, but but also had many opportunities to view all the animals. I had read several negatives about the buses, but we had no problems at all. Never a wait to get on a bus and the trips to and from parks seemed short. The food service was good with The Mara offering up quick serve until 11:30 pm and Boma (buffet) serving delicious dishes as well. We never made it to Jiko, but it smelled wonderful. We loved our room and were always excited after a day out at the parks to see what Mousekeeping left for us. We also found all the castmembers to be extremely friendly and helpful. We would recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay at Disney.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I go to Disney frequently and have stayed at most of the properties. We like to stay at different one each time. The view from our balcony room was wonderful. We started on the 4th floor and ended up in a room on the 2nd floor. The 2nd floor was cheaper (we moved for the bunk beds), but I actually liked the view better. The animals were closer and the kids did love to sit out there and watch the giraffes being fed.

It's the customer service that lacks at the Lodge. From the moment we arrived to the day we left, it felt much more like an economy hotel than one of their luxury resorts. The rooms are small, the food choices for dinner are limited, the distance from anything is longer than I'd like and the front desk bordered on rude at times. We had room issues and found it impossible to speak to a manager. They are in "meetings" a lot out there.

I won't be returning. For my money, I'd rather stay at the ones on the monorail or the Yacht and Beach Club where you can walk right into Epcot. I don't mind spending extra for those perks. If I am going to have to bus it everywhere, the family suites at the cheaper Disney hotels are nicer and the staff is more helpful.



If what you want is a view or a unique Disney experience, it's worth one visit. But if you're looking for Disney hospitality and convenience, skip this one.

Room Tip: We had the Arusha View with bunk beds on the second floor. 2421. Nice view and unobstructed by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Kandahar, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Out of all of the hotels on Disney World, this has to be my favorite. I loved that you can see animals wandering around freely from the lobby and other areas in the hotel. My son loved it as well. If you're a zoo or animal lover this is the place to stay. The room itself is average, nothing impressive but the hotel is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#39 Family Hotel in Orlando
#93 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge is an African lodge-style resort amidst a 43-acre wildlife preserve. The Resort offers authentic African-inspired architecture and the kraal African-village landscape design—a semi-circle design popular in Africa which offers expansive views of the surrounding savanna and its many animal inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.