We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Save Saved
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 327 hotels in Orlando
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Magical Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here at the end of February/early March and loved it. I think we were upgraded to a Savannah view with bunk bed and double bed. It was roomier than I expected based on other reviews of Disney resorts. The atmosphere is so magical - the one time I would definitely recommend spending the extra money. However, I did get a good deal by waiting about 2 months before our trip to reserve our room. Disney has created a whole savannah atmosphere from the decor inside the lobby to your view from the windows while you walk to your room. The kids ate lunch on the balcony watching the animals. If you stay here, make sure you leave a day to just be at this resort and the wonderful pool. We didn't and we regret it. They also have activities like bonfire with roasted marshmallows with a view of the savannah and animals. One of my children got sick and we had to leave the park early. I didn't even feel too bad since I got to stay in our room and order yummy room service!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,847 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,272
    972
    345
    166
    92
See reviews for
2258
685
28
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown,NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here in the fall and it never felt crowded. Atmosphere at this resort was wonderful and relaxing. We loved not only viewing the animals but exploring the resort and looking at the artwork. We were upgrade to a savanna view room and loved watching the giraffes, antelope, and water buffalo every morning. Many people don't like how far out of the way this resort is from the parks but we felt that's what contributed to the quiet atmosphere. It did seem to take a bit longer for the bus transportation (for pick up and to get to parks) but we expected that. Staff is wonderful and friendly. Our only negative was the food situation. We didn't think that the Mara had a good variety to choose from and both sit down restaurants are difficult to get into even with a reservation. Oh, and I did notice, at night standing on the balcony, I could hear highway traffic noise that kind of detracted from the surrounding peacefulness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It's the best hotel I have ever been!! Location, design, people, rooms...all perfect!! If you visit Disneyworld Orlando you have to stay here!! You feel like you are in Africa and if you have view of the Savanna it's even better. The rooms are big and clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff is very friendly and they help you with everything you may need!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My family (2 adults and two children 6 & 11) stayed in a savannah-view one bedroom at Animal Kingdom Lodge Kidani Village from March 22-29, 2013. This was our first time staying at this resort. We were quickly greeted upon arrival and check-in was processed quickly. The staff was very nice and friendly. Before walking to our room, we checked out the lobby and viewing areas. It's amazing to see so many different animals outside the windows which was mostly enjoyed by our 6 year old who later marked every animal he observed in a paper which was provided in a room. We were able to see different types of safari animals from room windows and balconies. Both rooms was very nice, clean and comfortable. The king size bed as well as pull out sofa for kids were very comfortable. We really like the decor of the resort as well as our room. Unfortunately we did not use amenities due to visiting 6 parks in 7 days. Two full bathrooms was a great feature. Express check out was a big plus. No one wanted to leave but ....
The resort is beautifully-themed and worth a stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Family of four stayed four nights at Animal Kingdom Lodge this March.

One of our family members is a disney cast member so we got a substantial discount on our room. We stayed in a third floor savannah view room for the first two nights and moved to a fourth floor savannah view room the next two nights.



Pros

-Nothing beats waking up in the morning and having coffee on your balcony with zebras and giraffes walking around outside your room.The savannha view rooms are the only way to go here!

-Rooms have a coffee maker with coffee and tea-remember budget resorts do not have this luxury which is a luxury if you are a coffee drinker.

-rooms have a small fridge

-Access to magic hours

-Boma has a spectacular dinner buffet

-Mara which is the quick service restaurant on premises serves some unique dishes which are pretty good including african stew and falafel sandwiches.
Mara is open till midnight.

-Internet/wifi is fast

-Buses to and from the parks are generally frequent and waits were minimal

-Bus stop to return to lodge is usually closer to the park than the moderate and budget resort bus stops meaning less of a walk.When we stayed at pop century last year the bus stop was the farthest away and we had to wait forever for the bus.

-Fitness center is very nice and has some free weights,many machines,treadmills,stationary bikes.Towels are available as is a changing room and i believe there is a sauna on site.Access to the gym is 24 hours with your key card which is nice.

-Large swimming pool with a small slide

-pool has a hot tub

-You have access to the Kidani village pool as well which we did not see but lifeguards told us the slide was bigger and faster at Kidani villlage

-Free shuttle runs between Kidani Village and Animal Kingdom lodge-stops running around 11pm

-Many kids activities especially around the pool

-playground on site

-Comfortable beds

-TV in the lobby area showing old classic disney cartoons all night long

- Kids will love the many areas to view the wildlife

-Wildlife can be seen day and the night.Always enjoyed staying up late watching the animals

-Staff in the savannah area keep it clean and never had a problem with any bad smells

-Close to animal kingdom as expected

-Staff allowed us a later check out when we requested it

-Staff is nice and attentive as expected at a disney resort

cons

-This hotel is not cheap and if we did not have a discount would have a hard time justifying the expense

- Farther away from magic kingdom/epcot/hollywood studios

-Savannah view rooms seem to have a view of certain groups of animals as some tend to stick more to a certain area-for example our first two nights we saw more zebras,guineafowl and giraffes from our room then when we switched we saw more gazzelles and the big horned Ankole cattle.The animals do move around so more than likely you will see a variety of animals.The hotel also provides you with a one page field guide to help the kids identify the animals

-Slide is small and slow- better for younger kids

-rooms are pretty basic and small

-bathroom is very very small

-rooms are done in darker colors to go with safari theme so not very colorful this may be a positive or a negative


tips
1.buses coming back from the parks generally stop at kidani village first and then goes to jambo house which is animal kingdom lodge.Be sure you get off at the right stop as the audio that tell you where you are does not always come on.
on our first night we got off at kidani village and because it was late the shuttle was not running and we had to walk to the lodge which is not too far but after a whole day at the parks and it is midnight the walk seemed like it was 10 miles.

2.Try boma at least once-it is probably the best buffet in disneyworld at least for adults.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you are ok watching the animals around the property and would like a lush scenic view, ask for a pool view in the giraffe wing. Close to Buses. lobby, and restaurants. Otherwise, ask for savannah view in the zebra trail. You must try the soups at Boma rest., outstanding!! This resort really feels like home, love the African theming!

Room Tip: Zebra trail for Savannah View, pool view in the giraffe trail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in one of the Arusha view rooms as a family of four with bunk beds. The room was quite small and the bathroom was so small it was hard to close the door sometimes. The views of the animals were very cool and the pool was okay (we were only at the pool for a few hours one day). Also, the HVAC system was terrible -- you either got heat or air conditioning - once it got to the temperature you wanted by warming it turned on the AC and started cooling back down. This system seemed antiquated to me.

This was our first time staying at an actual Disney resort and I guess I was expecting more given how well the theme parks are run. I would probably try a different one next time. Also, the shuttle system provided by Disney to the theme parks would be better if they ran more often. We waited for quite a while (about 40 minutes). The front desk told us we could get from Magic Kingdom to Downtown Disney directly with the shuttle but that wasn't true -- you had to shuttle to a hotel and then catch another bus to Downtown Disney. It took us over an hour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#31 Family Hotel in Orlando
#102 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge is an African lodge-style resort amidst a 43-acre wildlife preserve. The Resort offers authentic African-inspired architecture and the kraal African-village landscape design—a semi-circle design popular in Africa which offers expansive views of the surrounding savanna and its many animal inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.