We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, relaxing, and fun!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Unique, relaxing, and fun!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Animal Kingdom Lodge for 5 nights. The only major downside to this hotel is it can be expensive depending on what room category you stay in. We were going to stay Arusha View and then realized for about $35 extra a night we could upgrade to a club level room. So we decided to splurge. Since "value" is subjective I am really basing the review on the hotel and services we experienced and can leave it up to each traveler to decide if the value is worth the experience.

We arrived to our hotel at 11:00 a.m. and were hoping we could get early check-in. As we were walking into the hotel we were greeted outside the front door. We were asked our name and welcomed. Since we were staying club level we were escorted upstairs to the concierge lounge and were seated and given mimosas. We were checked in and thankfully our room was ready.

Our room was a good size. We had requested a king bed and that's what we were given. We were on the 4th floor. To be honest, my biggest concern was that we'd pay for an Arusha view room and then not see animals. And when we checked in we didn't see anything on the Savannah...I started getting a little nervous. However, within the hour we saw giraffes, and all kinds of birds, zebra, and other animals. Throughout the trip we sat on the balcony and observed wildlife. At one point some giraffes didn't like that there was a wild boar (I think it was a boar) next to them and we got to see them interact where they chased it off. There was a baby giraffe and it roamed by the pond near our room.

There are a lot of good restaurant options at the Animal Kingdom Lodge. Jiko was excellent! We ate breakfast at Boma but did so in a hurry. It was good but I would have liked to try it for lunch or dinner. We went to Sanaa at Kidani Village (you can walk from Jambo House to Kidani Village or take a shuttle that is a quick drive). Sanaa was also excellent. The service was fabulous and definitely try the banana sundae! It's not what you'd expect.

We didn't do anything at the pool but we popped into the Mara for snacks. There wasn't a ton of variety but it was good for a quick bite.

There are a lot of fun activities to do around the lodge. There is a campfire story time and you can go down to the pool area and use night vision goggles to look for animals on the safari. It'd be cool if you could take these to your room but I'm sure that's expensive to provide those to each guest. We didn't really see any animals but it was still neat to look.

There are also additional safaris you can purchase. Since we were staying club level we were able to do the sunrise safari. It was $70 a person and was amazing. They drive you back stage from the Lodge to the Animal Kingdom Park and then you do a semi-private (there were 14 of us on two of the trucks) tour of the Kilimanjaro Safari ride. It lasted about an hour and we stopped by all of the animals and had great photo opps. The guide, Jennifer, was so knowledgeable about the animals - it was informative and fun.

There's also a nighttime safari (I think around $70?) and then a Wanyama Safari that's longer and includes a food and wine pairing dinner at Jiko but it's around $179 a person but we talked to other guests who said it was worth the cost.

I read bad reviews about the housekeeping at the hotel but we had good experiences. Our room was clean when we checked in and was always cleaned nicely every day.

Some minor issues - you could hear noises through the wall from other rooms. We never heard noise at night but in the mornings you could hear noises from other rooms as people were moving about. There was also a mustiness smell in the room but I think that's from people opening the doors a lot in hot, humid Florida. I notice that smell a lot in Florida and the Caribbean.

We also had problems with our TV service and had to call someone up when we were trying to relax at night and watch TV. They said someone would come in the next day while we were out but I don't know that it got fixed because we never did get the lower numbered channels.

Excellent hotel with just a few minor issues!!

Room Tip: If you are staying in an Arusha view room I'd pick a 3rd or 4th floor room. The 1st and 2nd look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,474
    1,077
    368
    173
    98
See reviews for
2,463
755
28
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,034)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Staying at this hotel was wonderful. It was so relaxing and the staff were extremely friendly. It was so nice to go to such a tranquil place after a busy day at disney. The housekeeping staff went above and beyond, and I thought they were truly outstanding. To relax on the patio and watch the animals wandering around the savannah was so peaceful. Even though we did not spend much time at the hotel over the 8 days we stayed, and the rooms are small, I would still recommend the splurge and get the savannah view!

Room Tip: Savannah view hands down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Loved staying at this Lodge! Very clean with efficient staff. We were well fed on the fast food dining plan that offered two meals and a snack each day. We requested a microwave and a toaster for our room and they were delivered same day we requested them. A small fridge already in the room made it easy to have our breakfasts in-room. The pool area was beautiful with lots of lounge chairs and towels available. Most days you could look out any window and see animals roaming around the back of the Lodge grounds. You didn't really need to book a Savannah room to see the animals. It was very costly but the convenience of having access to free transportation as part of the package, made it more appealing than staying off-site.

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking area and we were not diturbed by any noise, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

As usual. Disney did it with class! Clean beautiful good food. We loved it. Animals right outside our balcony! Excellent. Kids loved pool area. Lobby beautiful. Staff very friendly. Did quick service dining. Breakfast was great. Never had a long wait for buses to parks. Would absolutely stay there again. No complaints at all about anything!

Room Tip: Savannah view a must with kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge in January 2013. We had the Savannah view on the 5th floor and the view was amazing, bright sun in the morning, room was spacious for a delux studio compared to other studios on disney property. The room was clean and the staff was amazing as usual.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

First off I want to thank Kathy @ Beach Bum Vacations (1-877-943-8282 ext 15). She got us a better price than anywhere I could find online even when I tried to book directly through Disney. The hotel was very nice architecturally and very clean, I just wish they could have had more kid oriented activities for kiddos to participate in. The rooms themselves were not much out of the ordinary coolest part was that you could look out and see animals off your balcony. I did have a problem with customer relations, housekeeping cleaned our room and when they stripped the beds they gathered up my daughters baby blanket she has had since birth, which is not what I had a problem with since this could easily happen, but when I reported the blanket missing the very same day the concierge didn't seem all the helpful in locating the blanket and said "if they find it they would mail it back to me." In the end the Boma restaurant and the snack place by the pool were both pretty good obviously overpriced but hey it is a disney hotel and resort. So just summing up it could have been great if they would have just made a few changes and added some more "Disney like" activities for the kids.

Room Tip: If I went back I would prefer a view of the "prairie" in back of hotel opposite of the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge for four nights starting Jan. 26, 2013. This is our third time staying at AKL and our favorite WDW property among those we've stayed at. There is nothing better than hearing the cast members tell you "welcome home" as you enter this beautiful property.

We have always had a savannah view. It is amazing to step out on the balcony and watch giraffe, zebra, etc. I think this is what makes AKL so special.

The room has a lovely African theme, It's updated, clean, comes with a mini-fridge. Our room was on the third floor and a short walk from the entrance. That is nice, as the Disney properties can be quite large and it can be a long walk to your room.

My family loves the restaurants at AKL. Boma is an amazing buffet with a mix of African and American dishes. Something for everyone. Across that way at Kidani Village is Sanaa. Love that they have Safari Amber on tap - the only other place it is available is in Animal Kingdom park. it's a beer that is exclusively available at WDW, and we love it! They also have a delicious bread service with naan and various dips like hummus, cucumber sauce, etc.

We had an easy time catching buses to/from the parks.

My only complaint is the Disney inflation. Wow - have prices skyrocketed. The prices have increased significantly more than the price of everything else in the world. Pretty incredible that Disney can do this and be successful given the state of the global economy. We may get priced out eventually.

Room Tip: We've always been upgraded to a savannah-view room at no cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#13 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
#66 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge is an African lodge-style resort amidst a 43-acre wildlife preserve. The Resort offers authentic African-inspired architecture and the kraal African-village landscape design—a semi-circle design popular in Africa which offers expansive views of the surrounding savanna and its many animal inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.