We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Orleans
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

For the second visit to the lodge we are even more impressed. The weather was not perfect but the experience was. We like the parking garage near the elevator which was so convenient to our room. The gift shop is well stocked. We had a suite which was spacious for our large family. Every detail was special. Upon arrival the children received gifts- tiarra for the princess and sword for the pirate! The grandkids loved their new home!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Waterfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

To begin, I truly enjoyed my Disney World vacation. I will say some critical things, but I really did have a wonderful time. The staff at Animal Kingdon Lodge were very friendly and helpful. Staff could be found in open areas playing the drums or making crafts. For both activities children (and/or adults) could join in with them. The staff would bring out crayons and allow children to sit on the floor and trace etchings on the floor. The animals roam throughout the savana and can be seen from everywhere. Having a balcony overlooking the savana is very nice. Three places to eat within the Jambo House. All descent. The pool was very nice and in December not very crowded.

I'm not sure what (except the animals, valet, bellman) make this a deluxe hotel. It was clean and functional. It was nicely decorated for Christmas in the lobby only. The rooms are very small. Guest that had wheelchairs or scooters had to leave them outside the room due to lack of space. I am use to a room with double beds and additional room for a seating area in addition to a desk in most deluxe hotels. This is a hugh hotel. The walk from your room to the lobby could be very long. There is no true business center. Yes we are suppose to be on vacation but some times you have to get things done. The hotel has one computer/Printer that is not accessible after 10 pm. There is WiFi and I did use my iPad but needed printing in the business center. Would like to go to the business center after my child is in bed but the timing is not convenient.

I would stay here again except if I were traveling with a stroller again. I learned this the hard way. From the Animal Kingdom Lodge you must take a bus to all four theme parks. If you have a stroller you have to break the stroller down to get to all four parks on the bus. If you stay at the Polynesian, Contemporary or Floridian you can get to two parks by the Monorail. On the Monorail you do not have to break down your stroller. More convenient.

Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgefield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, the lobby is wonderfully decorated for christmas. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a room overlooking the animals. I would not pay to do that again because there is so many places to sit outside and watch the animals, and you are not in your rooms alot. We had quick service dining and the restaurant was smaller but good meals. My only issue was when we left. We had all of our bags packed and carring them outside and not one single cast member said thank you or happy holidays, etc. We have stayed at disney properties at least 7 times, probably more and they always said goodbye. So this was my only disappointment with this property.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 4dobelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed for only one night at Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge, but it was wonderful!! The resort was decorated for Christmas and was spectacular!
They had crafts for the kids to do.

Roasting marshmellows outside at a fire pit was fun! They had a big fire pit for people just to sit and relax.

The restaraunts were very good. A glass of house wine for $11 was over priced, especially when it wasn't that good.

The animals were the highlight for us! To see the zebra, giraffes and others walking around the "backyard" was great!

The pool was huge! We didn't use it because it was too cold for us Florida folks! The game room is big so have extra money for that! The gift shop had everything you could want! The staff at the hotel was very courteous and helpful with everything! There is also a playground for the kids!

We will go again, but this time, just stay at the resort and forget the craziness of the parks!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTGasparini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We went on vacation with my family to Disney, hence we bought one of those family plans with hotel and meals included.
The hotel was very good, clean, silent and it was nice to see some animals from the room's balcony (actually we did not saw many, but a few).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andresda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was our third time staying at AKL & we plan on going back. We stayed in a concierge level room which was great. We had access to the lounge on the top floor that included free snacks and drinks. It even included wine and beer daily from 5-7pm. We never used our resort mug because it was easier to go to the lounge and grab a can of soda or coffee. There is also a time everyday where they have hot appetizers that are samples for jiko & boma so if you wanted you could replace a meal if you really wanted to save money.
Nothing beats waking up to giraffes & zebras outside your balcony. Staying at this hotel is an amazing experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank March121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a Savannah Room and it was definitely worth any extra cost involved. We had views of giraffes, zebras, ankole cattle, ostrich, eland, impala, tommies, cranes and storks during the afternoon, evening and first thing in the morning.

We ate at the Bola restaurant - great food but we were glad to have a table at the edge as it's definitely a 'family' restaurant and quite noisy!

Take the opportunity to view the savannah through the night goggles at Flamingo Point in the evening - the cast members are very helpful and friendly.

All in all a great stay - if cost is a consideration it might be worth considering treating the family to a short break during a longer holiday - we'd certainly like to visit again.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a savannah view - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann56Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#13 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing