We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful to see the animals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful to see the animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

To begin, I truly enjoyed my Disney World vacation. I will say some critical things, but I really did have a wonderful time. The staff at Animal Kingdon Lodge were very friendly and helpful. Staff could be found in open areas playing the drums or making crafts. For both activities children (and/or adults) could join in with them. The staff would bring out crayons and allow children to sit on the floor and trace etchings on the floor. The animals roam throughout the savana and can be seen from everywhere. Having a balcony overlooking the savana is very nice. Three places to eat within the Jambo House. All descent. The pool was very nice and in December not very crowded.

I'm not sure what (except the animals, valet, bellman) make this a deluxe hotel. It was clean and functional. It was nicely decorated for Christmas in the lobby only. The rooms are very small. Guest that had wheelchairs or scooters had to leave them outside the room due to lack of space. I am use to a room with double beds and additional room for a seating area in addition to a desk in most deluxe hotels. This is a hugh hotel. The walk from your room to the lobby could be very long. There is no true business center. Yes we are suppose to be on vacation but some times you have to get things done. The hotel has one computer/Printer that is not accessible after 10 pm. There is WiFi and I did use my iPad but needed printing in the business center. Would like to go to the business center after my child is in bed but the timing is not convenient.

I would stay here again except if I were traveling with a stroller again. I learned this the hard way. From the Animal Kingdom Lodge you must take a bus to all four theme parks. If you have a stroller you have to break the stroller down to get to all four parks on the bus. If you stay at the Polynesian, Contemporary or Floridian you can get to two parks by the Monorail. On the Monorail you do not have to break down your stroller. More convenient.

Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,475
    1,077
    369
    174
    98
See reviews for
2,466
755
28
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,034)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgefield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, the lobby is wonderfully decorated for christmas. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a room overlooking the animals. I would not pay to do that again because there is so many places to sit outside and watch the animals, and you are not in your rooms alot. We had quick service dining and the restaurant was smaller but good meals. My only issue was when we left. We had all of our bags packed and carring them outside and not one single cast member said thank you or happy holidays, etc. We have stayed at disney properties at least 7 times, probably more and they always said goodbye. So this was my only disappointment with this property.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for only one night at Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge, but it was wonderful!! The resort was decorated for Christmas and was spectacular!
They had crafts for the kids to do.

Roasting marshmellows outside at a fire pit was fun! They had a big fire pit for people just to sit and relax.

The restaraunts were very good. A glass of house wine for $11 was over priced, especially when it wasn't that good.

The animals were the highlight for us! To see the zebra, giraffes and others walking around the "backyard" was great!

The pool was huge! We didn't use it because it was too cold for us Florida folks! The game room is big so have extra money for that! The gift shop had everything you could want! The staff at the hotel was very courteous and helpful with everything! There is also a playground for the kids!

We will go again, but this time, just stay at the resort and forget the craziness of the parks!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We went on vacation with my family to Disney, hence we bought one of those family plans with hotel and meals included.
The hotel was very good, clean, silent and it was nice to see some animals from the room's balcony (actually we did not saw many, but a few).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was our third time staying at AKL & we plan on going back. We stayed in a concierge level room which was great. We had access to the lounge on the top floor that included free snacks and drinks. It even included wine and beer daily from 5-7pm. We never used our resort mug because it was easier to go to the lounge and grab a can of soda or coffee. There is also a time everyday where they have hot appetizers that are samples for jiko & boma so if you wanted you could replace a meal if you really wanted to save money.
Nothing beats waking up to giraffes & zebras outside your balcony. Staying at this hotel is an amazing experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a Savannah Room and it was definitely worth any extra cost involved. We had views of giraffes, zebras, ankole cattle, ostrich, eland, impala, tommies, cranes and storks during the afternoon, evening and first thing in the morning.

We ate at the Bola restaurant - great food but we were glad to have a table at the edge as it's definitely a 'family' restaurant and quite noisy!

Take the opportunity to view the savannah through the night goggles at Flamingo Point in the evening - the cast members are very helpful and friendly.

All in all a great stay - if cost is a consideration it might be worth considering treating the family to a short break during a longer holiday - we'd certainly like to visit again.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a savannah view - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Where to start. We stayed at Jambo house in December 2012. We have stayed at many other disney deluxe resort properties and at Coronado springs (a moderate property) and animal kingdom lodge was not once of our favorites, but it wasn't bad.

The animal kingdom lodge decor was something that took getting used to. Mickey is not in your face at this hotel-a few hidden mickeys in the hall carpeting and on the bedspread but that's about it, and nothing that I saw in the lobby.

The room was a decent size, we had a king size bed pool view. The couch in the room pulled out to a twin size bed but it was so over used that it sunk in in the middle and was very uncomfortable to sit on when using it as a couch. We had a table and two chairs which was nice and a mini fridge as well as an iron.

The first night when we pulled back the sheets I saw some small hairs and we decided to call mouse keeping to come change the sheets. They promptly arrived and changed everything except the comforter/quilt, which grossed me out and made me wonder how often they must clean them. When housekeeping left we got back into bed only to find these sheets-which were clearly new and clean from when the housekeeper brought them, also had little black hairs everywhere. I'm faulting the sheets as they must have a tendency to retain little hairs-a problem we never noticed at the boardwalk or contemporary or even Coronado, and believe me, this is the first thing i check for at any hotel when i pull back the sheets. The beds and sheets overall at the boardwalk, Coronado and contemporary are much much more comfortable and didnt have the hair problem. They use duvets and a down-like comforter at those hotels, that I am certain are cleaned with the sheets. I was really really disappointed in the beds at this hotel and the cleanliness did not live up to disney standards.

Additionally, not trying to be picky but the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling and the grout between the tiles and the wall was coming out. The room and bathroom very much needed a facelift. Also we were given an accessible room and im not sure why but the toilet was the most uncomfortable thing I've ever sat on. Additionally, we found it funny that they give you two bars of soap but no soap holder by the sink...we left it on the wrapper the whole trip.

We looked at the animals one time. We booked a standard view and were upgraded to a pool view. I wasn't sad that we didnt have a savannah view at all.

A couple of positives about the hotel: the food was excellent at Jiko, the breakfast buffet at Boma and the Mara. The house jungle juice is outstanding, a mix of orange juice, passion fruit, guava and I'm not sure what else, but it's amazing. I really liked that Mara, the quick service restaurant, was right by the pool and sold bottles of wine, beer, tons of snacks, sunscreen, towels and anything else you might want for sitting by the pool.

Also, the staff were all super nice and incredibly helpful, and remembered us. The hotel staff was gracious and tried to go above and beyond from checkin through check out.

We did not find a problem with the buses and only had to wait more than 10 minutes when we were at downtown disney at 12:30am.

Overall this hotel took some getting used to. If they changed the sheets and blankets to those used at boardwalk, Coronado and contemporary it really would have made a difference in my review. The room just was not as comfortable as those hotels, and Coronado is a moderate resort at a much more discounted rate. We will be back disney, and would stay again at AKL, but this hotel isn't our first choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
#66 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge is an African lodge-style resort amidst a 43-acre wildlife preserve. The Resort offers authentic African-inspired architecture and the kraal African-village landscape design—a semi-circle design popular in Africa which offers expansive views of the surrounding savanna and its many animal inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.