We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's all about the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Yes there are closer hotels. It takes about 20 minutes to get to the Magic Kingdom by bus. But when you open the blinds in the morning, a giraffe is standing there! The kids love the animals, I love the animals. The rooms are pretty standard, decor in the lobby very nice. We tried two of the restaurants and both were good. Customer service was good for me, I didn't have any problems at all.

Room Tip: Just ask for one near the lobby. These hallways are LONG after a day at the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,433
    1,060
    364
    172
    97
See reviews for
2,435
734
28
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,011)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

2 families with kids ranging from 13 to 8 stayed in 2BR in Kidani Village --villas are larger than other DVC villas we have stayed at before but the overall feeling is it was just Ok. Our room was far from the lobby, pool, buses so when we were exhausted after a day at the parks, we had a long walk from the bus to our villa. Upon arrival the tv was not working but it was fixed promptly. Bell services was great in delivering our groceries from an outside grocery service and the front desk was nice. Alot of people told me that the savanna view and resort was AMAZING and that we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else -- I was disappointed. Pillows were horrible, resort is far (very far) from alot of the parks (other than AK) so long bus ride. Long walk to rooms since the hotel is very large. Savanna view -- nothing more than the same few animals each day - if your lucky. I thought they would rotate the animals to see different ones but after the first day or so, this novilty wears off. Since you are not in the room alot, don't spend the money!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby/pool or else you are walking a ton to get back to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The concept of this hotel is amazing. The decor and the landscaping are first class. The problem with Disney resorts is crowd control. They charge like the Ritz Carlton but they do not offer decent customer service. Staff seem to be always in training, billing mistakes abound and you get locked out of your room just when you are trying to pack and check out. They really try but have not found the formula.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The kids liked waking up and looking up the window to see the giraffes and other animals walking around. The service was great, as expected of any Disney Resort. Unfortunately it was too far form Magic Kingdom, 25-30 minutes, more if you add the time you need to wait for the bus to come. I took my daughter to Tea with the Princess program at the Grand Floridian resort and took us 1 hour and 10 minutes to get there !!! Also, I did not like the set up of the bathroom.
I am glad we stayed there to experience the view of the animals, but now that we did, I don't think we will stay there again. We will probably keep going to the Polynesian resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is not just a hotel, but an experience! Seeing the animals off of our balcony was thrilling! I was up early every morning and saw just about everything on the list. We are in our early sixties and traveled with another couple this time, but want to go back with grandkids. They would love it. They had brass rubbing in the lobby, storytelling, and roasting marshmallows in the evening.
We enjoyed the hot tub every evening to ease our sore muscles.

Yes, it is large and there is a lot of walking, but we were in the farthest room and it did not bother us. Yes, the rooms are small, but nicely done and clean. They seemed well insulated against hall and adjoining room noise. The decor in the lobby is amazing and all of the staff was very nice. We enjoyed the food on site, both at Boma and Mara. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Stay on the savannah. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the night before we left for our Disney Cruise since it was easy for us transportation wise. But I wish we had the opportunity to stay here longer as this was one really nice hotel. We were traveling with friends (2 other couples + 1 child) and the one night stay here was a gift from one of our friends' parents since they had Disney points to redeem. We wound up with this amazing 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom suite with a full kitchen, a full dining room, a pool table and 3 balconies! We were definitely living large at Disney. It's not something we would have paid out of pocket ourselves (as I'm sure this suite cost a pretty penny) but we enjoyed it while it lasted. And of course, it's extremely cool to see the animals from your hotel room.

Since we had such a large party, we were unable to get reservations at Jambo for dinner at a reasonable hour. Instead, we ordered room service and dined in our suite (we had a dining room, why not?) Room service was truly service. Our server laid out tablecloths, set out place settings and everything. Of course he didn't stay but it felt like we had a dinner out without any of the negatives of dining out and all the positives of dining in.

If I were to go to Disney again, this would be one of my top hotels to pick (assuming I could find an affordable price, of course).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My four sisters and I stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge from 15 - 18 Nov 12. We were celebrating my sister's 50th b-dy. We had two Arusha view rooms and it was amazing. The balcony was great. We saw zebras, giraffes, ox, antelope, hogs, ostrich from our room! It was so much fun. The rooms are very, very nice though a tad small with three adults sharing a room. The beds are very comfortable. I did give an overall excellent becasue Disney does it all so well, but I must say the cleanliness of the room and some services were not impecable as they usually are. We kept stepping on little purple candy things that obvioulsly had not been vacuumed up from the prior guest. Also, we had to ask for a third coffee cup and more coffee. They also came to clean our room on the second day and we were getting ready to go out so we skipped service. Problem is they never came back. In the four days we were there we got our room cleaned once. There was an iHome in the room which was great for playing music. TV was fine. Bathroom shower was pretty bad - minimal pressure. In room coffee was ok but we preffered to go to Mara's cafe to get coffee in the morning. The hotel is very big and a bit confusing to get around but you do get it figured out. The grounds are gorgeous! Pool is very nice an big and there are plenty of lounge chairs. We got massages at the spa and they were fabulous. We used the fitness center too and it was also fabulous. Plenty of equipment. I would like to comment on our checking-in/welcome experience as the staff did a very nice job of making my sister feel special. The desk staff was so nice and very genuine. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and the tree in the lobby was so beautiful. Also, one more comment on the rooms. They are very well sound insulated. I was worried with five "mature" women and all these families with kids but I slept great and didn't hear a peep..

Room Tip: Arusha view in Jambo House
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#12 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
#75 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge is an African lodge-style resort amidst a 43-acre wildlife preserve. The Resort offers authentic African-inspired architecture and the kraal African-village landscape design—a semi-circle design popular in Africa which offers expansive views of the surrounding savanna and its many animal inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.