We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful birthday celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Save Saved
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My four sisters and I stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge from 15 - 18 Nov 12. We were celebrating my sister's 50th b-dy. We had two Arusha view rooms and it was amazing. The balcony was great. We saw zebras, giraffes, ox, antelope, hogs, ostrich from our room! It was so much fun. The rooms are very, very nice though a tad small with three adults sharing a room. The beds are very comfortable. I did give an overall excellent becasue Disney does it all so well, but I must say the cleanliness of the room and some services were not impecable as they usually are. We kept stepping on little purple candy things that obvioulsly had not been vacuumed up from the prior guest. Also, we had to ask for a third coffee cup and more coffee. They also came to clean our room on the second day and we were getting ready to go out so we skipped service. Problem is they never came back. In the four days we were there we got our room cleaned once. There was an iHome in the room which was great for playing music. TV was fine. Bathroom shower was pretty bad - minimal pressure. In room coffee was ok but we preffered to go to Mara's cafe to get coffee in the morning. The hotel is very big and a bit confusing to get around but you do get it figured out. The grounds are gorgeous! Pool is very nice an big and there are plenty of lounge chairs. We got massages at the spa and they were fabulous. We used the fitness center too and it was also fabulous. Plenty of equipment. I would like to comment on our checking-in/welcome experience as the staff did a very nice job of making my sister feel special. The desk staff was so nice and very genuine. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and the tree in the lobby was so beautiful. Also, one more comment on the rooms. They are very well sound insulated. I was worried with five "mature" women and all these families with kids but I slept great and didn't hear a peep..

Room Tip: Arusha view in Jambo House
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,305
    986
    347
    167
    94
See reviews for
2290
693
28
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have to say this is the only place I've ever stayed where I could watch ostriches & zebras while sipping my morning coffee. That alone was worth the experience, but combined with the stellar Disney service, it is great. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed our visit. In addition to the animals and the service, other positives include the quiet location, the incredible attention to detail throughout the property, the interesting African food available, and all the perks available by staying at a Disney property (Magical Express, package delivery, extra hours, etc.).
The downsides of this property for me were having to take a Disney bus everywhere---even the Animal Kingdom is not accessible any other way. Most days, we had no problem with the bus but there were occasional times when they were overcrowded and/or late. It can be a long 20-25 minutes of standing on a bus after a day & evening in the parks. And why the bus always went to Kidani village first was a mystery! The joy of not driving, however, more than made up for any Inconveniences of the bus system. It was fun talking and listening to others on the bus, too.
In addition, the rooms seemed smaller to me than the ones at the Polynesian, thought they had all we needed. We didn't use the pools or other amenities---too busy at the parks.
All in all, a great time and a good choice.

Room Tip: We had a "savannah sunset" room (4312) and enjoyed good animal sightings throughout the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have wanted to stay at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge ever since it was open but could never afford it. This year, for my husband's birthday, we splurged and stayed 2 nights. OMG!
It was 100% than anticipated! Our room overlooked a savana where at any given time a dozen wild animals were100' from our balcony. The Boma buffet restaurant was reasonably priced at $35.00 and offered American and African choices. EXCELLENT food. The entire theme of the Lodge was above and beyond what you could imagine - AWESOME. It WAS worth saving for and will be an ever lasting birthday memory. YES - we'd stay there again!

Room Tip: Be sure you are on the 3rd or 4th floor of the building. This way you can look down onto the animal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having stayed in this beautiful hotel in 2007 we couldn't wait to return. We were greeted at the gate with "Welcome Home" and on walking into the stunning reception area we certainly felt that warm homely feeling again.
It's a pretty big place so the walk to our room was long but broken up by windows and balconies overlooking the Savannah. It's hard not to stop at every one to see what animals are there. There is always something to see.
Our room had a real African feel and our balcony was a good place just to sit and watch giraffes, zebras, gazelles, ankole cattle and lots more stroll past. The maid service was excellent and any staff you might meet in the hallways greeted you with a "good morning" and a smile.
We made sure that we spent some time around the hotel as there is much to enjoy. The pool is pretty large and inviting and as the temperatures were a little cooler we enjoyed using it at night along with the hot tubs. We watched the animals through night vision binoculas and learned about the animals from the African staff that were there to answer our questions. It was also enjoyable to sit around the bonfire area outside with a hot chocolate from Mara (fast food place) and just take in the atmosphere of the place.
Our favourite place to eat (probably all-time favourite) is The Boma. Even if you don't wish to stay in this hotel this place is a must. Occassionally the staff will walk around beating drums and singing encouraging children and older guests to join in and follow. This all adds to that African experience.The food is just amazing and it gives you the opportunity to try some African dishes that you just wouldn't usually get the chance to. You can go and help yourself to anything you want. There is so much variety with every course. The desserts are to die for! We would also recommend breakfast at the Boma, especially if you are planning a long day which might not allow time for lunch. There is so much variety and again you can try something new. We would definitely recommend the Disney Dining Plan which were lucky enough to have included in our holiday price.- Your can eat so well.
Once again we were impressed with the Disney transport service which means the car can stay behind. You never have to wait long for one. Even if you see one leaving you know another will be along shortly. The Animal Kingdom Lodge is a good base as nothing is really to far away. If you are driving out of Disney it's fairly easy to get to the Interstate.
Just as the last time we stayed we were all sad to leave. We decided that we would all like to return again. Not sure when but it will have to be done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I loved almost everything about this one except one thing- the location. Our group felt far away from all the action but I suppose thats is alright when you have animals everywhere you look. I was in a group with four adults four children and two todlers so it was quite stressfull and it took a long time to get to a park. If your looking for fun with a smaller group of people I would defenately recomend this place! And the staff were of corse amazing and very welcoming!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night with our 5 year old son. We had a room which overlooked the back of the Arusha Savannah... it was incredible, as we saw many giraffe, zebra and ofher wildlife right from our balcony. The room was nicely decorated, extremely quiet (could not hear our neighbors) and my son loved the bunk beds. There are great animal watching vantage points all around the hotel: common overlooks with rocking chairs, small walking trails and glass-lined hallways. We had friends visit us there and the adults and kids had a blast animal watching, swimming in the zero-entry pool and playing at the arcade. We also enjoyed our african themed meals at the Mara. I cannot wait to return, such an amazing hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently spent a week here with our 3 year old twins, and another family that has a 2 and a 5 year old. The animals were great, the staff and the food were both great. Boma is a wonderful place for breakfast, lunch or dinner! The buses usually came pretty quick, but every once in a while you had to wait 20+ minutes for the one you needed to come.

The best hint... the free shuttle to go back and forth between Kidani Village and Jambo House.

My weird flaw... no Disney Junior or Disney on Demand!!! You would think staying at Disney Resort, they would have something on the television for young guests. You could rent DVDs, but all the "good" movies were always rented.

Other than that, we had a great experience and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: While the savannah view is obviously the best place to be to see the animals, the hotel is FULL of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#102 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge is an African lodge-style resort amidst a 43-acre wildlife preserve. The Resort offers authentic African-inspired architecture and the kraal African-village landscape design—a semi-circle design popular in Africa which offers expansive views of the surrounding savanna and its many animal inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.