We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont hesitate to book this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Save Saved
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 328 hotels in Orlando
port talbot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dont hesitate to book this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for the second time with our 17 and 14 year old girls and yet again found this hotel to be excellent.booked a standard room and ended up with a savannah view,unlike 2yrs ago when we had a view overlooking the carpark ,but just got lucky this time.Staff are always pleasant and polite and cant do enough for you.Choices of restaurants are very good,we had free disney dining which is great value if included.Fantastic pool, the whole Afrcan theme is truly authentic and you could easily forget you are at disney,but to coin their own phrase it really is a place that dreams are made of.Hope one day we will have the opportunity to return as this place just seems to draw you back.Booked direct with disney uk and saved a lot of money than by booking with other well known operaters and had excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for queeen beds,as bunk beds can obscure the view of the tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,762 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,214
    951
    344
    164
    89
See reviews for
2201
672
28
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I first visited Animal Kingdom Lodge in August 2010. I had no complaints other than the terrible bus service to and from the parks and Downtown Disney my family experienced. This visit was greatly improved. I came as a party of 4 (one middle aged adult and 3 young adults); two to a room.

The Rooms: We had standard rooms with a partial view of the Savannah and the hot tub. We stayed for six nights, seven days. Both rooms were clean, quiet, and equipped with a mini fridge and Cuisinart coffee maker. My husband and I requested a King room and were told on arrival that none were available because the King standard rooms are also the ADA rooms and, of course, persons with disabilities receive priority. (FYI - if you receive a King standard it will have an ADA bathroom). The safes in each room were extremely small - barely enough room to hold a laptop. Both rooms experienced problems with the televisions during the visit; the problems were reported and fixed the next morning.

The Restaurants: We dined at the on site restaurant Boma Flavors of Africa for dinner ($35.00 per person) and for breakfast ($18 per person) and were not disappointed with service or food quality. The Mara (food court) should not be overlooked for lunch or dinner (the flatbreads are delicious and zebra domes are located in the fridge). Breakfast, however, is not acceptable and the coffee there is just plain gross (get your milk or cream in the shop and use the coffee pods in your room). The main gift shop offers all sorts of food that you can purchase to make your own breakfasts and lunches (and save money).

Outdoor Areas: The pool area was clean and monitored by staff. There are two hot tubs; both were serviced during our visit, but were up and running very quickly after service. We took advantage of the night vision goggles offered each evening (until 9:30 pm) at the "look out" point. The staff was extremely friendly while we waited our turn to use the goggles (there are only about 4 pairs and families are expected to share one pair). Loved sitting by the fire pit at the end of the day.

Room Tip: If you are unable to get a Savannah view room, request a room on the third or fourth floor at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our stay here was fairly good. The theming is fabulous. It really is a beautiful resort. I wouldn't call it average at all. Unfortunately the only transportation choices available for Animal Kingdom Lodge are buses. We found the waits for buses to be VERY long. Too long for what we are paying for the trip. We do not pay to wait an unusually long time for buses to the parks. It was very frustrating to be standing there waiting and waiting for the bus you needed. There would be three Magic Kingdom buses in a row and then nothing for longest time. This caused us to feel quite trapped. The resort is a long way from any other park aside from Animal Kingdom. If you are a family that enjoys spending a lot of time at the resort, Animal kingdom is a wonderful place to stay. As my family is an out in the parks all day kind of family, the limited transportation options made it difficult and very frustrating for us. The resort itself is beautiful. The gift shop is huge and full of fun things. The animals on the grounds are really magnificent. The food court is a great and the restaurants on site are fabulous. The only real negative comment about the resort is that one of the smoking areas is a few feet off of the only path that leads to the bus stop. Crowds of people standing around smoking and making everyone wanting to go to the bus walk through their toxic cloud of smoke. THAT was unacceptable on every level.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for our 1 year anniversary. The view from our balcony was amazing. It was awesome to see all the different animals from your room, it's as if we were in Africa with the decor of the hotel and the savannah. The hotel staff was very friendly and bent over backwards for anything you might need. Would def stay here again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge in the Jambo House from Nov. 7 through Nov. 11. We had a room with a view of the savanna that included 2 queen beds and a balcony. The bathroom was a decent size and had a double vanity with a shower/tub combo. This is not the most spacious room I have stayed in on the Disney property (my previous stays have included the Baylake Towers, Polynesian, and Grand Floridian). That being said, there were very unique charteristics to the hotel that I feel made it an enjoyable stay.
* The lobby area is spacious and welcoming (consistent with all Disney properties I have stayed at). The check-in process was smooth. You are immediately greeted by the sound of drums, the sights of animals roaming, and the smells of fires and cooked food.
* The layout of the hotel is a bit unusual. The Jambo House is a sprawling hotel with many rooms a far walk from the lobby. Consider your personal situation when you check-in and are assigned a room. It's Disney and at some point, you will be tired. If you are traveling with older family members, young children, or those with a disability, you will find some rooms in the hotel too far a walk from the parking area/lobby. We were in the last section of the hotel, which was a considerable walk. In the morning it wasn't an issue, but coming back with a sleeping child in your arms changes your perspective.
* The pool area is great. Even in November, it was bustling. The pool is large, heated, and thoroughly cleaned. The pool has a zero-entry area, which is great for kids as it allows them to simply walk into the pool and find a depth comfortable for them. The water slide is popular and not too aggressive. Just beyond the pool area is the hot tub (comfortably seats 12) and a playground.
* The hotel was extremely busy, but never felt crowded. I would attribute that to the layout, which I described above as a potential negative. In this case, however, it proved beneficial. One drawback to the number of people at the hotel was the impossibility of securing a late check-out. I attempted 3 times to secure a check-out 1-2 hours beyond the posted 11am check-out and was not successful. It may be possible during quieter times.
* Overall, the African theme of the hotel was great. Disney has employed experts on the animals as well as experts on African culture to assist you with any question you may have during your stay. I will say that the people were very friendly, knowledgeable, and patient. The location of the hotel is good, not great. If you plan on spending the majority of your time at the Magic Kingdom or Epcot, then you will be better served staying close to those resorts. If you have access to a car (rental or personal) and you plan on spending time at all of the Disney resorts as well as some attractions away from Disney, then this resort can serve you very well.

Room Tip: Look at the layout of the hotel and consider walking distance when you are being assigned a room. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Animal kingdom Lodge is a beautiful hotel but I will try another hotel next time. We paid extra for the Arusha view, as the advertisements show giraffes coming up to the balconies, but we rarely saw any animals, let alone a giraffe, and the few times we did, they were far off in the distance. Bring your binoculars. The lodge was also quite far from everything else and we waited up to 35 minutes just to catch a bus. I also agree that the food at Boma was underwhelming. I must admit that the lodge itself is wonderfully done, I just wish it were more centrally located and had more animals in the savanna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Ok quite simply the best place I have ever stayed. 2 week holiday with my partner and 4 year old son. We absolutely loved it. The service was superb, exceptional and any other superlative you can think of. Disney itself is a dream and this just complements it perfectly. We booked for the basic price and thus basic room and although I didn't think possible still had views of the savannah from our balcony. The room itself was a little dark as other reviews have mentioned but very atmospheric and my little boy loved the bunk bed. We needed two bed rails and they brought them before I had even got back to the room. The restaurants especially the buffet one were wonderful. Having giraffes strolling around outside your room whenever you choose to look out is a sight to behold. Excellent beyond belief!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#38 Family Hotel in Orlando
#95 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge is an African lodge-style resort amidst a 43-acre wildlife preserve. The Resort offers authentic African-inspired architecture and the kraal African-village landscape design—a semi-circle design popular in Africa which offers expansive views of the surrounding savanna and its many animal inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.