We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Fin Seafood Kitchen

Big Fin Seafood Kitchen
8046 West Sand Lake Road, in the Dellagio Town Center, Orlando, FL 32819 (Doctor Phillips)
407-615-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Fin Seafood Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #429 of 3,167 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $19 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Doctor Phillips
Cross street: Della Drive
Description: Big Fin was named Best Seafood Restaurant in Orlando (Orlando Sentinel Foodie Awards Critic's Choice). Global Fresh Seafood, Steaks, Chicken & Pasta. Sushi/Raw bar. Bar-A-Cuda covered Patio bar and dining featuring an upscale casual atmosphere. Private dining rooms available for up to 80 guests. Big Fin Seafood Kitchen opened on December 1, 2009 at the Dellagio Town Center along Restaurant Row and has already become a favorite among the locals, Conventioneers and tourists alike. The extensive menu features specialty items such as Whole Maine Lobster, Stone Crab, Blue Crab Crusted Grouper, Sushi, Filet Mignon, King Crab, Scallops, SwordFish, Shrimp, Clams, Mussels, New York Strip Steak, Calamari, Crab Cakes, Salad, Vegetarian options, Lobster Mac-n-Cheese, Raw & Grilled Oysters and more - Private Dining Rooms are available to host Group Dinners, Meetings, Rehearsal Dinners, Birthday & Anniversary celebrations or cocktail receptions! Complimentary Valet Parking!!!
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We ate at Big Fin with some friends of ours and had a good experience. The atmosphere is set in large modern high ceiling rooms, which turned out to be very loud, making it difficult to communicate at the table. Our server was efficient, though a bit on the haughty side. They had a very extensive menu, though we opted for the "Orlando Magical Dining" experience, a set menu with some options. We started with sushi roll, steamed oysters and salad, which were all good. Our friends had the Mahi Piccata and seemed to enjoy it. We had the filet mignon and cold water lobster tail. Ours was excellent. Desserts were key lime pie, Ooey gooey peanut butter pie cake and a chocolate specialty. The food was very good, the atmosphere nice, except for the acoustics and I could give it a top rating except for that and the fact that it is on the pricy side.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    96
    46
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Magical Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Each September in Orlando, more than 60 restaurants participate in “Orlando Magical Dining.” These restaurants offer a three course meal; appetizer, entree, and desert for $33.00. It is a wonderful, reasonable cost, opportunity to sample fine dining. restaurant menus are posted on the web site. Here you can see the posted menu and also visit the restaurant web site to see their entire menu.

My wife and I after perusing several restaurant menus, opted for the Big Fin Seafood Kitchen at 8046 Via Dellagio Way, Orlando. Our appetizer choice was a half dozen fresh shucked oysters. My entree choice was a 5oz. filet and a cold water lobster tail served with garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. My wife selected the Grouper Orleans -- a very generous portion -- served over spinach, mushrooms, sun dried tomatoes and crawfish parmesan grits. The other menu items were Mahi Piccata and a grilled 10oz filet mignon. for desert we ordered the Key lime pie a Florida favorite.

We will go back to this seafood restaurant many times which is just what restaurants that participate in Orlando Magical Dining month hope to accomplish with a special price menu offering.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow. Amazing style and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Big Fin is an absolute gem. Serving great food drinks and memories. Fantastic selection to tempt all and although not the cheapest it is excellent value. Great outdoor bar area as well for a real party feel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best service ever. Food good but not great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It´s one of the best options for seafood in Orlando. However not all of their dishes are great.
Very good lobsters, excellent oysters. The rest is ok.
Our waiter, Mike, the best waiter ever. Very caring, professional, fast and courteous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stickney
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Ask for Jared!! Outstanding service, great recommendations, attentive and engaging. Not in a pushy way. My daughter had the lobster tail. Nice meal and the price was good. I had the crab crusted grouper. You'll take half of it home the portion was so large. Kudo's to the chef.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fin Seafood Kitchen also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Big Fin Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Fin Seafood Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.