We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Fin Seafood Kitchen

Big Fin Seafood Kitchen
8046 West Sand Lake Road, in the Dellagio Town Center, Orlando, FL 32819 (Doctor Phillips)
407-615-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Fin Seafood Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #247 of 3,118 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $19 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Doctor Phillips
Cross street: Della Drive
Description: An upscale, casual restaurant with a festive, high-energy atmosphere, open daily at 5pm and serves Global Fresh Seafood, Steaks, Pasta and a Sushi/Raw Bar. The extensive menu features items such as Whole Maine Lobster, Blue Crab Crusted Grouper, Filet Mignon and our Fresh Fish and Oyster menu that changes daily. The Bar-A-Cuda covered patio offers a daily “5 for A Fin” Happy Hour menu from 5pm -7pm with $5 Drinks & Appetizers. Private Dining Rooms are available. Complimentary valet parking.
Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“worth to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very nice place, with fresh seafood. Shrimps are amazing, lobsters too. Nice and fast service. Prices ok, appr. 40 usd/pax. Step by if u r in Orlando, but first make reservation through website.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    177
    85
    41
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Disappointing service and food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I'm sorry to say what looked like a top notch restaurant based on the reviews did not live up to its reputation. A very attractive, casual, noisy restaurant with all the markings of a great place to eat disappointed us with their service and food. First off the waiter came by three times in rapid succession when we first sat down asking us if we were ready to order. Each time we told him we were looking over their extensive menu and needed a little extra time. It was impossible to tell if he was being super-efficient or trying to feed us so they could turn the table. We ordered a ceasar salad which was quite delicious. We asked the waiter what the tasty croutons were made from and he did not know so he asked someone in the kitchen who gave us an answer that we were sure was not correct. When we were half way though our salads, they brought our entrees and started to set them on the table. Better restaurants would never do that. I sent them back without hesitation. When they delivered my wife's mahi picatta, it was done on the edges but uncooked in the center. She sent it back after eating part of it, and they cooked it more instead of bringing her a fresh mahi steak. By then she had lost her appetite and didn't eat any more of it. In fairness, the manager who saw she wasn't eating her meal, comped her meal and offered to fix her something else which she declined. During this whole time, our waiter was a bit snobbish with us which even my wife sensed. That never earns any brownie points with me. For dessert we ordered a cappuccino and their house dessert special which was an ice cream pie on a chocolate wafer crust. The ice cream dessert was very unremarkable and did not taste like it was made from a quality ice cream. All in all a disappointing meal that will not be repeated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed with service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Orlando and had just one night for a special dinner out. We chose Big Fin and we were very disappointed. We were seated quickly and graciously by the host and our waiter was prompt and very pleasant. We ordered large salads and he returned a short while later to take our dinner order. Our salads arrived and we seriously hadn't hardly started them than our shared dinner of two pounds of crab legs and two hot sides arrived. The table was small and there wasn't room for all that food at one time. A reputedly fine dining restaurant like this should know better than to bring a huge meal before the customer has time to hardly start let alone finish their salads. The food was good, not outstanding, but very good. We then waited at least 45 minutes to order a dessert to share. Altogether, it was very disappointing. We will not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester, Kentucky
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Seafood - OK service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food was very good but the service was slow for the price. We had a table of 14 and only one waitress and she seemed preocuppied with other large parties as well. The atmosphere was good and I would recommend it but not for a large party.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, GA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really enjoyed the food and the owner came to our table and introduced himself and thanked us for coming. Great personal touch We sat outside and the waiter was very attentive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fin Seafood Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Big Fin Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Fin Seafood Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.