We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dessert was the highlight of Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Grove

The Garden Grove
1200 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, WDW Swan Hotel, Orlando, FL 32830-8429
407-934-1613
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,097 of 3,095 restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The SWAN and DOLPHIN resorts are not Disney properties, but are in DisneyWorld. Both have excellent restaurants and are included in the Disney transportation routes.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dessert was the highlight of Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Four of us ate the BBQ buffet early on Sunday evening. Service was very good, drinks were refilled promptly and plates bussed from the table quickly. As for the food, things were a bit hit and miss. Spinach salad was presented table side and was a bit dry. The sides included tasty potato salad and a pasta salad. The North Carolina pulled pork was very good along with the cornbread. The 12 hour smoked brisket was a bit dry and tough with no obvious BBQ sauces to accompy it. I didn't sample the wings. The smoked chicken was very good and a change from typical broiled chicken. The ribs were tasty. I think the desserts were the best part of the meal. We had at least one of everything at the table and they were all excellent. We were greeted by Pluto and Goofy who posed for pictures. The kids enjoyed the visit. They also have the typical Disney kids meals for the buffet too. Chicken Nuggets, Mac and Cheese, mini Corn Dogs, with peas and carrots. There were kids desserts too. Brownies, chocolate chip cookies, jello and "dirt" pudding complete with gummi worms.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    61
    68
    53
    34
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CUMBRIA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great breakfast choices good coffee.
Character evening buffet was seafood, got a half lobster each as well as the buffet. Characters were Goofy, Pluto, Chip & Dale, photos taken with all, very happy daughter. We were happy with the food. Nice setting and not crowded.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We came here for character dining for our last meal at Disney. Pluto and Goofy were making their rounds and my kids loved them. Then soon, Chip and Dale came too! The food was also very good. They had a big breakfast selection and everything was so fresh! The grapes and blackberries couldn't have been any better! This was a perfect end to a magical family vacation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Repulsive Friday Night Buffet..stay away! Seafood was awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Love the staff and atmosphere but this visit was terrible! The Lobster tasted of ammonia and the manager said several times that the chef thought it was fine. She was delusional! We have been here several times and this will be our last. There are too many other better restaurants in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I went on a Thursday night. Mediterranean night. It was terrible. The 'pasta' station consisted only of fetticini with a choice of red or alfredo sauce, no vegetables or other choices of pasta. The only items I liked was the salmon or ravioli (not sure if it was pumpkin or butternut squash) but guess what- it was empty the entire time I was at the buffet. Even after asking the buffet server to refill it- it was empty the entire hour I was there. This buffet was empty so the characters had plenty of time to spend with my four year old and my waiter was very nice and polite. That is the only good thing I can say. The food was not hot, not fresh, and not refilled. I left feeling ripped off and dissapointed. I've been to Ohana, Chef Mickey's, and 1900 Park Fare. All of these buffets had much better food and a better value than this restaurant. I am not a picky eater at all, but this was just terrible.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Grove also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.