We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling, busy, downtown fish joint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cityfish

Cityfish
617 E. Central Blvd., Orlando, FL
407-849-9779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #824 of 3,238 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Bustling, busy, downtown fish joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Really satisfying meal! I had the lobster roll, which they claim is the best in Orlando (or at least voted the best). The lobster came piled high, lightly covered in mayo, on a perfectly toasted and buttered lobster roll. The whole thing was perched on a pile of golden french fries. My dinner companions each had a fish dish - one had tilapia and the other had Mahi Mahi. Their plates came with a bright succotash and two large potatoes. The dining here isn't fancy, but the food is quite good, the service is friendly and fast, and the atmosphere is casual. It can get quite noisy inside, so this might not be the best place for a romantic dinner. Patio seating is plentiful, and I imagine fills up pretty quickly in the summer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not quite up to par...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We're in town looking for cold water oysters, and our search led us to cityfish.

About a 10 minute walk from our hotel, near Lake Eola - beautiful walk to get there and a cool vibe.

We decided to eat on the patio to people watch, and ordered oysters and appetizers. Our waitress was great! We had a few special requests and they did a great job of honoring them.

The appetizers ordered were the crab/artichoke cheese dip with tortilla chips and the jalapeño hush puppies with the key lime dipping sauce. Both were very good, but nothing special.

Since we went for oysters, we had high hopes. Unfortunately, the oysters, blue points, just didn't seem to be as fresh as we are used to having, and we eat a lot of blue point oysters. So that's the reason for the average rating.

It could have just been a bad night for oysters

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere...and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We sat outside on the patio and enjoyed raw oysters and a few seafood dishes that were cooked to perfection.Our waitress was friendly and attentive as well.Will go back as often as possible.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamAL
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was back in Orlando for another business trip and this has been and will remain, in my opinion, one of the best seafood restaurants I have ever visited. Two of us went there one evening. As usual, they were busy but we were seated almost immediately. Although it was January, the weather was warm enough that we could eat outside. Our waitress was extremely attentive and knew the menu -- that always helps. Their Chef made continual rounds to personally assure that everything was fixed just as each customer wanted. You could tell that he truly appreciated our business.

They had the 50 cent oysters and I had a dozen steamed to share at my table. They were done promptly and this time had three different sauces to go with them (a house sauce, horseradish, and an excellent cocktail sauce). Even though they were huge, I wish I had ordered more.

I had the scallops and my colleague had the rainbow trout. Both were done to perfection. The scallops had were broiled in a dish with bread crumbs on the top and a light butter sauce. The two red potatoes were boiled. The chef said he had just changed the succotash recipe and I tried it. It had a blend of limas, corn, and fried okra. Excellent. The Rainbow trout came with a choice of seasonings. I don't remember what my colleague chose but it was very good. The chef's new recipe for hush puppies were even better than before, if that is possible.

They no longer have a key lime pie, but instead have a dessert made out of Key Lime Pie ice cream. It was enough for two and we loved every bite.

It is a neighborhood restaurant, so the prices aren't as expensive as the tourist trap resturants. However, they are a bit more expensive than the "chains" because all of their fish is fresh. The menu of fish changes daily according to the "catch of the day."

For me, this is a "must" place for me to eat every time I come to Orlando for a business meeting, and it still is.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Service and Yummy Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

In Downtown Orlando you can get stuffy and overpriced or mediocre and boring - This was neither. Casual cute atmosphere laid back service ( they did not blink twice that we brought an 11 year boy) and great food. Several of us ordered the snow crab - my son icluded they came with perfectly cooked hush puppies and this wonderful warm sucatash with bacon and fried oysters PLUS red bliss potatoes! My husband and father order pastat dishes that were creamy and pleasantly full of seafood. We all enjoyed our dining experience and will go back again. Well done!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cityfish also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Cityfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cityfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.