We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service added two stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites Near Orange County Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites Near Orange County Convention Center to your Saves list
Quality Suites Near Orange County Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7400 Canada Avenue, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Quality Suites Universal Central - Orlando )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #250 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Inverness, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good service added two stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel room was quite large with two rooms, but the carpet was filthy. There was no warm water when we arrived, so I complained to the front desk. He had to personally run up to the seventh floor and turn the hot water back on. I went to check what was going on and found the front desk deserted with angry customers waiting and the phone ringing non-stop. He came back out of breath and preceded to help everyone, several of which had come down to complain about different matters. Apparently, phones and fridges were broken along with cold water, but luckily my appliances and worked and the water was fixed.
I blame any service problems here on very poor management... how could one person hold down an entire large hotel for much of a shift without neglecting duties? The poor fellow running things did all he could but it was not enough for everybody, though the effort has to be applauded.
One other thing positive about this place was the location- about five minutes drive from Universal and right off of International Drive, where all the restaurants and touristy stuff is. If management could hire an extra cleaning lady to vacuum and a maintainance person to fix people's problems, this place would have easily scored four stars here and kept from being torn a new one from other reviewers. It is a shame but what are you gonna do?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    143
    109
    54
    74
See reviews for
218
59
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I will start with the good...I missed my flight with my children, so had to stay an extra day and decided on this affordable Quality inn! When calling the hotel from the airport, the front desk staff...Ms.Joseph, went out of her way to find us a non-smoking, double room. We were able to check in early to run to nearby Universal studios even thought there was a $10 early ck in fee. She was kind and very helpful! This was during the christmas vacation, so the price was around $100. There was no transportation to and from the airport or Universal studios(which was disappointing) so that ran us another $50 and $10 each way. Ms. Joseph arranged for my transportation! The lobby was boring, there was an arcade and massage chairs but seemed money could be used somewhere else much more useful! The pool looked clean but the elevator was old, dirty and scary. Our room was a basic early 90's room decor but was NOT very clean. It needed to be vacumed and the bathroom floor had debris and hair on it. I read other complaints about vacuming, how difficult is that? Our extra safely lock was ripped from its screws/hinges so I did not feel very safe with my children alone. The room did have a very small safe with a key but my computer did not fit into it. The beds were actually quite comfortable! I checked the beds thoroughly, the blankets were double sheeted and they were clean and hairless, but with an old, ugly, bacteria filled bedspread. We literally were in the hotel 4 hrs so did not shower, barely slept and left to early for the breakfast. The hotel is not horrible, but next time I would spend an extra $25 for a nicer, safer room across the street or right next door!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Location is good. They don't vacuum the room, there M&Ms scattered under the beds from previous guests. Wi-fi was only working at lobby. the elevators were awfully presentable and slow.
Drawers were stuck/wouldn't close up properly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My cousin and I just recently stayed here for 4 nights. We had problem after problem. One of the tv's was broke (they did fix that right away). The air conditioning didnt work, the door card reader didnt work often, and the fan was falling down in the bathroom. I actually got hit in the head with drywall!! I went down to let them know at the front desk about all the problems and recieved a very lackluster response. I believe I was told "ok... thanks..." then continued working. When I got home I called comfort inn too tell them about the lack of customer service and 48 hours later I got one of the worst form letters I have ever seen. The hotel manager actually just cut out parts of the email that didnt apply and sent it off. It had big blank spots where othere sentences USED to be! I could'nt believe it. That being said.. if you want a cheap room big enough to sleep 4 to 6 with free breakfast this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is outdated on the inside and out. The rooms had paint peeling off. If you walked barefoot on their carpet your feet would turn black. Luckily we had flip flops. The water didn't drain well in the bathtub. The linen was old and wrinkled. The heating system didn't work well but the AC was ice cold. The wi-fi service kept dropping off in certain areas of the room. Room service did a poor job as we found trash not picked up from the floor in both rooms. The only good thing was we stayed an hour and half over check out they didn't charge us extra for it. The front desk was polite and helpful. I would not recommend staying at this hotel ever!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Quality Inn near Orange County Convention Center was horrible. The room had paint peeling off the walls, there was someone else’s gum wrappers next to the TV, the shower had mold, the carpets looked like they had never been vacuumed, within 5 minutes of being in the room two solicitors came by our room, the lobby had garbage on the floor, for a non smoking hotel I was shocked to see the number of cigarette butts all over the open hallways and near the ice maker and the front desk was not only disorganized but RUDE!!! I could go on and on but this hotel is awful and should be visited by inspections agencies to make sure that it is suitable for people to stay in. When I went to turn on the bar area faucet my hand stuck to it. Oh, and the internet that I was supposed to get for free, never worked. If you can avoid this hotel I recommend it. For approximately $25 more we moved to another hotel .75 miles away on International Blvd that was a whole different world!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I could not believe that according to Hotwire the Quality Inn and Suites Near Orange County Convention Center was rated a 2.5 star and the one we moved to was a 3 star!!!! It was CLEAN and you felt SAFE! The particular Quality Inn by the Orange County Convention Center should be operating as a youth hostel for $10 a night. The Quality Inn and Suites near Orange County Convention Center was HORRIBLE

Room Tip: Make sure that you do not think that you are staying at the Quality Inn and Suites Unversal and end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Front desk guy was really nice. Hotel has policy that you can't check in before 3 or you have to pay extra. Great location close to international drive and universal. Breakfast was ok, sausage over cooked. Easy to get around walking or driving. Pool was nice too much chlorine. Suites are really nice plenty of room for large groups. Lobby looks like it had a bar at one time but no longer using it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites Near Orange County Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Near Orange County Convention Center

Address: 7400 Canada Avenue, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Quality Suites Universal Central - Orlando )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Suites Near Orange County Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite property one block off International Drive with easy access to Universal Studios, Sea World, Disney World. Our 154 spacious suites overlook a lushly landscaped courtyard with an outdoor pool and hot tub. Each is equipped with two televisions, microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, hairdryer and individual coffeemaker, complimentary hot buffet breakfast, local calls, high-speed Internet access and transportation to Universal Studios and Sea World. On site laundry facilities and gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Suites Near Orange County Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Suites Orlando Near Universal Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites Near Orange County Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.