We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kennedy Space Center Up Close Tours - CARAVAN SERAI ORLANDO INC.
7041 Grand National Drive, Suite #131, Orlando, FL
407-370-0131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 239 Activities in Orlando
Attraction details
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“New Tours Sold out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

It was dissappointing visiting this attraction for the third time as they were offering new tours not previously available. I particularly wanted to complete the Building tour where they prepared the shuttles for launch. However, when I arrived they told me this was sold out and I found I had wasted my time and money driving all the wayout to Kenndy as this is the last time I will visit Orlando I will never have the opportunity to go there again. I got the impression that they only take online bookings for these visits so it is worth checking before going to the venue. As I was with other people I had to go through the previous tours I had completed and didn't enjoy this visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    37
    17
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lots to see and Learn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Cost was $70. Plan on spending an entire day, if you are going to add one of the extra tours. Our tour guide was very informative. I wish we could have had more time on our own to read the information but we were on a schedule. We arrived about 12:30 pm and did not have enough time to go thru the regular tour, as the buses quit running after 3:30. We will try to go back next time and just do the regular tour that costs $45.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An opportunity to get inside the restricted zone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked on the newly available tour of the assembly building, launch site within the restricted zone of the Kennedy Space Centre. We saw one of the shuttles and it was explained how the enormous assembly building operated and the history of how it came about. There was an exhibition hall where there was an Apollo space craft (obviously not one that launched) which was enormous and I even got to touch a tiny piece of the moon! An amazing day out!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“our kennedy trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

went to kennedy nasa great day very hot here did 10 am till 5pm to long by 3pm was finished great day great trip nand thanks to mike from gator tours made my day at kennedy the best funny guy great tour guide ,friendly and well advised

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A Spectacular Tour!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Kennedy Space Center currently offers a choice of tours of the facility and the options are somewhat confusing. An admission ticket to the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex is mandatory for all visitors. It includes a basic self-guided bus tour of the space center. If you want to take a more complete tour, then you need to purchase a second admission ticket for that specific tour. If you purchase admission for the more complete tour, then you should NOT take the basic tour as it is redundant.

The Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex operating hours currently are from 9:00 am - 7:00 pm daily. However, you should verify the hours prior to going as they change from time to time depending on the time of the year and what is happening at the space center. The U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame is located just outside the Visitor Complex and its current hours are from 12:00 noon - 7:00 pm daily. Again, verify the current hours of operation before going there. Admission tickets to the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex may be purchased in advance via the internet (with a $5.00 per ticket savings).

The basic tour of the Kennedy Space Center is the Kennedy Space Center Tour (KSC Tour). This is a bus tour and includes for a panoramic view of space shuttle launch pads at the LC-39 (Launch Complex 39) Observation Gantry. This is located some distance from the launch pads themselves. The second stop is at the Apollo / Saturn V Center. Here you can experience the historic Apollo 8 launch and marvel at a massive 363-foot-long Saturn V moon rocket (this is very impressive). The KSC Tour is included with admission to the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex and departs every 15 minutes from the Visitor Complex. The tour is self-guided, allowing guests to get off the bus and spend as much time as desired at each location.

Included with the admission to the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex is admission to the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame, which is located about 5 miles outside the Kennedy Space Center.

The Kennedy Space Center also offers guided tours for those with special interests which allow you to take a deeper look at specific aspects of Kennedy Space Center. The guided tours are led by trained space experts and sell out daily. Therefore, tickets for these tours should be purchased as soon as the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex opens.

We took the Kennedy Space Center Up-Close Tour. This is available for a limited time and has very limited space!

The first stop on the Up-Close Tour is along the NASA Causeway. Here you are able to view the entire Kennedy Space Center launch complex from a distance.

The second stop is at the Vehicle Assembly Building (VAB). For the first time since 1978, you have the rare opportunity to disembark the tour bus and tour inside the Vehicle Assembly Building. Here you see firsthand where monstrous vehicles were assembled for launch; as well as where the future is unfolding for our continued missions into space. You have to go inside this building in order to fully appreciate its massive size.

When inside the VAB, you walk along the edge of the transfer aisle which is used to move elements of rockets among the building’s four high bays. Tour communicators and colorful signage will depict work that has gone on behind the 456-foot-tall high bay doors, such as work of the VAB’s two 325-ton bridge cranes used to lift the shuttle orbiters and mate them to their external tank and solid rocket boosters with pinpoint accuracy. Signage also shows prospective operations that will take place within the VAB for NASA’s newest space exploration program, Space Launch System, or SLS.

Next, you travel nearly a quarter-mile within the perimeter security fence of Launch Pad 39-A. You get to enjoy a close view of the 350-foot-high fixed service structure, rotating service structure, flame trench, and other aspects of the launch pad complex.

The third stop is a camera stop where you view both Launch Pad 39-A and 39-B. There are displays which list all of the missions which were launched from each of the respective launch complexes.

From here, the fourth stop is at the Apollo/Saturn V Center (same as described on the basic Kennedy Space Center Tour).

Admission tickets for the Kennedy Space Center Up-Close Tour must be purchased in addition to the Kennedy Space Center admission. These tickets can only be purchased on the day of the tour and at the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex. Due to the limited capacity on this tour, they often sell out quickly once the Visitors Complex opens.

We really enjoyed the tour of the Kennedy Space Center and highly recommend that you take the Kennedy Space Center Up-Close Tour. The extras included with this tour make it VERY worth the additional cost.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennedy Space Center Up Close Tours - CARAVAN SERAI ORLANDO INC. also viewed

 

Been to Kennedy Space Center Up Close Tours - CARAVAN SERAI ORLANDO INC.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennedy Space Center Up Close Tours - CARAVAN SERAI ORLANDO INC., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.