We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hidden gems of WDW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanaa

Sanaa
Kidani Village, Animal Kingdom Resort, Orlando, FL
(407) WDW-DINE
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 3,000 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $36
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sanaa serves African cuisine with Indian flavors for lunch and dinner at Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas — Kidani Village in Walt Disney World Resort.Sanaa means ""artwork"" in Swahili, and as its name suggests, Sanaa offers its Guests beautifully prepared food, served in an artistic atmosphere with a stunning view of the savanna.Before dinner, relax in the comfortable lounge beside the spacious dining room. Once you're seated, choose from an array of delectable, African-inspired dishes.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the best hidden gems of WDW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

You can't beat the views, the staff is great, food is delicious! In 3 trips I haven't had anything I didn't love. Bread service is a must and I usually get the tomato soup. The butter chicken had great flavors but the beef was a little fatty for my liking, I LOVED the chuck burger for lunch, and the last time I went I got the basmati rice as an entree because it's that good. My vegan sister was given her own menu which she was thrilled about.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    276
    110
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A bit adventurous for the typical American palate but not so "out there" if you want to try Indian inspired food. Staff is lovely.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, will go again on our next trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were staying at AK so pre booked to co inside with our stay. We had a lovely meal from start to finish and the decor and theming of the restaurant made for a great ambiance. The bread service with 9 accompaniments was a great addition to the meal as we continued to use the accompaniments with the rest of our meal not just the breads. The food was presented very well and extremely tasty. Highly recommend the tandoori chicken, butter chicken and if you like spicy hot the durban shrimp. The desserts were to die for I could of eaten 2 portions of mine which was the chocolate mousse. We thought that this meal was great value for money for the standard of food presented. Will definately go again when we return on out next trip. And the Painted Lemur cocktail is yummy....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Definitely an Excellent restaurant in Disney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We made a dinner reservation at this hotel because of the good reviews and the different food style. The place is inside Animal Kingdom, a very easy access from the main Disney roads.
The place is nicely decorated and we obviously couldn't see the animals as it was pretty dark by the time we sat. The waiter was very nice and attentive, making sure everything was perfect.
We ordered the slow cooked meat and the Tandoori Lamb, both of which were spectacular. The food was nothing like at the other Disney restaurants, this was very well prepared. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and for sure will go back on my next trip!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“best kept secret at Disney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We have visited Sanaa on 6 or 7 occasions. Every time, the food and service is outstanding.
I would call the food '"Indian inspired" -- not traditional Indian. There are hints of African - and certainly the beautiful theming and decor is more African than Indian.
Our favorite menu items include the now famous "bread service" (mango chutney and cucumber chutney with papadams are delicious!). The butter chicken is ridiculously good - and I dare anyone not to love the tomato paneer soup!
Finally, go for lunch or early dinner and ask for a savannah view. Simply awesome!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanaa also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sanaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.