We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African animals and food!”
Review of Sanaa

Kidani Village, Animal Kingdom Resort, Orlando, FL 4
(407) WDW-DINE
Update restaurant details
Ranked #43 of 3,045 restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Sanaa serves African cuisine with Indian flavors for lunch and dinner at Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas — Kidani Village in Walt Disney World Resort.Sanaa means ""artwork"" in Swahili, and as its name suggests, Sanaa offers its Guests beautifully prepared food, served in an artistic atmosphere with a stunning view of the savanna.Before dinner, relax in the comfortable lounge beside the spacious dining room. Once you're seated, choose from an array of delectable, African-inspired dishes.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    381
    164
    50
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Sanaa
See the most recent reviews
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“African animals and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had reservation for 5:30 and had just enough time to go outside to see the animals before the sun went down. We really liked the Indian Style Bread Service, Butter Chicken, short ribs and the sustainable fish. Even the kids liked trying the different chutneys.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience at WDW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I made a reservation for here as I expected it to be very busy which it was. We arrived early( half 4) for reservation at half 5 in the hope we could watch the sun go down and possibly get a window table. The staff were extremely helpful, especially Christopher and Kayrin.

The setting was stunning, and having been to Africa is was beautifully authentic, the decor of the main building at Kidani lodge which I think it's called was gorgeous.
It was amazing to sit at our table and watch the zebra, giraffe hence it took a while for us to look at the menu.

The food was delicious, we ordered the bread selection for the table, 5 different breads with choice of 5 dips(dips were a bit small). We ordered tandoori chicken, spicy Durban chicken, butter chicken. Spicy garlic shrimp and shrimp with green curry sauce.
What I did find odd was the absence of African food in a very African resort. Where are the gorgeous boboties and ostrich? To say the least? I love Indian food but I was looking forward to Some delicious flavours of Africa.

Overall it was gorgeous and our server Christopher was brilliant. I would definately eat here again and possibly stay here too. I would highly recommend a visit here, just get your timing right and you will have the perfect experience. They also had a campfire outside and I think they possibly provided night vision glasses, although I'm not 100% on that.
The bill/ check was also less than we expected.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful view with a great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Sanaa is one of my must do Disney restaurants, located in the Kindani House in the Animal Kingdom Lodge. It is nestled in the Savanna, with large glass walls that allow guests to have an up close and personal view of some beautiful wild animals. The setting aside, the menu is a cut above. I highly recommend the Indian bread service with the fresh naan bread and different dips. (go for the chutneys and lime pickle!). The fish is always fresh, and everything I have ordered has had the perfect spice level without blowing your mind.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in Disney!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Sanaa is one of my favorite restaurants in Disney. It is located at The Animal Kingdom Lodge, this can be a challenge to get to from another resort. What we find helpful is making your reservation for the night you will be at Animal Kingdom, that way you can jump on a Disney bus right from Animal Kingdom and be at the lodge in a few minutes. You cannot get a bus from Animal Kingdom Lodge to your resort, so you have to take a bus to another park or downtown Disney and catch a bus from there back to your resort. This can be a hassle but its worth the food and service offered at Sanaa. It is traditional African cooking with Indian spices. The food is always amazing!!! It's different but super flavorful. The servers are always willing to go over everything on the menu with you. Start with the bread service, the Naan is out of this world and you get 3 or 5 different breads and dipping sauces to try. I had the butter chicken which was amazing!! Desserts here are also fabulous!!! It's a great meal for one table credit if you are on the dining plan, especially the deluxe, as you get a large amount of food. It's definitely a hidden treasure of Disney. It's also fun because the restaurant is situated on the savannah so animals roam by your windows. The resort is gorgeous so it's a great opportunity to scope out the resort and see some animals while you are waiting. Wonderful restaurant!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Favorite AKL restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The food was excellent with wonderful flavors. The menu can be somewhat limited but there were good vegetarian, seafood and meat options. Desserts were great. Good service.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanaa also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sanaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.