We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms -excellent; staff - exceptional; location - great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Save Saved
You added Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
New York City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rooms -excellent; staff - exceptional; location - great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in every Disney premium hotel over past 30 years, except Disney's Bay Lake Towes/Contemporary Resort. Everything was just great - front desk, concierge, pool and recreation staff, bartenders, everyone was most helpful - in terms of service and location, this hotel (and the Grand Floridian) are the best on property!

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room and save $; you can see Magic Kingdom fireworks nightly from the rooftop of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    268
    81
    29
    14
See reviews for
736
106
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A little disappointed in that rooms look worn a bit. Handle on freezer was falling off. Shower handle fell off just turning on. But can't beat location, we are DVC members and have stayed at all the resorts an this is one of our favorites. But for being so new looks like it could use a little updating or tlc

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley Hts, nj
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We always stay on property in DVC rooms specifically. Bay Lake Tower was an absolute dream. We paid extra for a park view room and it was well worth it. Close proximity to the monorail and Magic Kingdom cannot be beat. As in all of our visits to Disney resorts, the place was clean and well maintained. The rooms are good size with plenty of space. The pool was a ton of fun and the slide was a huge plus for the kids, not to mention the poolside games which were also great. Check-in was seamless, staff are always available for questions and help. Any food needed could be found across the Sky Way Bridge to the Contemporary in the many restaurants and markets they have there. Highly recommend to anyone who wants proximity to transportation and parks.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money on a park view room. Being able to watch the monorails during the day and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Let me start by saying that we are DVC members and love staying in Disney. We have stayed at Bay Lake a few times previously and always loved it......which makes what follows really sad.

To start with the positives;
1) Location. Location, Location. Can't be beat, watching wishes from your balcony and being able to walk to the Magic Kingdom.
2) Convenient refillable drinks station at the pool and nice community hall.

Unfortunately that is where it ends. We were staying for 2 weeks AND celebrating our anniversary so we were hoping that our room requests would be honoured. They weren't! We asked for a high floor and were allocated the fourth floor. No 'Happy Anniversary', no 'Welcome Home' from cast members. After much negotiation it was agreed that we would spend the first night on the fourth floor and then we could transfer to the 14th floor. Not ideal. Staff were cold, unwelcoming and unhelpful.

When we reached our room it was in a sorry state of affairs. The ice machine did not work for our entire stay, the toilet roll holder was hanging off the wall, the wall socket was broken and wires were hanging out, there was a large stain (looked like blood) down the curtains and the carpet needed replacing. It felt scruffy.

We only ever received housekeeping when we phoned to request it and then it wasn't until 4.00pm when a surly and argumentative housekeeper came and begrudgingly ran the hoover round. When I asked for washing powder she looked like I had asked her to sell her grandmother!!!

At the pool they have music on a loop that was SO annoying and loud. It is on a very short loop so if you are at the pool for more than 30 mins you are going to get fed up with it. Then when the pool party started up you just heard competing noise!! Lots of guests were wrapping the speakers in pool towels to try and stop the noise! It was akin to being stuck on 'Its a small world" for two weeks.

Then when we went toTyphoon Lagoon we were told that to return to Bay Lake we had to take a bus to EPCOT and then two monorails, taking two hours!!!

I'm now seriously doubting whether we will return which is very sad. The Disney magic has gone and Disney could learn a lot from Universal at the moment.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The service and friendliness at resort is amongst the best at the Disney properties. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. Location is the best of all resorts for the Magic Kingdom. The parks are always kept very clean as well. Here are my concerns: 1) The magic bands are very convenient, but they still have a few bugs to work out 2) The crowds at the park have reached a point where Disney needs to consider restricting admission, finding ways to shorten lines or expand the parks in line with the increased attendance. 3) The food quality at the service restaurants are very good, but the quality at the quick food areas within the resorts and the parks have gone down. 4) The fitness room is poorly designed in the Contemporary. The cardio area has low ceilings above the machines and the weight area is minimal in utility and function (get a fitness expert to design this area better). 5) The rides break down/shut down too frequently. We missed several rides because of extended closure.

We have visited Disney for the last 10 years. The price/value comparison is hitting the point where we are trying to decide if we will ever return. We love the place, but not sure if we are really getting our monies worth at this point versus other vacation options.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We just stayed in the Bay Lake Towers in the two bedroom, three bath. We paid $900 a night this hotel doesn't compare to any other hotel that we have stayed within the Disney hotels. The room looks worn and dated. The carpet needs to be replaced. We ordered room service one night for our family of five, after we got in from the parks one night. The food was not edible. My daughters turkey sandwich had a long black hair in it. Then the fries were hard and cold the rest of the food was hard like it had been in a refrigerater uncovered for a couple of days. The price was unbelievable and we didn't even eat it. The next night we tried the cafe downstairs the food was better but, it took forever to get our food. They are way too understaffed to handle all of the people. We stayed for four nights the first night our room was cleaned good. The rest of the days all the cleaning people did was make our beds. They even left the dirty towels in the floor until next day. Last year we stayed at Saratoga Springs which was so much nicer and a lot less expensive. The best hotel is The Grand Floridian which the prices of that hotel are similar to the Contemporary but, they are like night and day. The service, cleanliness and food is wonderful at the Grand Floridian. Don't waist your money on the Contemporary Bay Lake Towers it's not worth it. The only good point about this hotel is the ten minuet walk to the Magic Kingdom and the use of the monorail.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great place to stay. Had a 1 bedroom condo with full kitchen and hide a bed. Worked great for our 2 grandsons and us. We would stay here again. Is next to Contemporary with Tram stop within and this building is actually between the Contemporary Resort and Magic Kingdom. Was able to see fireworks at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#82 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort—balances a modern and luxurious experience with warm and innovative features and delivers some of the most dramatic views available anywhere at Walt Disney World Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.