We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the extra money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort to your Saves list
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Worth the extra money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have two small children. One child still naps everyday. Based on that we decided that we needed to stay at a disney hotel that made it very easy to get to and from the hotel at all hours. The fact that we could so quickly get out of the park made it less likely that would skip nap time most days. It was a good choice for us. We came back to the hotel everyday after lunch, put both children down for a nap and most days we actually took a nap as well to refresh ourselves for the night ahead. If we had stayed at a hotel farther away I'm not sure we would have taken this nice break everyday.
We were spending most of our days in the magic kingdom, so I liked the idea that you could walk to and from the magic kingdom. We did that all of our days in the park. We walked to the kingdom every morning because it takes less time to walk then it does to take the monorail and its much less hassle, especially with a stroller. Coming back from the magic kingdom we would take the monorail one stop to the contemporary. However, there were nights when the entire park emptied out and the line for the monorail was crazy and we were very happy walking back to our hotel in 10 minutes.
We had a 1 bedroom theme park view. That view was worth the extra money. I loved sitting on our balcony and watching wishes from our room on the nights we were too tired to go back to the park and watch them. The room itself was great. The soundproofing between the bedroom and the living area was great. We didn't worry about waking our kids at night after they went to bed. My girls didn't want to share a bed, so I was very happy that there were 2 pullout beds. The chair pulled out to a single bed and the sofa pulled out to a double bed. That was nice. Since we were on the dining plan we didn't really use the kitchen, but the kids did eat cheerios in the room on the mornings that we didn't do a character breakfast.
The tub was very nice and a nice relaxing end to a crazy day. The room was in great condition and the staff was helpful. We never went to the pool. We like to spend our days in the parks. One thing to note is that the bay lake reception closes around 10 or 11pm. The lobby is locked and you need to use your room key or magic band to get in.

Room Tip: room 7520 has a great theme park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    319
    97
    35
    15
See reviews for
859
128
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We always stay on property when we are at Disney. This is one of the most expensive hotels and if you don't want to spend any time relaxing in your room you might want to pick a moderate or value resort.
Bay Lake Towers is the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle by taking the monorail to your hotel. The pool area is very nice and the Bay Lake makes a nice backdrop.
You can walk to the Magic Kingdom or see the fireworks and night water parade from your room if you have that view.
We had a one bedroom, which includes your own washer and dryer. If you want to cook your own meal, everything you need is in the lovely, modern kitchen.

Room Tip: If you like fireworks, pick The Magic Kingdom view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

You can walk to the Magic Kingdom, and the monorail. We had a view of Bay Lake, it was nice, lots of birds, could also see the fireworks from our room. We were in a one bedroom suite, it had a pull out bed and chair, two bathrooms, kitchen, washer/ dryer, all things were a must with our three year old. There was also a balcony, that was in need of a good cleaning. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms extremely functional for families. The room was clean, the kitchen well appointed, beds clean and comfortable, jacuzzi tub in master bath nice, shower in master bath looked nice, but was not plumbed correctly to be able to run both of the two shower heads at the same time, and the shower was really designed to do that. The tile in the bathrooms nice, but was like glass when wet, same for the tile outside of the elevators, BE careful if it's wet! I rated this room average as it was for over $700/ night! The pools and waterslides were nice, the water play area seemed to need some work. The noise at the pools is induced by lots of Disney employees on microphones and playing music way to loud. Disney does not want you to have a moments peace from noise, or from opening your wallet, which you will do every few feet. Service is great, though I find the over-the-top fake happiness the staff is required to exude a bit tiring.Maybe I am too much of a cynic, but what I found most Magical about Disney is the way they magically remove your money at EVERY turn.

To eat in the restaurants close to this hotel you really do need to make reservations about a year in advance. There is little to no food to be had if you don't have a reservation. What food is to be had is heavy, rich, processed, sugary and salty, which explains why there are needle disposals in each bathroom, people that frequent Disney resorts and restaurants probably have diabetes at a high rate.

We had never been to Disney or a Disney Resort and hope we never have to go again, but our three year old did love it, but hopefully this Disney craze will pass and she will not want to go again.

Room Tip: Choose vie of the lake, it's very serene and good bird watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We are DVC members and this is our "home" resort. We love it here! One of the best things is that it is a approx. 10 minute walk to the magic kingdom! It's so nice to be able to leave MK after parade/fireworks and not have to run to and wait for a bus or ferry or monorail, you can simply walk back. The design of the building and very well done, we love the modern look and feel of the rooms. We have stayed in studios, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom villas. The rooms are very spacious. We love having a kitchen and a washer and dryer right in the room. There is a market at The Contemporary where you can get groceries and personal items. It's nice to be connected to the Contemporary because of the monorail and the restaurants. One of our favorite restaurants is Chef mickeys and it's nice having it so close. You are able to watch the magic kingdom fireworks every night of your vacation right from the resort if you want, if you have a MK view you can sit and your room and watch, or you can go to the Top of The World lounge for an amazing view or you can watch theme from the sky bridge that connects the resort to the contemporary.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is one of the newer Disney Hotels.

We booked a stay in this hotel at the end of October 2013.

From the outside, the hotel looks VERY modern.

Unfortunately, the room was not clean when we got there. The sofa bed was dirty as coffee had been dropped all over the arms.

The table on the balcony had a crack in it and had exposed sharp edges.

This was reported to the front desk the next morning, where it was agreed they would clean it, but the arms would remain damp. We agreed to this and left the hotel.

When we returned late in the evening, the sofa had not been cleaned and the table with the smashed glass was still on the balcony.

This was really disappointing and not what you expect from Disney.

We had a lake view and the view was, as per other posts amazing....

We went up to the roof to watch the fireworks. unfortunately, the music that should have been piped to the terrace was not turned on. No one bothered to come and explain, or apologise. Disney have really forgotten about Walts dream.

We wrote to Disney to highlight this disappointment. Still no response after a week.

This was a really expensive disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We just returned from a week stay here and had to share with others how we loved Bay Lake Towers. The suite is tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. We had the 2 bed and 3 bath suite, which was wonderful and plenty spacious for the 6 of us. We were on the 10th floor and were surprised that the hallway noise was nonexistent. There was a lovely view of the lake and we could also see the castle at Magic Kingdom from one of the balconies. By the way, the fishing is awesome in the lake. We rented a boat with guide for 2 hours and caught 26 large mouth bass and a turtle. Our guide, Kevin, was great with the kids, request him if you go. We walked to Magic Kingdom in just under 10 minutes and used the monorail and busses to get to the other parks and Downtown Disney. The staff were so friendly from the moment you walk in the door and offered assistance every time we saw them. There were many activities for the kids to participate in by the pool and inside. The pool was very nice and had a snack bar to get quick lunches and drinks. We ate at several great restaurants while there, such as Bongo's at Downtown Disney, Grand Floridian Café and Ohana's at the Polynesian Resort was our favorite. The only issue we had was that we asked for a late checkout as our flight did not leave until 4:00 p.m. and they could not accommodate us, but we understood, as it was a Saturday and new arrivals were coming. We will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel and we were very impressed with the amenities. The lobby and grounds were beautiful and very classic. It was too cold for the pool, but it was really beautiful and had a great slide. We had a lake view which was awesome. The rooms were very nice, clean, comfortable and spacious. The beds were very comfortable. It is a nice little stroll to the Magic Kingdom. Now for the cons. We were using points from the Disney vacation Club. Usually when we go to a DVC hotel, the room is ready, but it wasn't so we had to leave our luggage in our relatives room until one became available. They texted us when we got to the park to let us know it was ready, but it was a little inconvenient. The next day (we were only staying one night), Maintenance was knocking on our door at 10:30 am because they wanted to change the table tops. We sent them away and within a half hour Cleaning Services was knocking on the door! We told her we've never been told to leave a DVC hotel early, but she caught an attitude. Five minutes later, the front desk called on the phone and said Cleaning Services said you aren't ready to leave. My daughter had gotten hurt the night before at the park and it was a long night in the first aid station. They didn't want to hear any excuses, they just wanted the room back. I understand it's a popular hotel, but like I said, we've never been told to leave early. Since we didn't get into the room until late the night before, I thought it was a little rude. Would I stay again, yes, but not for one night. I'd stay two at a minimum to get the most out of the experience.

Room Tip: We loved the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#70 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm luxury meets modern elegance at this lakeside Resort hotel just walking distance to Magic Kingdom park. Delight in Studios and multi-bedroom Villas, kitchens or kitchenettes and dramatic views that may include old-growth cypress trees, the shimmering Bay Lake, the lush courtyard or Cinderella Castle. Enjoy white-sand beaches, enchanting pools and award-winning dining-plus the extensive offerings of Disney's Contemporary Resort, connected by the convenient Sky Way Bridge, with access to transportation including the Resort Monorail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.