We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Disney Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort to your Saves list
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Disney Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was an outstanding resort to spend a week at. We stayed in a 2-bedroom villa with a lake view. The room was very clean and had plenty of room for the six of us. There was a full kitchen which made it that much better. The villa also had 3 full bathrooms, with a whirlpool tub in the master bedroom's bathroom. There was a walking path to the Magic Kingdom which came in handy at park closing. Transportation was a breeze with this being one of the monorail resorts. Getting to the Animal Kingdom & Hollywood studios was equally easy. Buses came regularly with very little wait. The pool was a great place to cool off after being in the Florida heat during the day. There was a movie under the stars each night as well as a great view of the Electric Water parade on Bay Lake. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    280
    87
    30
    15
See reviews for
767
112
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at Bay Lake Towers over the 4th of July. We had a theme park view room on the 12th floor and had the BEST view of the fireworks for the 4th. The room was very spacious as well and the kitchen was a great perk. We had a 2 bedroom which gave us 3 bathrooms. That was a wondeful thing! The pool was great and there was always something going on for the kids. I think this was the perfect hotel for our family vacation!
I have stayed in most of the Disney hotels and the only thing I miss at Bay Lake is the themed rooms, but it was great!

Room Tip: Disney hotels are very expensive, but sometimes you just need to bite the bullet and do it! It was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in October of 2012 and loved it. We stayed in the one-bedroom unit and had room for five people. This is rare in Disney properties. Most rooms, even one-bedroom units, usually are made for a family of four and this is one of the rare exceptions. The room decoration is sleek and modern, but yet cozy. We didn't pay for any special views, but from the walkway to the Bay Lake Towers you can watch the nightly Magic Kingdom Fireworks. The pool is a lot of fun and includes a water slide and lots of staff games which the kids all enjoyed. Despite all the great features, the best part for our family was convenience. A quick walk to the contemporary gets you on the monorail which goes to Magic Kingdom. There you can switch to another monorail that gets you to Epcot. As much as I appreciate the Disney bus system, it was nice not having to use it as much. It felt very easy getting between the parks from our room, which made park-hopping a lot easier this time than form some of the other hotels. Also, breakfast at Chef Mickey's was very convenient before a day of parks, being right in the lobby of the Contemporary.

Room Tip: We used points form our DVC membership. We didn't opt to use more points for a better view. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Likes:

1) Easily the nearest location to the Magic Kingdom
2) Great amenities for kids with the lake and pool, not to mention slides
3) Very modern and well maintained
4) Service level at the usual high Disney standard

Dislikes

1) Pricey.....unless you rent somebody's Disney Vacation Points

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rather be in WDW
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We love just walking into this resort. It smells and looks so clean. Front desk was great. Room wasn't ready until 4 pm - but that's to be expected. Loved having the washer dryer. Our view was a lake view and the contemporary. It was fun to watch all the activities. There were five of us - so the two bathrooms definitely make things easier with teenagers. Would definitely stay here again. This was our third or fourth stay here. Love having all the conveniences of the Contemporary without the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As 20+ year members of the Disney Vacation Club, we have stayed at many DVC and WDW properties. This one is a winner. Magic Kingdom fireworks from the living room or on the member only 16th floor terrace. The terrace lounge serves cocktails in a glass enclosed circular room or you can enjoy the firework music accompaniment on the open air terrace. The suites are large ( though smaller then the Old Key West Resort) and have multiple baths. 3 baths for a 2 bedrrom suite. The 5th floor walkway connecting Bay Lake to the Contemporary resorts 4th floor allows easy access to the monorail and restaurants. A quick walk to Magic Kingdom avoids the monorail crowds. The pool and hot tub was a favorite for our 7 kids (18-9 years). Bus service was very good, although I have had problems during previous trips. During the day light will flood the room. At night the lighting is scarce in the bedrooms and bath. In room safe is a benefit. Check in is in the lobby but bell services and magic express drop off and pick up is at The Contemporary. Location Location Location !!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the Magic Kingdom and Firework view. DVC members have access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We are not DVC members but we have stayed at this resort twice. Two years ago we stayed in the 2 bedroom lake view. This July we stayed in the studio. Loved it both times but would probably never stay in a studio again with a 18 and 16 year old...one bedroom next time. That is my choice and no fault of anything at Bay Lake.

Can I say the Disney feel..we left the Dolphin and checked into Bay Lake. Immediately..IMMEDIATELY.we had the Disney Magic. They took our license at the guardshack...when we pulled up to the curb we were greeted by name by one person and advised to see Dominic, he would be helping us. There was Dominic standing with an IPAD, checking our reservation verbally with us and telling us our room was ready at 9:30 a.m. on check in day!!!! Dominic walked us to the check in desk and I cannot remember her name but I think she was the manager, she checked us in the rest of the way, for the two minutes that took. We were quickly done and off to get our bags. We wheel them ourselves and we were in our room, and settled with the truck two spots back in the parking lot in a total of 20 minutes....talk about service with the Disney Magic.

Everytime we left the resort someone wished us well on our day and then welcomed us back when we returned. The smell inbetween the sliding doors in the front is just luscious.

We loved the location, with the Monorail, even though it was broke about every day we were there for periods of time and the walking to the Magic Kingdom. We were at Bay Lake for five nights and because of convenience and the park hopper we were in Magic Kingdom five nights until close. How wonderful to be tired and coming out of Magic Kingdom in the crowd but able to walk to our hotel and not wait for a ferry, bus or monorail....makes this resort so worthwhile.

We had an air conditioning malfunction and our carpet was wet in the hall of our room. Maintenance came within 15 minutes of calling them and fixed the A/C and put a carpet dryer in our room to dry the carpet. Quick service with a smile.

We have stayed at the Polynesian as well as Grand Floridian but definitely Bay Lake at the Contemporary is more conveniently located.

I think next time we will stay at the Contemporary only because my family wants to "stay in the hotel the monorail goes through". Bay Lake is a winner, hands down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort—balances a modern and luxurious experience with warm and innovative features and delivers some of the most dramatic views available anywhere at Walt Disney World Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.