We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1st Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Save Saved
You added Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great 1st Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Being able to easily walk to MK was one of the best things about our stay. The room was very nice though it may be time to update the sofa. It was a little worn. The staff were excellent, always friendly and ready to help. The pool and slide were fun. Overall an excellent choice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    267
    78
    29
    14
See reviews for
730
105
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for the first time for 2 nights. It would've been perfect for staying longer, that's for sure! But we checked in here after already being gone 3 nights just before, so we loved being able to spread out and have a little break from each other. The hotel room was so clean, large, nice den area, breakfast/dining table, full-sized kitchen, 2 bedrooms (1 with a king-sized bed, 1 with 2 double beds!), and 3 FULL bathrooms. Plus a laundry closet. We stayed on the 5th floor which was the same floor as the walkway to the Contemporary, so it was very convenient. Our room was right off the walkway, though, so we had to keep our curtains closed for total privacy. We also had 2 balconies that overlooked the Magic Kingdom, which allowed us to have a great view of the fireworks away from the crowds!

The pool area was nice... my kids enjoyed the the slide even though they are 14 and 12 yrs old. The lounge chairs were very clean and comfortable.

Only complaint, if it really is one, is that since it's a condo-style hotel, there's not much service. Again, it's fine, but it just seemed strange (especially after just leaving the Hard Rock Hotel & their service) to pull up and not see anyone jump to help you with luggage or valet park the car. However, valet wasn't needed, parking was very convenient. There was a bellhop, just wasn't right there eager to help like most hotels. BUT AGAIN, no big deal to us...we usually prefer to handle everything ourselves anyway. Just seemed like something was missing, though. (We've never stayed in a Vacation Club resort before).

The second best part about staying here (the first being how SPACIOUS it was!!), was the convenience to the Magic Kingdom...we could easily walk there!

Room Tip: The 5th floor was great & convenient to the Contemporary walkway (especially if you want to run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a 1 bedroom villa in May. The resort is beautiful, clean and very welcoming. The DVC pool area is a highlight of the resort with a wonderful slide, bar and poolside activities/games for the kids. The location is great too, a short 5-10 minute walk to the Magic Kingdom and a quick monorail ride to Epcot. We were worried about bus wait times but we never experienced any issues going to the other parks. The room was fabulous and quite comfortable for a family of 4. We loved having the 2nd bathroom and sleep chair, we never had to make out the sleeper sofa. We had a view of the lake and watched the electric water parade every night, we never watched the fireworks! We loved our stay at the BLT and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the location of Bay Lake Tower. Magic Kingdom is within walking distance and the monorail is too.
The roof top bar is awesome, especially for viewing the fireworks at Magic Kingdom!
My only complaint is that all of the gift shops and restaurants for Bay Lake are actually in the Contemporary Hotel. The bus stop for the theme parks is also located in front of the Contemporary Resort.
Overall, we had a fabulous stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last month for two nights. The bedrooms are nice, very clean, bed was confortable and it has a very useful kitchen that we loved. Our room had a beautiful park view (Magic Kingdom) and we could watch the fireworks from the balcony.
The location is the best if you plan to go to Magic Kingdom, it is very close to the hotel, takes 5 minutes to get there.
Unfortunately this a expensive hotel for what you get in overall, the hotel is great but too expensive for what you get as this is not a luxurious hotel.

Room Tip: Get the theme park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The best views of the magic kingdom and night time fire works. Great rooms. Only problem is getting bell hops from contempory to help you with your bags. There were a little rude and it can be a bit of a hike from the contempory where you get dropped off to your room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We(myself, DH, DD19 and DS10) stayed at BLT for 4 nights from May 19-23 in a 1 bedroom standard view. We are DVC members and used points to book here at our 7 month booking window. This was our first stay at BLT, but definately not our last! (We then moved over to BWV for 3 nights, where we have stayed on previous visits).

We did the on-line check in, so upon arrival at approx 1pm, on the ME bus, we were escorted right to the check in desk. Everything was ready for us, just needed to wait for the room. So, we went to get lunch at the Contempo Cafe (the counter service restaurant in the Contemporary) and walked around a bit. We were supposed to get a text when our room was ready, but never got it. So we decided to visit the concierge desk at BLT around 3pm. Our room was ready, so up we went.

Room 7234 - Standard 1 bedroom villa - 2nd floor, close to elevators, with a partial view of the lake/marina/beach. The room was in good shape , but definately showing wear & tear, but it was clean. The balcony, however, was not clean and could definately have used a good cleaning. We loved the 2 bathrooms and my DS loved the sleeper chair and DD the sleeper sofa. We did need to request an additional blanet and that was brought up promptly.

We did visit the Top of the World Lounge, which is exclusive to DVC members (using their points) for a drink and to view Wishes. WOW! What a spectacular view. (However, there is about a 5 foot wall around the outside viewing area). And my chocolate martini was spectacular as well!

We also used the pool on one day and it was clean and not too crowded. My DS loved the slide. You do need your room key to enter the pool, as it is gated. There was also a CM checking KTTW cards and issuing wristbands.

My DD and I rented a sea-raycer boat and rode around the lake for 30 minutes. We could see a little bit of what's left of Discovery Island and River Country.

Our favorite part of staying at BLT was the convenience to the MK. We went every night for dessert and to watch Wishes. The buses to DHS and AK were fine and we had no issues with timing or being crowded. Even though we travel to Disney annually, this was our first time staying on the monorail and we will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Orlando
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#82 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort—balances a modern and luxurious experience with warm and innovative features and delivers some of the most dramatic views available anywhere at Walt Disney World Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo and HotelsClick so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;