We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort to your Saves list
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
toronto, canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in March and loved it! Although fairly pricey, we got a good deal. The location can not be beat. We had a 2 year old and an 8 month old and being able to walk to magic kingdom or take the monorail to other resorts to eat was priceless. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa and were upgraded from a lake view to a theme park view. The room was great for at night when our kids could go to sleep and we could stay up in the family room and watch tv or watch the fireworks on the balcony every night. The kitchen was also very nice and had everything we needed. I would definitely stay here again as long as I had young children. Only negative was that food was in the contemporary and their fast food restaurant wasn't great. That being said I wasn't blown away by any food at disney.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor (same as walkway to contemporary) and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    286
    88
    30
    15
See reviews for
779
115
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in a studio at Baylake Towers 3/24/13-3/30/13 during spring break. The room was clean and we had a lakeview room so we were able to see the electric light parade at night. I have small children so we spent a lot of time at Magic Kingdom it was so convienent taking the monorail. Two nights the line looked really long so we walked back which took us 5 minutes. My daughter went to community hall where they had activities for the kids and she had a lot of fun. The pool was crowded, but the staff was checking room keys to make sure that you were staying at the resort. We went to the top of the world lounge to watch the fireworks which was great. We are going again the week of Christmas and we are staying there. I have stayed at many of the Disney resorts and the only downside was that there was no real theme. that did not bother me I would rather stay in a new clean close resort.

Room Tip: 5th floor for monorail access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I loved the view we had. We had a water view room and it was really high up. Loved being near monorail and loved the dvc bar on top. Only problem was the bed was a little hard. The employees are top notch here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having a 3 year old daughter who frequently spoke of going to the "Castle" we knew we had to stay at Bay Lake Tower. We rented a stroller which was the most important decision we made. We walked/pushed over to the Magic Kingdom once or twice each day. On our trip of 5 days, we only needed to fold the stroller 3 times: round trip to Animal Kingdom and our return from Hollywood Studios. The monorail and boats were quite convenient.

Now, being a new resort, we found it rather worn. The carpeting in our room was in poorer condition than the carpeting in the older Boardwalk Villas. The lock on our door did not always work. Check your door upon leaving to make sure it really locked and use the extra security locks while you are in your room. Also the locks to get in are keyless using the card to swipe. This was new for us. The scanner has a plastic cover on it and ours was missing as were several along the corridor.

Magic always seems to touch us when things aren't always up to par. I commend Julie at the front desk for really making a difference for my family on our last day.

Other notes are that the Contemporary is connected via a walkway. This is still under construction on the Contemporary side. The monorail at Contemporary is tricky with a stroller. The only way to access is by one dedicated elevator that was tricky to navigate. There were several strollers lined up each time. There is a quality dining area in the middle of the Contemporary that was much better than it appeared. We ate a snack. one breakfast, and one dinner there using the touch screens to order food. Last time I was in the Contemporary this space was used for a high-end steakhouse.

The pool area was inviting, but it was far too chilly to go. This was disappointing to my daughter who loved the little slide and the shallow water.

Room Tip: We were in lake view, but really had partial lake view with view of the beach area and Contemporary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Even though you are very close to Magic Kingdom, you will be doing ALOT OF WALKING. the trade off is no bus service to Magic Kingdom or EPCOT, so you are left with your 2 feet. The resort is nice and comfortable. If you want to use the pool, do it in the early afternoon. By late afternoon the sun is gone and blocked by the hotel. We will most likely return to this resort, but like other resorts on property better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After years of vacationing at Walt Disney World, this visit was by far the best due to our experiences at this Resort. We had a two-bedroom villa, and it was more than enough space for us to sleep two parents and four twenty year olds. The knowledge of the Cast Members at this location was by far a step above other Disney Resorts, and when we noticed a few very minor issues in the room, the staff provided immediate service recovery and assistance. The only complaint we had was requesting a lake view room which ended up locating us on the second floor facing the Contemporary marina. It was not a big deal, but for the amount of vacation points we used for this stay, we expected a better "lake view" room. In addition, nothing beats having monorail access and a convenient walkway to Magic Kingdom Park. I highly recommend this Disney Resort to any guest visiting Walt Disney World or the Central Florida area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Monorail runs right through the hotel so no driving or taking the bus to Magic Kingdom or EPCOT. If you wanted to walk to the Magic Kingdom it takes about 10 minutes. Our room was a two bedroom, three bath suite with full kitchen and a park view. It was more than enough room for 4 adults and two children. Great to watch the fireworks at Magic Kingdom. Pool was great for the kids (huge water slide). We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#92 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort—balances a modern and luxurious experience with warm and innovative features and delivers some of the most dramatic views available anywhere at Walt Disney World Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.