We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to Magic Kingdom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Save Saved
You added Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very close to Magic Kingdom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Even though you are very close to Magic Kingdom, you will be doing ALOT OF WALKING. the trade off is no bus service to Magic Kingdom or EPCOT, so you are left with your 2 feet. The resort is nice and comfortable. If you want to use the pool, do it in the early afternoon. By late afternoon the sun is gone and blocked by the hotel. We will most likely return to this resort, but like other resorts on property better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    255
    77
    27
    14
See reviews for
705
101
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After years of vacationing at Walt Disney World, this visit was by far the best due to our experiences at this Resort. We had a two-bedroom villa, and it was more than enough space for us to sleep two parents and four twenty year olds. The knowledge of the Cast Members at this location was by far a step above other Disney Resorts, and when we noticed a few very minor issues in the room, the staff provided immediate service recovery and assistance. The only complaint we had was requesting a lake view room which ended up locating us on the second floor facing the Contemporary marina. It was not a big deal, but for the amount of vacation points we used for this stay, we expected a better "lake view" room. In addition, nothing beats having monorail access and a convenient walkway to Magic Kingdom Park. I highly recommend this Disney Resort to any guest visiting Walt Disney World or the Central Florida area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Monorail runs right through the hotel so no driving or taking the bus to Magic Kingdom or EPCOT. If you wanted to walk to the Magic Kingdom it takes about 10 minutes. Our room was a two bedroom, three bath suite with full kitchen and a park view. It was more than enough room for 4 adults and two children. Great to watch the fireworks at Magic Kingdom. Pool was great for the kids (huge water slide). We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I'm not a Disney person but a family member is a part of the Disney Vacation Club so we took them up on an offer to stay with them at Bay Lake Towers. We stayed on the 2nd floor facing the monorail and castle. Our view was great and were able to see the fireworks over the castle. It's not too too Disney which I liked. On the 5th floor is the walkway to the other half of the hotel where the restaurant and monorail are. Buses run in front of the hotel and you can also catch them with a short walk to the Magic Kingdom. One thing I found out, and I'm unsure if it's only for Vacation Club members but there was only maid service every 3-4 days which I thought was extremely disappointing. I'm on vacation and don't want to worry about towels, toilet paper and cleaning up my room. It should be part of the thousands of dollars you pay for when you stay there. The other thing I was disappointed in was that the staff members who were suppose to know everything for their customers gave us wrong directions to the Disney ESPN Wide World of Sports and they also could not figure out the hours of the complex, even after asking 4 different people.

Room Tip: Second floor facing the monorail, room closet to elevator has a great view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have stayed in nearly every moderate and deluxe hotel at Disney World, and Bay Lake Tower is hands down my absolute favorite. Here's a quick rundown from our family-of-five trip last fall:

Pros
*Location! You can walk to the Magic Kingdom or the Contemporary Resort (to catch the monorail or buses to other parks, as well as access an assortment of dining, pools, recreation and boating).
*One-bedroom condo (which we stayed in) features a modern kitchen with all the amenities you could ever need to prepare your own meals (can pre-order groceries). The furnishings are contemporary and comfortable, elevating Mickey to a level of abstract art. Love that the bathroom features a Jacuzzi tub plus a great rain shower. That's not to mention the floor to ceiling windows and balcony with views of either the Magic Kingdom or Bay Lake (our preference for its serenity and nightly displays of Epcot's Illuminations and Electrical Water Pageant). The one bedroom living room offers both a pull-out couch and sleeper chair - ideal for families.
*Fun and inviting (but not overly themed) pool area with slide, snack bar and daily activities (with access to a small beach). We also enjoyed the nightly s'mores firepit, movies under the stars and kids' lounge where you can check out movies or hang out to play video games or make art.
*Nightly rooftop viewing of Wishes fireworks plus a decadent lounge to enjoy cocktails (for DVC members only).
*High rise luxury that takes you away from the hustle and bustle.
*Extra Magic hours and dining plan option.

Cons
*Well, it's a DVC property so you either have to buy into the timeshare, stay on behalf of an owner or pay (very expensive) nightly rates through Disney.
*There are no onsite cafes or restaurants (need to walk to the Contemporary).
*The furnishings are starting to show minor signs of wear and tear.
*Housekeeping only comes once/week unless you pay for additional service (not as much fun to make your own beds on vaca).
*If you are paying Disney's high nightly rate, you should be allowed to access the rooftop deck and lounge.

Bottom line: Bay Lake Tower is worth the indulgence!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing Bay Lake for the most serene views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, South Dakota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel has a little of everything to make your Disney vacation perfect. The pools are nice, as are the rooms. there is also a restaurant style for everyone. For the kids there is Chef Mickeys, I know there is also a fancy restaurant, and for the everyday vacationer the food court is also very good. There is no where at Disney that can beat the location if the Magic Kingdom is main destination. One of the best hotels Disney has!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The facility is top shelf. Competent staff. Immaculate. Premium location.State of the art modern rooms. Priceless view of the Seven Seas Lagoon. Gorgeous balcony. Perfect location....monorail or walking distance to Magic Kingdom. The only downer is that it is more like a luxury high rise, so you lose a little of the Disney charm. The contemporary main building is bustling with Disney activity, plus the monorail goes right through the building itself. It has
gift shops, Chef Mickeys, and generally a fun environment. The Bay Lakes tower @ the Contemporary, however, is very sterile and a bit of a let down for kids, especially after they see the main building at the Contemporary. Also, it is a long haul to the main building to catch the monorail. As far as walking distance to Magic Kingdom.....that part is correct but don't plan on doing that with tired kids or even tired adults after a long day. Close as you can get to MK but keep in mind these facilities are huge. This hotel (really a time share) is everything it promises to be if you can live without the charm that Disney does so well. This hotel is also among the most expensive of the Disney properties. A comperable facility off property would cost about $300 per night. This runs between $500 and $800 per night. Trade off is location.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lagoon. You can see the electrical water parade at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Orlando
#93 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort—balances a modern and luxurious experience with warm and innovative features and delivers some of the most dramatic views available anywhere at Walt Disney World Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.