We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but once only....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Save Saved
You added Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 329 hotels in Orlando
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great but once only....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Well ok-I want to love it unreservably( pixie dust and all that). All the usual good things about a Disney 5* but the next time I'll follow my own heart and stay at the Boardwalk where they are equally disinterested in your family's good time but at least don't pretend otherwise. Props to Concierge Chris who worked so hard to help make things right . Yes you can walk to MK but you'll need a polar expedition to get to the food next door where the monorail access does not justify the extra expense. Lakeview ? Check, but mostly a view of the windows of everyone else's
rooms. Sorry Mickey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    233
    72
    25
    13
See reviews for
654
95
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was very happy when Bay Lake Towers opened at Walt Disney World! We were staying in the Polynesian on our previous stays and even though I loved the atmosphere we were a little bit cramped. Bay Lake Towers' rooms are modern, spacious, and very functional. You can fit many people in them comfortably and you have a full kitchen and living room. We usually had two families in the two bedroom rooms with a living room and kitchen in the middle of the two. We comfortably fit 10 people in the rooms. You have a short walk to the monorail station, as well as the bus stop. You also have all the amenities the the contemporary has to offer. The pool is very nice as well. Here's a tip: Instead of buying a $50 pack of six Disney starter pins, for pin trading; buy 40 of them on Ebay for $15 and trade them just the same. Now all you need is an extremely overpriced lanyard!

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty good. If you get a handicapped room you get extra space! Also get the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wow. This was one of my best stays at WDW. I've stayed at 4 different disney resorts here, and this is probably the best one. In our 2 bedroom, the beds were really comfy, especially the sofa bed (memory foam) and the bathrooms were really nice. However, the room and hotel also had some downsides. The chair bed was all scratched up and the bellman was very rude and snotty when we checked out. The pool and the waterslide are rather small, too. But, the view was phenomenal and the 16th floor to watch the fireworks was great. Tips: If you are going to Magic Kingdom, walk instead of taking the monorail, because it stops at all the other hotels first and MK is the last stop, and besides, the walk is good exercise and only takes 5 minutes. But if you are tired from a long day at MK, just take the monorail back to the bay lake because it is the first stop ON THE WAY BACK TO THE HOTEL.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed on the 9th floor in a very nice lake view room. The view was great. We could not see the fireworks from our room, but there were plenty of good vantage points for that elsewhere in the hotel. We, for instance, watched the fireworks one night from the bridge connecting our hotel to the Contemporary. Our room was clean and modern looking, and the hotel staff kept it that way throughout our stay. We would definitely stay here again. We went one morning to the breakfast buffet at The Wave restaurant in the Contemporary. Everyone in our party thought the food was excellent and plentiful. The Contempo Cafe, however, received mixed reviews for lunch. We also enjoyed our evening visit to the California Grill bar, which has plenty of great views of the Magic Kingdom. We shared a few dishes at the bar, and the food was terrific.

Room Tip: Our 9th floor Lake View rooms, overlooking the pool area, had a wonderful view of the lake area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just came back from another great stay at bay lake. A couple of minor issues with the room, but still the best property in Disney in my opinion. You can't go wrong staying here and a big thank you to Disney for caring enough to have really nice mattresses on their sofa beds! the washer and dryer were really slow (not sure of they were broken or not) and one of the bathroom locks were busted, but overall VERY nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I absolutely love Bay Lake Tower at Disney! Rooms are very nice and big and always clean! Staff is friendly and you can't beat the location and views! We love having the room of a villa/condo but still being close to the monorail so you an access the parks easily.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This is my home resort. I purchased it while thy were making it in 2008. We finally got to stay in it we had a studio with the magic kingdom view. We loved it. The only thing was the studio was a little stuffy. The restutant upstairs was great. Also I get to the magic kingdom you just have to walk over the walk way into the contemporary and hop on the monorail. That was a plus. The pool and slide were good too. Can't wait to go back in New Years

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel
Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Orlando
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#35 Spa Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort—balances a modern and luxurious experience with warm and innovative features and delivers some of the most dramatic views available anywhere at Walt Disney World Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Expedia, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.