We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Weird” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bento Cafe

Bento Cafe
7335 W Sand Lake Rd, Orlando, FL 32819-5538 (Doctor Phillips)
407-352-2277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #674 of 3,168 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Doctor Phillips
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fresh and Weird”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We eat here regularly with friends who are vegetarian and teetotal. The food is well prepared and tasty, with a good selection. We have been lucky enough to take advantage of happy hours as well the last couple of visits which really add to the value.
The service tries hard but I have never found it to be truly good - on our last visit the server took away our water glasses, and laughed when we asked if she would be refilling them. She never came back.
Aside from that you should go here for good food, in a casual environment, that is not stuffy but well suited to its product. Clientele skews younger with large families also always present. Check it out.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, variety, price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food with great variety at really great prices. We left full and happy and got a great value for our money

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Garlic edamamé! Great selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Many yummy choices for us to choose from. Sushi may not be the best in Orlando, but it is okay. The Bento box, rice & noodle bowls are the highlight of this little restaurant. Log into Yelp, for your "free" appetizer before walking in. Makes it worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing more than a trendy spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have been looking for a good sushi/ Japanese restaurant in Orlando for a very long time. We went to Bento after a long day at the parks. The Asian server who seated us was very rude. She asked if we wanted a table and we said no problem. She proceeded to sit us right next to the door and there was a line out the door and all of the tables were open inside. Hello lazy, move us to a table inside of the restaurant. We ordered the steamed dumplings, a box of sushi and a noodle and a rice bowl. The dumplings were very good, the sushi was just okay.. nothing spectacular and the bowls are better at Pei Wei and I dont even care for Pei Wei too much. Everything seemed very rushed inside of the restaurant. The servers seemed to be rushing around and they did not take too much time with us explaining the menu. This spot seems like a trendy place that people stop before they go out to a club. This is not a date night, slow enjoyable meal. I would recommend getting something to go, or that you go somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good eats, great boba tea.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I go there just for the boba tea. Always good and so many choices. They have rice bowls, box or noodle bowls.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bento Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Bento Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bento Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.