We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #36 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Tx
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Never again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

Unless you are a big partier you will not want to stay here on New Year's Eve. We had a two night stay here before moving onto Disney property for two weeks. We were blessed with very little sleep during that time. Our neighbors across the hall let their children (and even an adult) run up and down the halls all hours of the night both nights slamming their door and yelling over and over again. They even did cartwheels down the hall and were kicking doors. Several neighbors tried yelling at them to no avail. We reported them to management and the best management could do was offer to move our two rooms of eight people. Why not move the offending party and inconvenience them? Beyond the rude people across the hall, every door that closed SLAMMED loudly into our room making us jump. Once we were on Disney property we noticed the doors made a more muffled shutting sound. We slept like rocks during our stay at the Wilderness Lodge. The pools were nice, but a little chilly, at the Hyatt. I could not brave it even though my kids did. (We are talking late December here) Once we switched onto Disney property I was able to step without flinching into the Wilderness Lodge pool. Too big for my tastes and much of a convention hotel, IMO.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    755
    217
    110
    65
See reviews for
1,141
581
60
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

I stayed here with my 8 year old daughter for two nights in March - booked a room at Regency Club level. Found the Check-in staff very efficient & polite. They were happy to locate a room for me at 11:00AM with a pool view. Housekeeping was prompt and kept the rooms very clean. There is a Hertz rental on-site for last minute car rental needs. Pools are well kept and plenty of chairs around. Only one pool with smaller slide is heated. Pitch and Putt is great and it is free to resort guests. They do not offer complimentary trasnportation to/from airport or to nearby restaurants and shops. Free scheduled time transportation is available to Disney, Universal and Sea World. Do note that service to Universal and Seaworld is limited - two drop-offs in the morning and one pick-up around 6:15PM. Plenty of choices on food for all age groups and plenty of bars in the property. Staying again here in mid April.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2006

We stayed for three nights in February. The hotel is very impressive and the facilities and grounds great. We were given champagne on arrival and the staff were curteous and gave a tour on the way to the room. The lobby was huge and had a pond, plants and parrots.
Our room over looked the lake and this was definately the better view to have. It was large and as it was at the end had dual aspect. The decor was a little overpowering especially in the bathroom, but everything was well maintained and clean. If there is a conference in the hotel, as there was when we stayed, be prepared to wait upto ten minutes for a lift as it gets very busy and there are no stairs available (only in emergencies) which was very frustrating as we were only on the third floor!
We ate at Hemminways (the hotels upscale restaurant) one night but were dissapointed with the service, though the food was great. Our meal on the terrace was accompanied by a very loud humming (which we were later told to be the jaccuzzi pumps).
The pool area was lovely, though the main pool was not heated (absolutely freezing!!!) and rubbish accumulated around the pool area during the day which was not cleared away.
The resort fee included the use of the facilities including bicycles, gym and boating on the lake.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2006

This is a great resort hotel. We have stayed here before and enjoyed it. But this time we arrived late and I was disappointed to find only one person working at the front desk and a line of four people waiting to check in. I was afraid this was the start of a poor stay. But once we got through the long check in process, the rest of the stay was very nice. We enjoyed a great dinner at Hemingway's and I really like the way the resort handles extras. Instead of charging for each thing you might want to do, they have a resort fee which covers everything. We had fun at the Pitch and Putt course and also taking out a sailboat. It was nice that you didn't have to pay to do these things and didn't have to worry about returning the boat on time or being charged more,etc. I wished it were a bit warmer but you can't have everything. Breakfast buffet was just ok and the quick food stop store was a very disorganized mess. It was hard to figure out how to get food and then sometimes there was no one available to pay for things like cokes. But overall this is as close to being in Hawaii while being in Florida as I have felt. The plantings, pool and good restaurants were great! I will return and can't imagine a better spot for us in Orlando, unless we were going to spend all day in the Parks.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

We stayed here again, (see our previous review June 3 2005) and La Coquina is even better with not only a fabulous, good value, Sunday Brunch but also a superb "Chefs Kitchen" dining experience in the evenings. This is a "do not miss" experience when you stay here. The only feature which in our view has worsened since earlier stays is the lack of "The Girlfriends" a fantastic singing group who used to appear nightly in the "Trellises" lounge in the Atrium which really brought the hotel to life in the evening.
Everthing else including the staff and service remains as good as any hotel we stay at in anywhere in the World. As I personally have stayed in Hotels for up to three months a year since the mid-sixties this is a pretty good indication of very high standard this hotel has produced and continues to offer, since its opening.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Isles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2006

My wife and I stayed for 10 nights in late June and early July 2005.

There are far too many positives to say about the Hyatt, I can only summarise it as by far the best Hotel we have ever stayed at and well worth paying a little extra for.

We were given free access to the Regency club as a Honeymoon couple, this meant we had access to free breakfast, hot and cold drinks all day, snack food plus beer, wine and spirits in the evening which really was "the icing on the cake" for our trip.

The grounds are massive and I only wish we had more time to spend in them rather than visiting all the theme parks. The lake and associated activities are fantastic. The swimming pools and waterfalls amazing, and no the large pool does not need to be heated.

Our room was very spacious, immaculate and had a huge bed, plus we had views over the pool out to Epcot and Walt Disney World so we could watch the fireworks each evening (what a sight that was on 4 July!)

The public areas of the Hotel are vast and very impressive, we loved the parrots on display each day. Service throughout the Hotel is wonderful, as one fellow guest said to me "nothing is too much trouble for them"

We dined at Hemmingways restaurant in the Hotel one night and wow, the service is great not to mention the food. I had heard in advance that it served the best Key Lime Pie in Florida and I would have to agree.

We will definately stay at the Hyatt again, and will even pay for the Regency club upgrade

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2006

I took my husband here for 2 nights to celebrate his 50th birthday. We were not disappointed in anything. Everything from the common areas to the pool to the room was extremely well kept and beautiful. The service was so friendly - everyone greeted us, offered to help us, and provided the best service we have experienced anywhere - comparable to treatment at high end resorts like the Four Seasons! A fun little extra was the pitch and putt located right there. Even the buffet breakfast was excellent. We cannot say enough good things about this resort and have vowed to return.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Address: 1 Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#14 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
#25 Family Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.