We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hyatt is still "Grand"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #36 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
long beach new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Grand Hyatt is still "Grand"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2005

Anybody who would give this hotel a bad rating is probably just miserable!

I just got back from spending 7 nights at the Grand Cypress and I and my family, 3 small children, couldn't have been happier. The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The pools and slides were awesome and the activities were great. My children said this was the best vacation they ever had. They swam, boated, explored, and rode bikes all day! Our room was spacious and had great view. The hotel staff could not have been friendlier. For instance, when my 8 year old daughter got a splinter in her foot, the security lady was very caring and later that evening she had cookies and milk sent to our room! It is these little thing that I or my wife children will not forget. From the smores roast to the kayak rides everything was perfect. We ate at Hemingways, and it was awesome. If you have children, request the enclosed room at the restaurant. My children talked about the restaurant and the room for the rest of the trip. We at the Palm Cafe and Pappilon and they were very good. As for the pools, the little pool was heated but it was very big. The larger pool was colder but it had an awesome big waterslide. There were also two large hot tubs and a nice game room. Most of all my wife was happy!!!

Thank You Grand Hyatt!

I would definitely stay at this hotel again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    756
    217
    110
    66
See reviews for
1,141
583
60
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2005

We always like staying at the Hyatt in Orlando. It is close to the Disney Parks, not far off the highway and not far from Universal and Sea World. It has a convenient location, but once on the large property you really think you are in an isolated area.

The hotel lobby has an 18 story atrium with parrots and other birds all around, plenty of landscaping inside and neat glass elevators to watch the view as you go up and down.

The pluses with this hotel are:
- great pool/recreation area
- nice restaurants with great settings
- friendly staff
- nice rooms (although not large)
- great location
- high class feel to the hotel
- plenty of restaurant options close by within walking distance

Some of the negatives:
- main pool not heated, only small pool is heated. Temperatures were 64 degrees in the main pool and 88 in the small one.
- $14 for valet parking (plus tips)
- being an an upper floor can make the trip up or down take a long time on the elevator in the mornings when everyone is leaving
- deli/snack bar type restaurant closes at 9 PM
- doors in hotel slam shut quite loudly which is tough for light sleepers

Overall though we really like the hotel and will always be our first choice when visiting Orlando.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2005

We just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel over spring break, March 2005, and we thought the hotel & grounds were beautiful. All the staff were friendly, and our three daughters said they'd only ever want to stay here when we come back to Orlando! We stayed at the Polynesian in the past, and we all thought this was a much nicer place to stay. The big pool was cold, but the smaller pool was heated to 87 degrees, so we could swim in it without ever feeling cold. The surroundings are so pretty with waterfalls etc and my youngest played on beach building sandcastles while the older ones went on bikes and water craft as well as going on the slide in the small pool, which they loved.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2005

I recently visited the Hyatt Grand Cypress for a business meeting, but the atmosphere made it feel more like a pleasure trip. The grounds are gorgeous and staff is friendly. It is quite pricey but worth every penny. Try Hemingway's for dinner; the crabcakes and crab legs are excellent. They even crack open the crab legs for you. There is also a great wine selection and other good restaurants on site. I would definitely return for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2005

This is a beautiful hotel. While I found the rooms to be rather average for the price, they were clean. There is so much to do at this hotel that it is tempting just to stay there all day. It is secluded enough to give that private feeling but close to main road access. There really isn't anything to do there at night but it is very close by to Downtown Disney. To me, this is a good place to stay if you really have time to enjoy the ammenities. Otherwise, it is a little too pricey.

  • Stayed April 2001
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2005

Great hotel. I stayed with my wife and 4 year old daughter while we visited The Magic Kingdom. It was a perfect complement to Disney as you could get away to a quieter upscale hotel that was not overrun with children. The location is convenient to MK and good restraunts. Service was excellent, beautiful grounds and pools, and clean nicely maintained rooms.
I thought the health club was a little small, but friendly staff to answer questions about some of the equipment.
I would consider staying again- curious about Ritz and JW Marriott as well though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2005

The Grand Cypress is spectacluar, however there's lots of points that let it down. The lobby staff aren't overly friendly, the atmosphere is bland and pretentious and the location is in a distinctly dogdy area.

The good points are it's pool area and cafe by the pool. However, the staff are very discourteous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Address: 1 Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#14 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
#25 Family Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.