We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun w/the grandkids.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #47 of 327 hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fun w/the grandkids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is an excellent resort. I read tons of reviews, good and bad, and not a single bad review came true! I guess there are just some people! So beautiful!!!!! Water, water everywhere! Great service from everyone. Not only would I recommend this resort, I want to go back. Wonderful vacation. Even the view of the lobby from inside the Hotel (through the glass elevators was beautiful). You could have a wonderful vacation and never leave the grounds! We did not use the spa services so our spa rating is really for the pool and hot tubs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and let the readers know that none of the negative comments of the past were a reality for you and your grand kids. Having great service from our entire staff is not a surprise to me as I know our staff works tirelessly each and every day to make sure the guest experience is a positive one. Your five point rating is appreciated.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,333
    659
    200
    99
    58
See reviews for
1001
513
57
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This property is outdated. The lobby and lobby bar areas are dark and unappealing. The restaurant is old and food is of mediocre quality; careful with the sushi. The rooms are outdated and the beds are very uncomfortable since the mattresses are old and worn. The internet service in the rooms is slow and tends to hang; unless you take the choices to upgrade. Room service is very expensive; a fruit plate and tea $33! Lastly, there is a "resort" charge despite the fact that one does not use the resort amenities. This property is not worth the money they charge.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here for 6 days in early April while on Spring Break with my two college age daughters. After a long cold winter we just wanted a place to relax, get some sun, and stay away from the Spring Break typical crowd. We loved it!. The grounds are beautiful, the restaurant food and service was excellent. We did not rent a car and did not feel we needed it. There are a few restaurants and small groceries within walking distance. We would take the hotel shuttle to the gate and walk from there. When you return to the gate, the shuttle takes you back. We did one day at Epcot and choose to take a cab vs the hotel offered shuttle. That way we were on our own time. Cab fares to the parks are reasonable. Disney/Epcot $20 one way. Downtown Disney $9. There have been some complaints about one of the pools not being heated. We actually liked this. It kept a separation from the children and families vs the adults only. It was very quiet, relaxing and beautiful by the adult pool. This ended up being my favorite feature of the hotel. Only giving 4 stars vs 5 due to the automatic 18% service charge for all food and drinks by the pool. This is what they do on a cruise ship otherwise people won't tip. This is an upscale hotel and I found it somewhat offensive to automatically add a tip because they assumed I wouldn't. I travel to different cities in FL every year for Spring Break and found not a lot of drinking going on probably because of the automatic 18%. Take that off and people will spend more money on drinks. If you're looking for a relaxing/quiet and maybe just a little bit of "Disney", this hotel is perfect.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoM
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Grand Cypress as we have stayed in the past and liked the pool. They have renovated since our last trip and the pool was fine, but the big pool was not heated so the water was cold in April. Most people were in the smaller heated pool with the slide. The slide was fun. We went to the Marriott World Center as we heard it had been renovated since we stayed there 2 years ago. The pool has been updated and they put in new water slides. The environment was very family friendly and they had games and activities for the kids.

In my last review of these two hotels I recommended the Hyatt due to the pool. Since the renovations I would recommend the Marriott as they have 3 slides and lots of family activities.
The hyatt housekeeping also did not clean our room one day when we left at 5am and returned at 4 in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that you can see the disney fireworks from
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I'm generally not a big fan of the hotels I stay in when traveling to Florida. However, this one was better than most.

Check in was quite simple.

While the outside of the hotel looks a little old, the rooms appear to have been recently redecorated. They modern and clean. They were also pretty quiet and dark at night. Sleep quality was good if you covered up the clock that had an excessively bright blue light. The air conditioning seemed dated. It would blast on and the room would be freezing cold. Then it would shut off and the room would get quite warm. This was pretty annoying but it was the only flaw in the room for me. I also like the lounger in the room for a comfortable reading spot.

The breakfast buffet was quite good with lots of options. However, the huge waterfall in the restaurant was quite loud.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is set up in such a way that there are no rooms next to the elevators. The only rooms that look like they might be "bad" (as far as noise) are the ones next to the ice machine.

Everyone is very helpful and no one was ever rude or snarky. The parrot in the lobby (Merlot) is great. They had to retire the other parrot as it did not enjoy the guest interactions, but they still have him (or her!) as a companion to Merlot when Merlot is not doing hotel publicity. :)

The bathroom door is also the closet door, so that is odd. (it seems a strange way to save money, but...) Also, if you have medications or milk that you need to keep at a consistent cold temperature, be sure to request a regular fridge, as the cold boxes apparently take a while to get items to the proper temperature.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
It is so nice to read your positive comments regarding our staff being helpful. We are here for our guests 24/7/365 and willing to do whatever it takes to make sure their visit is a great one. Thank you for your five point review and we hope you will return again for another amazing visit with us.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great place to stay. Very clean, comfortable and fantastic grounds (swimming, biking, golf, tennis, basketball, etc.). Top notch staff - very helpful and courteous. Also, just a quick 5 min. stroll to off ground eateries (Dunkin Donuts, IHOP, Olive Garden, Pizza Uno), groceries and t-shirt shop. Walking through the western village to the sidewalk seemed to make the walk feel ever shorter. Loved the fast checkout via email (no need to wait in line).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Your fantastic five point review makes us happy and we appreciate you telling the Trip Advisor community about us. We love what we do here and being helpful and courteous is part of our DNA. We hope you will return again soon and please recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Address: 1 Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#14 Green Hotel in Orlando
#16 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#29 Business Hotel in Orlando
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, TIG Global and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.