We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing grounds. Beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #36 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing grounds. Beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Do not be scared by Hyatt prices as you can get really good deals for the stay by reaching through comparison websites or just calling reservations directly and asking for the deals. But … be ready to pay $15 for parking, $35+ for breakfast and $35 for using recreational facilities.
After having All Inclusive holidays in Europe, I could exactly understand what guests mean “annoying other extras” in their reviews. Still hotel is really nice. And on another side it was free shuttle bus to Disney World so we did not need to take our car to the parks and pay for parking over there which would cost us much more than $15/day.
This hotel is perfect for people who are travelling on business and taking their wives and kids on the business trip.
It is great for family vacation: going on the bike ride, have a go on the climbing wall, play golf, enjoy water sports activities, relax in Jacuzzi, swim in heated pool or normal pool …
Ideal for families with 6-14 years old kids, but there was no baby pool for 1-4 years old. There was no indoor pool which could be useful when it was raining and you could not do anything apart from watching TV in the room.
There was Recreational staff, but they did not do anything apart from looking after the equipment. I guess Management can utilise these resources for supervised kids activities like Kids club, Mini disco in the evening, Mini golf, Mini volleyball… The only thing they did with children (without parent’s involvement) – it was feeding fish in the lake once a day.
Plus what was surprising for me – with all that recreational team – there was no Stretching class on the beach or Aqua Aerobics class in the pool (?).
If you come to Orlando to go to theme parks and you are going spend all your time in Magic Kingdom, Universal … you probably wouldn’t appreciate all Hyatt facilities and would not feel that you get “value for money”. So book something like Holiday Inn for the first week while you are in the “race” to visit everything and then come back to Hyatt to have the vacation after Disney World.
We stayed in other hotels in Orlando, but it was our first time in Hyatt. I could tell that it was one of the best resorts in the city.
Apparently this hotel had recent refurbishment. Some guests were saying that it is for the best as having parrot at reception (?) was too cheesy. And now this hotel is on next level. Another people were disappointed as they came here again after 20 year since their honey moon and hotel was not the same. Well, feeling was not the same.
Hotel is situated in the walking distance to shops and restaurants. You even can get to Disney Downtown if you really fit and enjoy walking. You will save some money having meals outside the hotel, but you must try restaurants in Hyatt. The stake, sushi, chicken -- even Cesar salad was delicious (!). Was it parmesan cheese or wine they served? - it was unbelievably good.

We will recommend this hotel to our friends and we definitely will come back in future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are so glad you enjoyed all the activities. We are indeed in the heart of Lake Buena Vista and all that it has to offer but we thank you for staying on property and enjoying our culinary offerings here in the hotel. We hope that if you choose to come back to Orlando, the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress will be at the top of your list.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    755
    217
    110
    65
See reviews for
1,141
581
60
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater,FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

So I have just returned from a "staycation" living an hour away we were going to bring friends to Disney. I used my points to stay three nights regency club room. All seemed okay initially. Check in - room was not ready so we went to the pool. Got the call it was ready about 4:20 (check in supposed to be 4) Went to the Diamond/platinum line, waited at least 20 minutes. The Bellhop went and told the reception folks I was waiting. Eventually after some not so nice looks from the staff I got my key. Got to the room, well DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY. A plate full of french fries left in the closet..YUK! Old candy in there as well. The sheets were stained. Mildew all in the shower on the ceiling. I was absolutely embarrassed bringing friends here. I travel for work all the time and Hyatt is usually of high quality. This bar far was the worst experience. The day we were leaving the housekeeper knocked on the door at 9 am asking what time we were checking out. Amazing,,,,,Go elsewhere

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate H, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I would like to thank you for staying with us and for bringing your guests to our property. We also appreciate your loyalty to Hyatt. Clearly you have traveled extensively to earn a Diamond level with our Gold passport program. We typically honor all of the benefits that come with such a distinction. I would like to express my sincere apology regarding the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We do not want any of our guests to leave dissatisfied in any way. It truly hurts us to know that we have not met your needs throughout your stay. I too am embarrassed by what you described. I also agree that Hyatt is of high quality and we expect that same high quality at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The things you described should not happen and I can state with confidence that your situation is not the typical experience of our guests. I hope that you will return at some point and give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves, and show you what Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress service is really like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All at sea!!
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Second time staying here booked through BA and and really enjoyed it. The staff are excellent and the pool and other facilities first rate. Prices for food and drink are what you would expect from an Orlando hotel and 18% gratuity added to room and bar service automatically which, having lived in the US for a year with work, I prefer.

My only slight gripe, and it is well trailed when you book and I know others have mentioned it, is the resort fee of $20 plus tax, and there is also a $15 self parking fee per night. Having travelled all over the world and stayed in hotels on every continent US is the only place I have been charged to use the facilities!

Overall though a really good hotel with excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool or lake rather than the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remerschen, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

we stayed once again in this Hotel, up to now it was in our eyes the best one in Orlando.
This year we returned and a lot of things changed, the amazing Pool is changed, the main pool lost two of his main attractions, no more slide which we think was the best we ever experienced an second the water volleyball net has gone.
the heathclub is redone but now there is no more shower possibility when you want to stay longer in resort before you have yr flight late in the afternoon, no good !
Generally he had the fee,ing the service decreased, beakfast was this year poor compared to our last year stay. Limited fruits , limited service, and the taste of the coffee was terrible...
hope management keeps an eye on these points.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was here on a business trip earlier in the year and enjoyed the hotel very much. Decided to come back with the family again in July as they had never been to Orlando.

It is a great hotel and the location is just great for whatever you want to do in Orlando. It is close to many great venues, restaurant and shopping venues; but you can also stay at the resort and just relax as everything is catered for.

The staff are warm, friendly, forthcoming and nothing is too much - a true oasis to relax, unwind and enjoy when on vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratt
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We received a great rate on Hotwire and even with the resort fee it was less expensive than other resorts in the area. We stayed one night as we arrived a day early for our week stay on site at Disney.

The resort is beautiful. Our room was gorgeous and we had a great view. We actually were able to watch the fireworks at the Magic Kingdom from our window.

My husband is a tall man and he found the shower not to his liking. He has no desire to stay there again. If it was just me I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the theme parks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just to let you know that the Mandatory resort fees in this place are horrific and after booking through Virgin and spending a lot of money, they do not tell you to expect this and it came as a bit of a shock - another $1000 for two weeks on top of a already very expensive trip - not a very nice welcome. Also a 20 minute wait at reception, no luggage service, no explanation about the resort or where we can eat breakfast just an extraction of money, an offer of a glass of cheap champagne and on your way - welcome to the Hyatt!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Address: 1 Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#14 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Business Hotel in Orlando
#26 Family Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.