We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice resort, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #26 of 329 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice resort, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

enjoyed a week of stay in the resort. lot of activities to do and staff are welcoming and helpful. rooms are well maintained and resort facilities are amazing. there is some construction under way but that did not bother us much. shuttle to disney parks comes a little late (upto 15 minutes) late but showed up every day. there is a resort fee of $25 per day but looks like every resort in Orlando charges similar fee. there is hertz rental location in the resort if you want to rent a car.

Room Tip: try fir higher floor lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for letting the readers know that our staff is welcoming and helpful. We strive to be the best we can every single day. From our clean comfortable rooms to our delectable restaurant offerings and friendly staff, our resort is a place to come and getaway from the stresses of life to relax and reinvigorate. It is amazing what a weekend away can do for the mind and body! We appreciate the review and hope you will return soon. Please recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,682
    784
    221
    112
    66
See reviews for
1,198
615
60
493
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Hyatt Regency Gran Cypress is now my favourite hotel in the world. Of course the location is brilliant, being close to Disney, a very short drive to Universal Studios and SeaWorld. And of course, you can drive over to Tampa for Busch Gardens. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, helping children pour drinks and making them Sno-Cones. I didn't really go to the restaurants, but each morning I went to Cascades for breakfast. You have the option to buffet or order it. I chose buffet each time, and the buffet has an amazing large variety of food and drinks, including muffins, waffles, pancakes, toast, egg and more. Merlot the hotels parrot was very entertaining, apart from when he gets angry and makes the loudest most annoying noise you've ever heard, and it echoes all around the hotel, but it dosen't go as far as the rooms. If you are flying with British Airways, make sure when checking in for your return flight online, you don't use the hotels computer, as there are problems with B.A's security settings. Mostly, you can't check in for return flights from Orlando anyway. The room was clean, the T. V had a wide range of channels ( even more including HD coming soon! ). The shower was good, apart from water likes to spray onto the floor outside.
The pool was well positioned, with slides for the kids. We took a big advarntige of the bikes, and often went for a bike ride. The trail was closed at the time, so we went cycling around the golf courses. Also, they offered pitch and put, a small selection of golf holes inside the hotels resort, on the other side of the resort, they had a whole massive golf course. This was all included in the resort fee. Unfortunately, we stayed during some construction work, but if you choose the right room, you can avoid the noises. And they stop after 6PM anyway. We also went canooing and kayaking often, once again, all included in the resort fee. We had a nasty shock at the end of our stay when we looked at the bill, well over $2000!
There were I think 18 floors, but we stayed on the 2nd floor. If your scared of heights, don't pick a high level, and if you do, don't look down over the edge! You get a good view of the Disney fireworks from the top floor's window, and a good sight of nearby thunderstorms, but FOX 35 kept us aware of that. If you can't sleep on the first night, don't check out. You WILL settle in.

One last thing, when navigating to the hotel, if you are using a sat-nav, don't turn left onto Hotel Plaza Blvd, as you will have to go around a big loop that takes about five minutes to get around. Instead, take the next left after Hotel Plaza Blvd, then turn left again when you see the grand cypress logo.

When you stay at the hotel, you proberbley won't need to be food shopping, but Wal-Mart and Publix are nearby, just like a range of restaurants.

Tip: Sign up for Hyatt Gold Passport and get perks like a free newspaper every day!

I would like to give a big thank you to all staff members who helped us during our stay and we hope to stay at another Hyatt hotel again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We certainly like the title of your review :-) !! Thank you for taking the time to let the Trip Advisor readers know of your outstanding visit with us. With so many activities to enjoy and several restaurants with a variety of options, we are a destination resort. We are so glad you truly enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future. We are nearing completion of our new poolside bar and grill to enhance guest experience. We are looking forward to an amazing 2013 summer season and hope many new Trip Advisor readers will come check us out. If any readers have questions about our resort, please contact me and I will do my best to answer them. Thank you again for your review and hope to see you soon.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is our favorite hotel ever, however our stay this past December was less than staisfactory. We have stayed at this hotel the past 6 years every Christmas. The pool was under construction and not usable, the hot tubs were not usable, the laundry room was removed, the excercise room was relocated and downsized to treadmills, and half of the pool and recreation area was closed off due to construction. Really disappointed this time around and was not notified prior to our arrival of the construction. This construction should be over soon, but be careful booking here now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel whilst on honeymoon back in 2008. At the time the decor was a little dated. Been back since and it's a big improvement.

Nice airy hotel, echo the comments from other guests that the staff are very helpful and always pleasant.

Very large pool - with a cave type area and a couple of waterfall type features along with the mock beach...

Orlando has a plethora of places to stay - but if you want somewhere that is a little quieter in the evenings and has plenty of activities on offer then look no further.

Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This December 2012 I stayed with my daughter and son (12 and 16), the second time we stayed here around the New Year's holiday. We really enjoyed the hotel, one of my favorite places to stay in Orlando. Very close to the Disney attractions and the hotel is beautiful and staff is very helpful and friendly. This trip was arranged through a travel agency for a soccer tournament that my daughter attended, so I don't know how the price/availability compares if you were to book on your own.
Close proximity to attractions is a plus, but there are many things to do at the hotel. Unfortunately, this winter the pools were under construction, so only one was open, but my son enjoyed that and it looks like the future pool areas will be amazing. There is also a sandy beach that I liked to lounge on with a book and small pond where we took advantage of the paddle boats and canoes and where we could watch some interesting wildlife. There is a resident parrot in the lobby that will say 'hello'! On New Years' Eve, the hotel hosts a family DJ'd party in the lobby and drops balloons at midnight from the ceiling, which my kids loved! Doors were closed to the wings where the rooms were and you couldn't hear anything when in the rooms. I'd recommend requesting a room that faces Epcot and Magic Kingdom if you want to enjoy fireworks from your window.
Several good restaurants in the hotel at varying price ranges - all delicious. Close drive to many other chain restaurants if you prefer.

Room Tip: From some of the rooms you can watch the evening fireworks at the Disney parks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and taking the time to review our resort. Your travel group has come to our resort for many years and we appreciate that very much. Our staff does everything we can to make sure your experience is a positive one. Our new year's eve party always seems to be a big hit with our guests and we hope you will join us again at the end of this year yet again.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel before children about 10 years ago and loved it. We recently stayed here with our two young children and despite the reviews (due to pool rennovation) we really enjoyed our 3 night stay. The staff was very welcoming and kept us well informed about hotel amenities and so on. The complimentary champagne at check-in is an awesome touch! The lobby is elegant and yet inviting for young children as they have a resident parrot hanging out. Our room had a firework view which was spectacular! The standard room was very clean and modern. We did not use the shuttle service as we had our own vehicle and since the hotel is in LBV you are within a 20 min. driving range to practically everything (Disney and Universal). All in all I would definitely reccommend this hotel as it was top- notch. If you're looking for pool recreation, you may want to wait until all the rennovations are complete.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for returning to our resort and glad to read that your children had a great time. We appreciate you taking the time to let the readers know that our staff is welcoming. Our main pool renovation project should be completed by mid to late February 2013. Our heated pool has been completed and is ready for our guests to use as well as our newly installed 120' tower water slide.
We hope you will come back again and please recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

What an amazing staff we encountered. We loved the speed and friendliness of the valet parking service.
The management allowed a special parking spot for our dogs that like to sleep in our van! Thanks!
The valet staff all loved our dogs:)
It is also about 5 minutes to a great doggie daycare/boarding facility.
Our late evening pizza order was quick and very tasty!
Easy access to Disney
Lovely site and grounds.
Quiet

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
A great resort only becomes great by having an exceptional staff to take care of guests. I am glad to read that our staff took excellent care of you and your family. Also, it is nice to know you enjoyed the grounds as well. We look forward to your return.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Address: 1 Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#8 Business Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.