We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bit too big for our tastes. Good for business not for pleasure.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #52 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Mass
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit too big for our tastes. Good for business not for pleasure.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I recently spent a few nights in this hotel on a business trip to Orlando. When we found out we would be staying here and were truelly blown away by the photos of the hotel and pool areas. I must say in real life the hotel didn't live up to the photos. First off the majority of the pools were closed for renovation. Between the contruction equipment, fences and noise the pool area just wasn't attractive or relaxing. You get an idea of the size of the hotel from the pictures but it seemed even larger to us in real life. This was a real hastle when it came time to walk out to the rental car which easily took 10-15 minutes from my room to the car door. Sure you can pay the valet but that costs more and takes time as well. The hotel was clean and well decorated but lacked any real charm. After the conference we switched to Disneys Beach Club resort for a short Disney trip with the kids. Honestly there was no comparison, Beach Club was ten times the hotel the Hyatt was. So for business I would stay here again but as a home base for a theme park trip this place doesn't hold a candle to the Disney properties.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,412
    696
    205
    107
    61
See reviews for
1,047
542
58
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Location is nice, hotel clean but they try to get as much money out of the guest as possible. Mandatory fee of 22.00 for amenities not included in the price per night, Valet fee of 25.00 or self park of 12.00 but parking is a mile a away. In room service has a fee of 3.50 plus another of 22% really how much can they get from you. If you add all these fees you night on high season is between 300 and 500. So please be careful on the undisclosed additional fees and enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This Hyatt was a nice clean hotel. Plenty of activities onsite such as a climbing wall, putt putt, paddle boats and kayaking on lake, pools, sport courts.
Each staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. It was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Self parking, which you pay for is too far away, I recommend the valet, which costs more. They are on the process of updating rooms, so ours was updated. Just a personal complaint, the updated shower/tub has one of the modern style single glass panels covering only half of the shower. Makes showering cold and you are exposed to anyone who comes in the bathroom. As I said, just a personal thing. We would defiantly stay here again. Within reasonable drive to all Orlando theme parks.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our resort. I am glad to read that each of our staff was friendly and helpful. Our resort offers plenty of things to do for the entire family and glad that you were able to enjoy so many of them. Our self parking lot is adjacent to our ballroom area and is a mere few minutes from parking to lobby. All our guest rooms have already been completely renovated. When your travel plans bring to back to Orlando, we hope that you will once again choose our resort.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I am an employee of an Hyatt in St. Louis, MO, and I must say that the Grand Cypress hotel is AWESOME!! From the time I checked in at 11:30 pm with Amanda down to the PBX operators and Housekeepers, the staff made me feel so welcomed and like I was a apart of their team. I traveled on a charter with 19 other family members and as soon as each of us walked into the rooms we all said the hotel was luxurious. From the oldest down to the youngest (5 yrs old), we all enjoyed all of the amenities of the hotel and we all felt safe and welcomed when we first walked in. Its so much to mention but I will say that everything was nice (even the parrot in the lobby). Out of the last 12 years of us visiting Orlando, this is the best resort that we have ever been to. Thank you all for "authentic hospitality" and you all most definitely made a difference in all of our lives during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
So nice to read that you and your family had an awesome time here at the Hyatt. It's always great to hear stories of fellow associates visiting our property and enjoying all that we have to offer and receiving the same exceptional service we provide all of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope that you and your family will return in the near future.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
417 reviews 417 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Beautiful, luxury hotel in the theme park area. It sits on a large amount of land. The grounds are beautifully sculptured with gardens, waterfalls, etc. Rooms are comfortable and large. The beds are very comfortable. There is an incredible amount of storage space for clothing. The view from the rooms is wonderful. The staff is very welcoming and so is the glass of champagne provided at checking. This is a resort hotel and you will find all of the amenities of a resort. There are a number of restaurants, health club and all of the facilities you would expect in a fine hotel. The technology provided is great. There is a HDTV with many HD channels and free wireless in each room. The nightly fireworks at Disney are viewable from many of the balconies.

Be prepared to spend money above the room cost and taxes. There is a parking fee (you get in and out privileges) and a resort fee, which is typical in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our champagne at check in is just the beginning to a great stay here at the Hyatt. From our welcoming staff to our numerous outdoor activities, the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress is a destination resort that provides our guests hours of fun in the sun. Our restaurants also have new and exciting menu items surely to please the discriminating palate. We hope you will return again soon and please recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

$22 resort fee, $12 parking, computer room u need to pay to use it. broken Ipod player. the most ugly room ever, carpet dirty, bed sheet and towles are not confortable , small king size bed. yucky couch, shower room door ahh floor all over with water after taking shower. who desirged that shower room.

friendly staff, long long way walking from parking to u room with nice path. I really like the shampoo and conditioner , at least it make u hair smoothly.

Not going to stay for 4 stars hotel for the price I paid $120+ $22 resort fee+$12 parking.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Hyatt Grand Cypress. It was a great to be based there for all the Disney attractions. The hotel is truly luxurious. We had a junior suite so we could be assured that our 3 children would be in an adjoining room. The staff at the hotel were so kind, welcoming and would do their best to help us. The staff at Cascades Restaurant were especially lovely and always tried their best to ensure that we and our children had everything we wanted or needed. Two servers were very special : Marcella made us feel as if we were her family and made our children feel very special. Also JP, who worked at breakfast time always looked after us so well. The food was fantastic!
The only draw back was the large pool being shut for refurbishment. However, the small pool was open and we had the option of using the Hyatt Villas pool. The grounds ar
Fantastic facilities in a superb location. We would not hesitate to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and noting that we treated you like family. It's the little things that really stand out. Although our large pool is currently being refurbished (Dec 2012), our heated pool is open as well as our new tower water slide. We appreciate you comments and hope that you will return this summer to enjoy several new amenities being built right now. We are excited for all our guests to see our new offerings !

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Address: 1 Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#17 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#27 Business Hotel in Orlando
#35 Family Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.