We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are certainly worse places to be!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Enclave Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Enclave Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Enclave Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   6165 Carrier Drive, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #198 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
bristol
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“There are certainly worse places to be!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was booked via Virgin Holidays, on the basis it was the cheapest with breakfast, so, I was not expecting a posh place, etc. From personal experience I have stayed in a lot worse in the UK, such as various Travelodges, Butlins, and seaside B&B's.
You get what you paid for, and this hotel suited us for the 2 bed suite/apartment, suitable for 6 people though there was only 3 of us staying. I did not want to share a hotel room with my grown up child & her partner.
Having read the reviews on this website, I did have my concerns but, accepted that some people have bad luck on their holidays, or just have higher standards than their budget allows.
On the plus side the hotel offered free shuttle to SeaWorld & Universal, and having booked via Virgin, a separate breakfast area would be available, so I was under the impression this would be better than the standard complimentary breakfast offered which has been complained about by previous reviewers. Also, Virgin have their own concierge in the hotel each morning, so was assured any questions or bugbears could be bought to their attention.
So:
Hotel reception:- not OTT friendly but adequate
Refundable deposit:- $50
Block 1 - Thankfully we did not need lift except for use of laundry facilities = $5/£3.10 a load including drying, BARGAIN
Suite - Clean enough though very basic equipment. I can't understand why no electric kettles but stovetop with whistle. Wall lights a bit odd how they switch on/off. Safe ($1 a day) but does not fit a laptop inside, so be aware of this. Shower good, plenty of towels. Our suite had one double bedded room, one twin bedded room with disney murals, sofa bed in lounge, ensuite in each room. With a microwave, fridge/freezer, & dishwasher, adequate for a family.
Leisure facilities: Indoor heated pool & spa, 2 x outdoor pool & heated spa, plus gym with facilities. Onsite shop and pizza hut thing.
Virgin exclusive breakfast: Enrique is THE guy to take care of everyone at breakfast, though obviously some holidaymakers are hard work in the morning. In Florida & on holiday, go with the flow!! Breakfast selection at times perhaps a bit bizarre, but Enrique was available most days to cook eggs how you liked, be it omelette, scramble, or just plain fried.
Transport: In the morning a Rep is available to book tickets and transport to parks, plus vouchers for restaurants, etc. Advise to see these people early on for discounts.
Shuttle service to/fro parks is good & friendly - be warned, you may have to sing 'The Wheels on the Bus' some mornings - though time limited of course
Hotel has plenty of leaflets, and can order 'taxi' to where you wish, as these are parked at the hotel.
However, taxi is fairly expensive compared to DIRT cheap public transport (we did not book a car for the fortnight) which I have to say is the best way to meet and enjoy the atmosphere, though I guess a lot of that is also down to your own personality. The I-ride serves International Drive and is $1.50/£0.90 per journey, however, the Lynx system is for all of Orlando and at $4.50/£2.80 can ride unlimited for a day. Also saves on parking charges at the parks, and any traffic problems. By not driving, hassle free way to enjoy a holiday.
Hotel has computer available to print out boarding passes (currently free of charge) and will take care of luggage in between checking out (11am) till pick up to airport.
Overall, stay was quite adequate and not dire as many previous reviewers made out. I can only assume they were not Virgin customers.
Next time, I would not stay at the Enclave, merely because I have seen another hotel slam bang on International Drive that has bus stops right outside for Lynx and I-ride, as well as nearer to Wet'n'Wild, so, for convenience sake, it would be a better option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. We’re pleased you found your suite to be accommodating and that you enjoyed your vacation with us! We that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    1,000
    519
    314
    318
See reviews for
1,635
551
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for two weeks at the end of august and for the most part enjoyed our stay. The hotel is so well located, just off idrive and a 5-10 min drive to universal studios, to which a free shuttle is provided by the hotel. The Disney parks are only about 20 mins away and there are lots of restaurants nearby for breakfast, lunch and supper.

Our room was ok, we had a disappointing view over the hotel's pizza hut and the whole place was just in need of a freshen up. The staff were friendly and the cleaners were good, the pools were all kept very clean and tidy also. The kitchenette was well enough equipped for the two of us which we used for breakfasts and cooking in on Sundays.

All in all, I would be happy to recommend Enclave, its location and amenities outweigh the dated decor by some margin.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We’re happy to hear you found our location to be fantastic and that you enjoyed all of our amenities. The kitchenette is a great way to save some extra money while traveling. We thank you for writing a review for a property. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We knew we had booked a budget hotel. We have stayed in others before and not had a problem, after all you are not in your room for very long on a holiday in Orlando. Unfortunately after you have been in reception with a problem every morning for the first week of your holiday it all gets a bit boring! We were given a ground floor room when we had requested a high floor. We decided not to make a fuss and stay in the room. The sofa bed was totally useless for two teenagers to sleep on but on speaking to reception they immediately brought in a full size mattress which made it ok. The room was dated but we thought the staff were making an effort so things should be ok. We were wrong. The first night at 3.30am the message light on the phone started flashing waking me up. We reported this to reception and they said they would deal with it. This happended for the next three nights without it being fixed then a new phone was fitted. It still happened again the next night and as the member of staff had not reprogrammed the phone when I pressed the message button it connected me to another guests room who I woke up at 6.45 in the morning. The phone was never sorted so we just unplugged it. Although we had booked in as a party of four we were only ever left three towels and had to always find housekeeping to get an extra towel. This next problem is the main one that really concerned us. We did not like the look of an electric socket and when the phone was being changed we asked for the socket to be looked at as it appeared very loose. We were assured this had been done on our return from a day out and the socket appeared to have been fixed. On charging my phone in this socket after 5 minutes there was a loud bang and the electric went off in the whole room via the trip switch. The electrics were turned back on and we were assured the electrics would be looked at but we were not using that socket again. By now we are on our eighth night and on going into the bathroom at 4.30am there was what appeared to be a very large cockroach running across the floor. This has now been identified as a large variety of cricket but none the less not want I want in my hotel bathroom. My husband caught the offending insect and security came to dispose of it. My husband informed reception that we were not happy and in their defence they did offer to move us to another room but that meant hanging around and wasting a day of our holiday or having the staff move our prepacked cases to another room without sight of it first. We refused this option and were told to report back to reception on our return from our day out. On our return we were thankfully moved to their sister hotel the Hawthorn Suites and enjoyed the remainder of our holiday without any further problems. The Enclave Suites needs a lot of work to bring it up to a good standard although I would like to add the staff did try and help and are doing the best they can in a large complex that clearly has a lot of problems.

Room Tip: Book the Hawthorn Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for our property. We sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us so that we may improve for future guests. We hope you might consider staying with us again in the future so that we may show you a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned for the Enclave suite, Orlando, Its a brill place to stay, its not 5 star but its clean and tidy, lets face it you don't go to Orlando to spend time in your hotel room !. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with 5 adults, to be fair it was cosy and the sofa bed could have been better but it didn't prevent my son from sleeping. If you wanted to cook for yourself everything was in place to prepare and cook meals, but why do that when you are surrounded by restaurants. We found all the staff very helpful everything we asked for was supplied, and the Virgin hot breakfast was a welcome bonus. Would we go back ..... hell yes, the Enclave is the perfect resort to base your stay, and if you don't like your room just asked to swap,( don't ask don't get). Next time I might get a car, getting to Disney is a bit of a chore, but get the hotel shuttle to the other parks, Terry the driver is a scream. Wish we could have stayed longer , but sadly all good things come to an end. Start saving for the next time, and where will we be staying ? the Enclave of course silly. xx

Room Tip: Ask for a room in block 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are thrilled you had an excellent vacation with us! Our staff will also be happy to hear how much you enjoyed their services. Thank you for writing a review for our property, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here in September for 2weeks, knowing what to expect as we'd stayed here on our first visit to Orlando 8years ago! However the hotel is currently being renovated, and most of the rooms have been done up with new kitchens and wooden floors, so even better than we remembered! The hotel is situated literally around the corner (within walking distance) from Wet&Wild and Universal Studios, and as it sits on International Drive, there are many restaurants nearby (TGI Fridays directly opposite, and chillis next door!). We'd a car rental too, and the hotel was a 15minute drive to the Disneyworld parks and Downtown Disney. They also provided shuttle bus services to and from all the theme parks in the area. There is also a Pizza Hut in the hotel, handy for the night we arrived and were too tired to go out! In previous years we have stayed in villas when we visited Florida, but purely based on the location of this hotel, I'd rather stay here again as you don't even need a car to see all the sights!

Room Tip: Obviously the newly renovated rooms are nicer, but in time all the rooms will be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a fantastic stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston. England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here in September, place had been highly recommended to us by friends and we were not disappointed. It is situated on International Drive, very handy for all the attractions. If we had the time over again we would definitely not cram so much activity at the parks in a weeks stay. We ended up wanting to spend more time around the pool, etc.... just chilling out. The suites are a little dated in areas but we were hardly there.. and when we were, the staff were on a mission to make sure every thing went well for us. The rooms are large and the beds are very clean and comfortable. The balcony is tiny but we only had a couple of drinks on it one evening.
I use a disabled scooter and the access around the building and to the pool is good. The carpark is huge, never any problems getting in and out of the place. There is a path that leads around the back of the accommodation to a lovely lake at the back. It's all very safe and fenced off. We took the children to feed the ducks and one of the chaps who was fishing gave us a great big fish to take back and cook for our tea.... it was very tasty, thank you so much.. We think he was an off duty member of staff at the hotel.
The barman at the outside patio was friendly and most helpful, we went there most evenings and he gave us some great advice, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Thanks Chris.. I want a turbo disabled scooter now..!
The breakfasts were ok, coffee was brilliant.. the staff in the cafe area were helpful and if you didn't want the 'continental' type breakfast that was included in the package we had... you could purchase a cooked one from the counter, very easy and reasonably priced.
All considered we would definitely go to the Enclave again. It is so central to everything that is going on... the staff at reception kept pointing us in the right direction for shuttles and shows etc.
THANKS EVERYONE .... WE'LL BE BACK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this wonderful and detailed review! It’s great to hear you enjoyed our convenient location, our dedicated staff, and our spacious rooms. We’ll be sure to pass along your gratitude to Chris and the rest of the staff. Again, thank you for writing this review and we hope we see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

i have just got back from a 2 week stay in the enclave hotel. first impression was the staff were very unfriendly and the reception area very small and very dated. we went to our room 1207 came out of the life and the smell was awfull mouldy damp stale smell and the carpet felt like it was squelching under foot. we opened our door and the room was small and very dated and the bathroom was more like a cupboard. the shower would never turn off so we listened to trickling water constantly even tho we had asked for it to be repaired. on asking for an ironing board ( which should of been in the room) we waited over 2 hrs it never arrived until we got home late that night. food well it was just a pizza hut thats menu consisted of 3 pizzas and some chicken not what i would call a restaurant and it was very expensive. Courtsy bus dont get me started on that the ones to seaworld and universal were free but had to be booked 24hrs in advance and to garauntee a space you had to be in reception at 7am the day before to book. they came back early so you could never stay to watch evening fireworks/parades. as for getting to disney parks same thing again but it would cost you 12 dollars each every time you went that to me is not a courtsey bus. most of the parks close late 10/11pm but the buses returned at 5/6pm,.we only had our room cleaned 3 times in 2weeks and never had clean sheets the whole time we were there. i am planning a return trip to florida with all my family but i will not be staying at the enclave hotel/suites as i think it should be called a motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at The Enclave Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. We’re sincerely sorry to hear that your trip did not go as planned. We will be sure to share your feedback with the appropriate departments for improvements. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and we hope that you might consider giving us another chance to show you better hospitality on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Enclave Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Enclave Hotel & Suites

Address: 6165 Carrier Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Enclave Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious two bedroom/two bath suites and deluxe studio suites with fully equipped kitchenettes and private balconies. Located just off famous International Drive and 5 minutes to Universal Orlando. Two outdoor pools plus an indoor heated pool & spa. Free continental breakfast and shuttle to Universal and Sea World, small fee for Disney Shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Enclave Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Enclave Hotel And Suites
The Enclave Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Enclave Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.