We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary, Queen of the Universe Shrine

Mary, Queen of the Universe Shrine
8300 Vineland Ave., International drive, Orlando, FL 32821
407-239-6600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 85 Attractions in Orlando
Type: Religious Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Catholic church built in the 1980s so that the large number of visitors to the Orlando region would have a place to attend church.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

A must see! Also check out the gift shop. I always stop here when I go to Disney.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    106
    21
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A quiet, serene, yet modern Catholic shrine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I was surprised by the modern facade of the shrine, which the term suggested a historical feel. It's extremely clean, well maintained, and left a lasting impression on me when I attended the Sunday Mass in the midst of my short stay in Orlando. The church book shop is well-stocked with authentic religious items unique to Orlando.

Any Catholic tourism seeking a moment of peace in festive Orlando should not miss visiting this shrine.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful Catholic Basilica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

It's always a pleasure to attend mass at Mary, Queen of the Universe Shrine.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago il
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful option for mass for Catholic visitors to Orlando.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

It is a beautiful church and grounds. I hate to call a church an attraction but it is a great option for mass for Catholic visitors to the Orlando area. It is not a parish but was created to serve the visitor to Orlando. Parking is ample and it is in a good location.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“amazing tranquil & serene place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

we have been going to mary queen of the universe church & shrine since it opened in the early 90s & its beautiful inside It has recently been designated a basilica and although it does not have a parish as such it is worth a visit & you will be amazed at the interior & grandeur especially the shrine to OUR LADY and marvel at the size of this church built solely on contributions of millions of holiday makers .GO AND BE AMAZED

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary, Queen of the Universe Shrine also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Mary, Queen of the Universe Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary, Queen of the Universe Shrine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.