We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First DVC Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Old Key West Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Old Key West Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Old Key West Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“First DVC Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We just bout our DVC membership January 2012 and got to finally use it. We chose this resort as the rooms have 2 queen beds versus the usual 1 queen and a hide a bed. We usually stayed at Pop Century, so to go from that to this was amazing. This resort was so quiet and relaxing and exceeded expectation's. We stayed in the Hospitality section, which I recommend as you are a short walk to the main building and amenities. We had a first floor room, so no stairs; there are only a few buildings that have elevators so if you have mobility issues definitely get ground level. The patio looked right onto the golf course, so there was no noise and allowed for sitting on the patio most evenings listening to fountains and nature.
The only down side was we were never informed that the quick serve and main pool would be closed for most of our visit. I found this out from a third party website, and when I phoned Disney they said everything was open. The main pool did open half way through our vacation and was nice to use, very family friendly. The part I didn't care for was during previous years we would go for a swim after getting back from the parks at all hours, now they closed the pools down for the night. The quick serve was a bit of a joke, it was in a food truck that didn't have anything working right, so we only ate there once.
We will definitely be back here, but not for a few years as there are so many DVC resorts to try before we start staying in the same places.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Hospitality section or convenience to the main building. Also a view of the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    510
    201
    66
    32
See reviews for
1,109
200
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

On our first experience we were a little hesitant. We had read a few reviews that were unpleasant. We went, we saw, we were happy. Second experience, we went, we saw, we were happy again. The rooms were cleaned daily, Housekeeping used the kids toys to build something unexpected each day so it was exciting for the kids. My big thing is the floor being clean (have a 17 month old) and I had no dirty socks. (Saw housekeeping with carpet cleaners driving around). I don’t mind walking around and this is a great place to be able to walk. The only thing I saw as a drawback was the lack of elevators for luggage. Dragging luggage up and down stairs can be a little precarious, the only slight drawback but nothing to ding a place on. The place is over 20 years old, it is showing its age but they are upgrading/updating everything (hotels and parks alike).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Disney's Old Key West has certainly undergone some lovely interior updates. This was our first time staying since the new updates were completed and we were pleasantly surprised. The kitchen's have new granite countertops, new paint job and the flooring is a very real wood-looking laminate, easy to maintain! We have always enjoyed the spaciousness of the villas at this property. Being the first built of the Vacation Club Villas they are much larger than any of the others. And I'm talking quite a difference, with the biggest change in the huge living/dining room area and spacious kitchen plus large covered balcony. If it's space you like when travelling with your family these villas are easily the largest of any Disney property! The location is interesting as well because you are a very short Disney bus ride to Magic Kingdom, Epcot and Hollywood Studios and Downtown Disney is just a short boat trip away. It's always fun to travel by Disney boat and oh so convenient! Our only problem was the quick service breakfast which really we couldn't eat and had to throw out. The food was okay at Olivia's but we didn't enjoy it as much as we do the other Disney restaurants.

Room Tip: Request a canal view to watch the Disney boats from your balcony travelling to Downtown Disney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at this resort several times, I never know what to expect from the experience. Usually there are some challenges encountered in the stay but this time just getting into the room was a challenge when some genius decided to roll out the Disney "magic bands" instead of using keys to get in the door to the villa. The bands did not work for the other couple of our party so they couldn't get into the room at all. We were pleasantly surprised to see the living room renovated but the master bath was, unfortunately, showing the most age as I have seen in many of the Old Key West units, despite the fact that the maintenance fees for this timeshare property go up every year. You would think for these prices, someone would bother to inspect and fix the corroded areas in the shower.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Loved staying here. Rooms are spacious and awesome. Clean. Lots to do on property day and night. Even a campfire with smores. We had a 2 bedroom villa for the 5 of us. No one is in each others way. Transportation to main building every couple of minutes.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We are members of the Disney Vacation Club and have stayed in several Disney resorts over the years. This one is on par with the other resorts we have stayed in, including Animal Kingdom and Saratoga Springs. The rooms and grounds are quiet and there are areas with playgrounds nearby. So if you have kids, try for something close to them. Our room looked out onto part of the golf course. We don't play golf, but this resort would definitely be a good option for golfers. We had a one-bedroom unit that had a full kitchen, full bathroom, a whirlpool tub, washer/dryer and two tv's. More than enough room for 2 people. There is a gorgeous pool area near the hospitality house, an area for an evening fire pit, night time move theater, volleyball area, tennis courts, walking/jogging trail, bike rental and more that we probably didn't know about. Of course, easy access to transportation to all the parks. The resort is on par with other 5 star resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to transportation. You can easily do 5-7 miles in a day. Getting off at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I would highly recommend Disney's Old Key West Resort if planning a visit to Disney. We visited with all our family. There were some glitches-children having to share beds (which we had not expected), the café by the pool being somewhat slow and chaotic, but aside from that facilities are great, apartments very comfortable and clean, great and regular bus service to all Disney resorts. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. I haven't visited any of the other Disney resorts in Orlando, so I can't compare this one to them, but I would certainly say Old Key West Resort is a great place to stay if visiting Disney.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#66 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#70 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Old Key West Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.