We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, everything you could ask for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Old Key West Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Old Key West Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Old Key West Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, everything you could ask for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just stayed at Disney,s Old Key West resort. The villa we stayed in was beautiful, a great size boasting kitchen, including dish washer. Washing machine and dryer and the biggest Jacuzzi bath. The complex was spot on, the staff so helpful, especially ken at Olivia,s restaurant. We took our 2 boys 14yrs, who just loved spending time at the main pool area. I highly recommend you get the disney dining plan, it will save you a fortune! The complex is near to all the parks and the bus service is excellent. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    510
    201
    66
    32
See reviews for
1,109
200
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks, it's a large resort with a main pool, and a couple of smaller pools dotted around. It is a nice quiet resort, it does not feel overcrowded at all.

There is a no towel on beds policy, and you are provided with clean towels throughout the day, really no need to take your own.

Olivia's restaurant is lovely, large meals and friendly staff. The quick service food is a bit
boring and not the best to be honest, and the drinks machine gets sticky and messy so full of wasps, I know this cant be helped, but maybe a bug attracter may take the wasps away a bit.

There is a games room with staff, with a tv for the kids to watch games, drawing, games, ideal for when the storms hit! The only thing that would have been nice is a kids club, it's a full on holiday and two hours rest would have been nice I guess.

We loved it overall and I would definitely stay at this resort again in a flash!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

As Disney Vacation Club Members for over 10 years, we've had the chance to spend time at a number of the DVC resorts, including Old Key West. This most recent visit to Old Key West was generally a positive experience, but we were disappointed in the condition of our room. Here are a list of issues we had with the room:

- Carpet tacks coming through the carpeting, on which a number of us stepped on. We had to lay a towel over the area transitioning from the bedroom to the bathtub so we could avoid further cuts on our feet.
- The TV cabinet doors in the living room were not attached to the unit and fell to the floor when we opened them up.
- The DVD player did not have a remote, so if a movie got held up or we needed to pause, the movie would go back to the beginning, and the only way to get back to the spot we left off was to run the movie through to that part. The DVD unit itself had only stop / play, on/off and eject buttons, so without a remote there was not way to move to specific scenes, etc.
- The matress on the pull-out couch was way beyond it's years. Our 12-year old commented that the mattress is "sad". It was completely sunken in the middle, and was definitely not suitable for an adult. We were able to get by with this only because our kids slept here, but even they were not completely comfortable.
- Lastly, the table just off the kitchen area was full of scratches and the pull-out chair had several noticable and pretty sizeable stains on it.

While we love the resort, especially its laid-back vibe and the overall beauty of the buildings, landscaping and overall layout, the issues above are definite cause for us to think twice before we come back. Next time, we'll simply demand another room after an initial inspection. The condition of the room was especially disappointing considering that the rooms had apparently been refurbished in recent years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have faithfully been visiting Disney World since 1998. We never bought into DVC because of our daughters' college expenses.

August 2013 was our first stay at Old Key West, but it will NOT be our last. This resort is breathtaking!! The landscaping is mature and gorgeous, the river, the pools, the golf course, the walkways...all wonderful.

The staff was ALWAYS helpful, fun and curteous.

Our studio room was huge! It was beautiful and private. We were without a car, so we had requested a room near the front desk. Amazing! Easy to get a bus, go to the pool, visit the store, catch the boat.

We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 20 night stay at Old Key West we had a wonderful time and loved staying here for the first time. We had a studio and this was so spacious compared to other resort rooms. I was concerned about the bus service after reading other reviews but they were great we mostly waited a maximum of 5-10 minutes if that and the buses always had seats free. You do have to allow for the bus to go around the resort (we were at Turtle Pond) but we didn't find this a problem. A food court would be nice but it wouldn't make me decide stay elsewhere. Also it would be nice to have refill stations for your resort mugs around the resort as it is a long way to the hospitality area and the pool bar closed at 5.00pm. All in all we had a great holiday and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor near a roundabout, near a bus stop in a corner of block 36 and loved the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This stay was perfect, check in was a breeze. Room was execptional with a view of golf course. Transportation was great to get around on resort property or even to get to parks or Down Town Disney. Cast members went out of way to take care of all needs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Having previously stayed at the gorgeous Disney Beach Club, we really wanted to experience another Disney resort. Old Key West was being offered in the UK with a 35% discount and free Disney Dining, a very hard offer to refuse so we booked to stay for 3 weeks! We arrived at 9pm and after a long haul flight it was lovely to be greeted by that familiar Disney welcome. Check in was smooth and we were taken on a golf cart to our block. Our room 4321 in Turtle Pond was a 1 bedroom villa. It was a perfect location, directly opposite the Turtle Pond snack bar and pool and next to the bus stop. The villa was spacious and Old Key West have the largest 1 bed villas on Disney property. As a family of 4 adults, 2 had the master bedroom and 2 had the sofa and chair beds. The kitchen was very well equipped with a microwave, dishwasher, oven, fridge freezer, excellent for freezing bottles of water to take to the parks! If you love tea like me then ask for a tea kettle in your room. The bathroom areas have a large shower, 2 sinks and a jacuzzi bath. We had a room with 2 access doors to the bathroom, which means you don't have to always go through the master bedroom to use the bathroom. The laundry room with a washer and dryer is such a bonus too. We had the top floor as so had a large hexagon shaped balcony that looked out onto a lake, although the view was obscured by trees. The villa was the perfect size for us but the interior does seem a little tired. Simple things like stains of the upholstery of the chairs, dirty balcony furniture and a cracked window in the bathroom don't really match up to the 'deluxe' label of this resort, I know they're fairly minor points but those kinds of things really notice in what is essentially a very lovely resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#66 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#70 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Old Key West Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.