We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some positives & negatives.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Old Key West Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Old Key West Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Old Key West Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-1000   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Some positives & negatives.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice, clean condo type room. Very convenient to have nice kitchen and laundry (detergent for a load included). The bathroom was a little dated looking, not super clean on appearance but the huge tub was fantastic for the kids. The negatives for us were - no room service or convenient restaurant to get snacks or milk for the kids and the pullout couch was old & dilapidated (kids slept on chairs pushed together instead).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    455
    185
    61
    28
See reviews for
1,013
189
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Buena Vista
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here with my four children and having been to Disney four times before wish that I had found this hotel a long time ago

The service and the staff were all amazing nothing was too much trouble and the position is fantastic we hired a car but found using the courtesy buses was so much easier so next time I won't be hiring a car but I will definitely be staying at Old Key West again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is one of our families favorite. We have stayed at a few of the vacation homes being that we are a Disney Vacation club member. The 2 bedroom was very nice and clean. We also stayed recently in a 3 bedroom. I loved the lay out and the view of the golf course it is one of the quieter resorts. As for the room. I would have expected it to be spotless for the amount of money we had spent. The master bathroom was extremely small and was very hard to move in. Other than that it was a pleasure to come back to the room and relax after a busy day at the parks. The pool they have is nice too. The main pool has a slide and life guard and the smaller pool was a nice addition too"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Old Key West in a one bedroom villa. No parks. No shopping. No activities off property. Just 48 hours spent at Old Key West. I've been on this property to eat at Olivia's before, but had never ventured past the restaurant and was extremely excited to get the chance. We checked in around 1pm, unfortunately the room was not quite ready, not that we expected it to be. We spent that time doing a little exploring and by 1:45 I received the text informing us that our room was ready. It's just a small thing, but the fact that they give you your room keys even if your room isn't ready and just text the room number to you when it's ready rather than having to go back to the front desk is fantastic. The room was well cleaned and, based off the pictures we saw, was exactly what we expected. The only problem we noticed is that mosquitoes were in the room. We knew that had to just be from the past guest leaving the patio door open (as we confirmed later when we caught ourselves doing it). Speaking of which, the balcony was big and a had a great view of a pond and the golf course, it was quite possibly my favorite part of the entire stay. As many have stated these are the largest villas on Disney property and they show. The one bedroom Villa at OKW looked as if it was about the size of a two bedroom at any other resort. That jacuzzi tub they have is fantastic, comfortably fits two people and probably a medium sized dog too. The beds weren't great, basically felt like the ones at the Polynesian, so not too bad. We used two of the pools they had on property (the main pool and a leisure pool). Rather than just sitting in the pool I took advantage of the water slide in the main pool, it was slightly crowded but still enjoyable. The leisure pool was empty and even more enjoyable and it had a hot tub, which would have been great if we didn't already have the jacuzzi in our room. Something I've done at this resort that I have never done before is take advantage of the community hall. We rented a few board games and movies and also played some shuffle board. I never realized how great of an amenity community hall is to Disney resorts until now. Let me give a quick shoutout to the cast member at the OKW community hall, they were some of the nicest CM's I've ever had the pleasure of speaking with. This resort is very large, spread out, and well themed to it's "Key West" name. I enjoyed this resort thoroughly from check-in to check-out. I am a huge Polynesian fan, but Old Key West truly gives the Poly a run for it's money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

First timers to Disney, chose this on the basis of review of big comfortable rooms. 2 bed villa was perfect and spacious. Resort very pretty, but spread out, so check on arrival what you have been allocated, and if there are options. I followed review advice, and phoned ahead with block preferences. What I didn't realise, is some blocks are only for DVC members, and all the blocks I'd chosen were 'out of bounds'. Ended up with beautiful water views instead, which we actually enjoyed more. Waterboat to Downtown Disney really nice. Boat rental options also good. Bus service always efficient; I was worried in case they would be crowded for Spring Break but there was always lots of space. If you like 'pretty' resorts with swaying foliage, golf and water views, this is a really peaceful base.

Room Tip: Water or golf views both nice open vistas. Avoid being too close to the highway for noise. The resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As a long time member of Disney's Vacation Club I have stayed here many times in the one bedroom unit which is quite spacious with large balconies and in suite laundry. We chose the Studio unit this time with elevator access. We found the balcony to be very dirty and so small it was useless. The unit has 2 queen beds. A small table and two chairs. It is not suitable for four people. We found it very small for just two of us . The little kitchenette was convenient.
There is no other furniture or place to sit. Not suitable for a long stay. We did find the laundry room by the pool convenient. There is no charge for the washer and dryer only for soap. We also found out that only this resorts studios are set up this way. we were told that all other DVC studios have a queen bed and pull out couch. The resort is lovely, staff fantastic, A great place for a vacation.

Room Tip: Get rooms close to pool areas. This is a very large resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

One of the 2 least expensive DIsney Vacation Club properties to say at. Reservation always ready for check in and literally every time a specific building is requested - it is honored. The rooms for sleeping are large, the bathrooms are always clean, fresh and well maintained. The "living area" with the kitchen is plenty large enough to accomadate our family. The internet service is as needed and the Disney transportation system is a real asset. The ability to take a boat to Downtown is a real benefit.

Room Tip: Building 46 is a choice for us - close to a DIsney bus stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-1000
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#53 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#61 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Old Key West Resort is a 761-room Resort that conjures up the leisurely romance of the Florida Keys. Discover the tranquil community of Conch Flats—an island hamlet of brilliant green landscapes, pastel-colored Victorian architecture and ornate gingerbread accents. Nestled among swaying palm trees, shimmering waterways and the lush golf fairways of the Lake Buena Vista Golf Course, the Resort's Guest rooms include studio, one-bedroom, 2-bedroom and 3-bedroom Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Old Key West Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.