We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, accommodation, service...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Old Key West Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Old Key West Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-1000   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Perfect location, accommodation, service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at Disney's Old Key West from November 14th to 21st. We were very happy with everything about this resort. From the moment we arrived on the Magical Express to the moment we left the service was excellent. The villa was perfect for us and and our two adult children. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained.

Transportation - We had no problem with the bus service to and from the Disney theme parks. We normally waited only 5 minutes with the longest wait on one occasion being 15 minutes and that was because the driver was transporting someone in a motorized scooter from an earlier stop which had to be secured within the bus. Some reviews have complained that it takes a long time to arrive at the theme parks when utilizing the bus service, however, I think if you were driving on your own you would find that once you drive, park and then take a shuttle from the parking lot to the front gate, there would not be that much time savings. Magical Express is free to and from the airport and is a great option for those not wanting to bother renting a car.

Villas - We booked a one bedroom villa which was perfect for four adults. The unit was very spacious and had everything we needed if we wanted to cook in the unit. It was equipped with all of the necessary dishes and cooking utensils as well as being provided with paper towels, dish and dishwasher soap, coffee, tea, sugar, laundry detergent, etc. As far as the washroom is concerned there are two separate areas - one with a sink and jacuzzi tub, and one with a sink, shower and toilet. You can request a bathroom with two separate entrances to the toilet area so you do not have to go through the bedroom to access it. From what I understand, these are in buildings 30 and higher. I contacted the resort directly prior to our arrival and requested a villa on the top floor with a second entrance to the bathroom and was accommodated no problem.

Restaurant - We went to Olivia's for dinner twice and found the food and service to be excellent. We dined at several different sit-down restaurants within the parks and found Olivia's to be more reasonably priced. There is also a bar and take-out style restaurant along the boardwalk at the resort which also provided us with great service.

We ordered groceries in advance on-line from gardengrocer.com. This turned out to be excellent as we had taken advantage of the Magical Express and did not have a rental car. We ordered mainly breakfast foods along with a few lunch and snacks items. We also ordered beer and wine which was nice to have after a long day at the parks. They deliver right to the resort and should your order arrive before you, bell services will keep it in a secure area and refrigerate any perishables in their fridge for you.

We loved the ferry service which you can get right from this resort to Downtown Disney.

We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub located in the Turtle Pond area where there is a snack bar. There is also a main pool with activities located near the Hospitality House and two other pools within the resort.

All in all, we had a great stay at this resort and would definitely stay here again. We would highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: 1 Bedroom Units in buildings 30 and higher have two accesses to the bathroom - one through the bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    412
    170
    56
    26
See reviews for
928
168
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Suburbs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I know Disney, not your typical Bachelorette weekend, but that is where she wanted to go! We had a great time. The resort it self is very spread out and have buses that pick up at four different locations on property. Comes every 15 minutes or so. Ate breakfast ever morning at the quick service (oatmeal and OJ) and used the workout room. Machines are good shape, musty, but hey it is Orlando. Transportation to the all four parks and DD was great. We were picked up by the Magical Express (best thing ever) and didn’t have to worry about our luggage. The decor of the rooms, bathrooms, was a little warn down. I know it is an older resort. We had 9 girls in one room, and it was just the right size. I ended up on the pull out couch, best pull out I have ever slept on. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

When we first pulled in we were pleased with outward appearance of the resort. Once we received our first room we were completely turned off by this resort. We were given a studio in building 26 and when we opened the door we were greeted with an odor that was straight out of a men's locker room after a football game in early August. We looked the room over found it was clean there was nothing left in the room to cause the odor except the room itself. We asked to be moved and they did accommodate and upgraded us but this just was not a way to welcome you home with your first visit to this resort. Olivia's cafe has good food however is a bit overpriced even for Disney. It is a walk to many of the bus stops and or pools. We did have a car so traveling to other resorts/parks was not a major issue. If you do stay at this resort have a car as it is much easier to get to and from places at Disney without waits or long walks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

...because I'm afraid too many people will find out how wonderful OKW is! This was only our second trip to Disney as a family. Our kids are 4 and 6. I found a service for renting vacation club timeshare points, and ended up paying just a little more for a studio villa than a value room would have cost. WOW. I am so glad we did! The resort is beautiful and, yes, huge. Our villa was in building 29, just across the canal from the hospitality house (why is there no footbridge?) and very close to the first bus stop. We drove to Orlando, so we used our own vehicle for most of our traveling, but we did use the bus a couple of times. We found that it was really more efficient to walk to the hospitality house (last stop @ resort) to catch the bus, avoiding the 20-minute trip around the resort. Our villa was beautiful. We had two very comfortable queen-sized beds (not full-sized!). The kitchenette area had a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee pot. I took an electric kettle, and we had everything we could possibly need! There were paper plates and bowls, plastic utensils, real glasses and mugs, a can opener, and a corkscrew provided, along with coffee-prep items. The room was fairly spacious (I hear they're the biggest ones at Disney) and the bathroom was also large. The water pressure in the shower - adjustable pan-shaped shower head - was beautiful. Our balcony had a view of trees and the central unit, but we didn't care. It was neat just to have the little outdoor space. We actually spent 2 of our 7 days hanging around the resort instead of going to parks. The kids had a blast at the scheduled activities and in the heated pool. They even got to play video games for a few minutes at the community hall. We ate breakfast at Good's several times. Great croissant sandwiches! We didn't get to eat at Olivia's. I used the laundry facilities one day. I went in expecting coin-op, but was pleasantly surprised to find the machines were free to use. All in all, even with the laundry day, this may have been the most relaxing vacation I've ever had, and I feel like a large part of that is directly attributable to Old Key West. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

this is our fourth year visiting old key west in october and our eighth to disney world we would not stay anywhere else it is brilliant weve had a two bed and a one bed both huge and spotless, staff are over accomodating and anything u need is met almost immediatly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Old Key West is very laic back for being a Deluxe resort. There are 4 pools to choose from. They have a small quick service restaurant at at least 2 of the pools. Otherwise dining is sit down table service at Olivia. They have a pier with boat and small water craft available, they also have family size bikes available for rent. I was very impressed with the room size, they weren't lying when they said these are the largest square footage of all the resorts. Our room was on the 6 th hole of the golf course which was pretty cool. The only downfall is the resort is very large so you may have to catch a bus to get to the main pool/ shopping area if your in one of the further sections. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was my first time at Old Key West, and we were only here for one night before moving to Saratoga Springs. As a result, we did not have the opportunity to check out all of the features of the resort. However, our experience was a mixed bag of good and bad.

On the positive side, the resort is beautiful. It would be very easy to forget that you are staying on Disney property. The rooms are spacious, with the largest square footage in each room class of any Disney resort. We stayed in a studio, and it provided plenty of space for the 3 adults and 2 kids (3 and 16 months) in our party.

We had two issues. The first is that compared to other Disney resorts, the bus system is slow. This is because the resort is set up more along the lines of a hub-and-spoke system rather than a loop. As a result, the buses spend a long time driving around the resort between stops. Add the comparatively long time you spend on the bus within the resort to the long rides to Magic Kingdom and Animal Kingdom, and it just felt like the bus rides took forever, even compared to Saratoga Springs, which is adjacent. I'm afraid that the bus rides would have become maddening to me if we had spent our entire stay here. The second issue we had was that we had some significant issues with bell services. We used Disney's Magical Express from the airport to the resort, and we used their luggage service to deliver our checked luggage. They say that you will have your luggage within 3 hours after check-in. In all of the times we've used the service, we have never had to wait that long, and on one occasion our bags actually beat us to our room. This time, it took 5 hours for our bags to show up. We had to make 3 calls to bell services (all after the 3-hour window) before someone finally brought our bags. We kept being told "they're on their way to your room and should be there any minute," which obviously wasn't true. We lost of couple of hours of Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party because Old Key West's bell services couldn't meet Disney's standards for delivering our bags. It was very frustrating.

There are some great things about Old Key West, but there are some downsides as well. I have the feeling that we will stay elsewhere on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-1000
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#63 Family Hotel in Orlando
#75 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Old Key West Resort is a 761-room Resort that conjures up the leisurely romance of the Florida Keys. Discover the tranquil community of Conch Flats—an island hamlet of brilliant green landscapes, pastel-colored Victorian architecture and ornate gingerbread accents. Nestled among swaying palm trees, shimmering waterways and the lush golf fairways of the Lake Buena Vista Golf Course, the Resort's Guest rooms include studio, one-bedroom, 2-bedroom and 3-bedroom Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Old Key West Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.