We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Old Key West Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Old Key West Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Old Key West Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-1000   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Dates of travel: November 3-10, 2012.
Room number: 3214.

I'm a travel agent located in Pennsylvania who recently traveled to Disney World. With 9 people in our party, our obvious choice was a 2 bedroom villa. We decided on Old Key West for a number of reasons - some of the largest rooms on Disney property, quiet and my husband's family used to own Disney Vacation Club and their home resort was OKW.

We arrived on Saturday around 12pm and it was busy at check-in. We were taken care of in a few minutes, though, but told our room was not ready. I had a few requests on my reservation, namely a room on the first floor, close to a bus stop and a dedicated 2 bedroom unit. When our room was finally ready, we were happy to see all of our requests were taken care of!

The 2 bedroom villa is HUGE with plenty of room to spread out. The dedicated 2 bedroom villa simply means the second bedroom with 2 queen beds has a sink outside of the bathroom instead of a kitchenette. Again, with 9 people we decided it was better to have more sink/mirror space to get ready in the mornings. The master bathroom was probably the largest bathroom I've ever seen in a hotel. We loved it!

It was very convenient having the full kitchen as well. We ate breakfast in the villa and even cooked a few dinners. It definitely cut down our overall cost of food. It was stocked with all of the plates, cups, flatware, etc. Another great benefit is the washer/dryer!

Thankfully we were a few steps away from the bus stop. I've heard some complaints that it can be loud next to a bus stop, but we did not have this problem at all. In fact we didn't hear anything while in our villa. It was like we weren't even on Disney property at all, it's that quiet!

The ONLY problem I had (and I couldn't drop the hotel in rating because of it because it's a Disney-thing, not a hotel-thing) Is the bus service. We really didn't have to wait more than 5-10 minutes for a bus, but it's a looong way from the hotel to the theme parks. This has been a common issue with almost every hotel that's either not on the monorail loop or behind Epcot.

We are planning a trip next year for the same week but are looking to possibly try out another DVC property. But if all else fails, I (and the rest of my family!) would return to OKW in a heat beat. Don't hesitate to book this property!

Room Tip: Make sure to request your room preferences ahead of time. We requested a room on the bottom floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    457
    186
    61
    28
See reviews for
1,015
190
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We chose to stay here for a week long extended family vacation in October 2012. Our party consisted of one family with 2 small children (4 and 5 yrs), one set of grandparents, and one couple without kids. These condo-style units were LARGE, and very nicely furnished. We were very comfortable, and could do laundry in the in-room washer and dryer (they even brought detergent with daily room cleaning). I was worried when I booked because the photos on Disney's website make the rooms look a big outdated, but that was not the case at all. This is a huge resort, but it has a nice quiet ambiance with plenty of fun things to do with the kids 'at home'.

Room Tip: worth it to get a room with a washer and dryer (2 bedroom +)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I originally booked a studio for just myself and my husband for 10 nights. We ended up being joined by my two teenage sons so space was a bit tight as we are used to staying in condos or villas. These studios have recently been re-furbed and whilst the decoration and soft furnishings were new the rest of it was still a little tatty. Nothing major but a few chunks out of furniture and scuff marks on the walls. The bathroom looked a bit grubby in places. I wouldnt pay full price to stay here (Disney class it as deluxe, l wouldnt). Overall the resort is lovely, very large and if you arent by the main area and dont have a car the walk can be very long. There are a number of pools which were lovely and warm. All the staff were excellent and we enjoyed catching the boat to Downtown Disney. The fast food outlet is very themepark quality but the main resturant was quite acceptable. There were also a number of activities for the kids.I would stay again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Request a room near to receiption if you dont have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom vacation home. It was very spacious and well appointed with a full kitchen, sleeper sofa and sleeper chair. King bed with a jacuzzi tub in the master suite, 2 queens in the second bedroom and a full laundry room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As a Disney Vacation Club member for over 10 years, our hotel of choice is usually the Boardwalk.
Because of EPCOT's Food and Wine festival, it was not available for the number of nights we requested. We chose OKW as we had stayed there when my now teenage kids were younger.
We were lucky to have left our devastation in NY after Sandy (the trip was planned in advance) and walked into our huge two bedroom with heat, hot water, and electricity (TV and internet as well!) We felt truly spoiled.
The room was not close to the hospitality house. That did not matter to us as we had rented a car. We loved the convenience of driving up to our room, which was located, at our request, on the first floor. I would recommend a higher floor to those of you who might not want to hear people above you, as only the bedrooms are carpeted.
We were close to a bus stop, which was easy when we decided to split up our daily activities.
Room was extremely spacious. It can probably accommodate up to 8 people and we were only 4. Everything was neat, clean, and in working order. Patio overlooked a lake with a fountain and was nice to sit with a cup of morning coffee.
Our plans for March are for the Boardwalk, but I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are with a larger group, have a car, or want a relaxing, peaceful resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

2 adults 2 girls 9yrs 7 yrs their first Florida trip. On friends advice paid the fairly hefty upgrade for 1 bed apartment. Soo glad it was bliss. Washing machine/ dryer so useful . Large jacuzzi bath just the trick for aching feet. Beds even sofabed v comfy .We had a car so didn't mind where it was but glad we asked for high floor, v quiet. Tried to phone hotel for room choice few weeks before but they couldn't help said only via your travel agent unless you booked directly with hotel. The place is huge can see why those rooms close to reception highly prized . Was worried it might not feel disney went mainly for the free dining . However we went to numerous disney hotels for dining and to use their quick service restaurants for a change ALL of us agreed we preferred ours for its less hectic , friendly and very pretty setting.
For us disney dining was part of the fun but I spend hours researching the numerous restaurants beforehand and booked within a few days of the allowed 180 days. Tried to change nearer the time but no availability so stuck with plan . We were somewhat ruled by our dining reservations first week but the likes of Fulton crab, flying fish and royal castle meant it was well worth it . Having run out of table service by end of 2nd week we had plenty( in fact didn't use all since they were often v large and easy to get 1 adult and use for 2 kids . They don't check at the moment if its adult or child meal for counter service.) counter services to use for dinner this meant we could be more flexible by then . If you are planning to eat at different hotels best to have hire car other ways have to travel to a park and get bus to hotel from there . Do able but suspect time consuming . Was the driest holiday my husband and I have had for years due to this and the cost of a glass of wine ! Helped keep the weight down since the desserts especially key lime pie were often delicious . Strange that it seemed cocktails often cheaper than a glass of wine in Florida .
Used the magic hours especially the late ones a lot spend the days seeing shows and quieter rides and i went to outlets while others went to disney quest or water park . Most we ever Queued was 30mins this way. Gutted they are reducing the magic hours next year .
Hotel v well positioned for parks and v close to downtown disney nice to get a boat there . Halloween day saw free activities most if day at hotel great for us to have a chilling day by the pool . thought they were going to burst with joy at the amount of American candy they were given at the trick and treat stations .
As you can probably tell we had a ball, have already but deposit for same type room at this hotel next oct .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Staying here is like a home away from home. It is super clean, spacious and in the middle of anywhere you need to get too. The pools are amazing and lots to do with kids and teens. I recommend this resort to everyone :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-1000
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#52 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#62 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Old Key West Resort is a 761-room Resort that conjures up the leisurely romance of the Florida Keys. Discover the tranquil community of Conch Flats—an island hamlet of brilliant green landscapes, pastel-colored Victorian architecture and ornate gingerbread accents. Nestled among swaying palm trees, shimmering waterways and the lush golf fairways of the Lake Buena Vista Golf Course, the Resort's Guest rooms include studio, one-bedroom, 2-bedroom and 3-bedroom Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Old Key West Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.