We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Old Key West Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Old Key West Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-1000   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Marmora, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom vacation home. It was very spacious and well appointed with a full kitchen, sleeper sofa and sleeper chair. King bed with a jacuzzi tub in the master suite, 2 queens in the second bedroom and a full laundry room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    428
    173
    56
    26
See reviews for
960
171
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As a Disney Vacation Club member for over 10 years, our hotel of choice is usually the Boardwalk.
Because of EPCOT's Food and Wine festival, it was not available for the number of nights we requested. We chose OKW as we had stayed there when my now teenage kids were younger.
We were lucky to have left our devastation in NY after Sandy (the trip was planned in advance) and walked into our huge two bedroom with heat, hot water, and electricity (TV and internet as well!) We felt truly spoiled.
The room was not close to the hospitality house. That did not matter to us as we had rented a car. We loved the convenience of driving up to our room, which was located, at our request, on the first floor. I would recommend a higher floor to those of you who might not want to hear people above you, as only the bedrooms are carpeted.
We were close to a bus stop, which was easy when we decided to split up our daily activities.
Room was extremely spacious. It can probably accommodate up to 8 people and we were only 4. Everything was neat, clean, and in working order. Patio overlooked a lake with a fountain and was nice to sit with a cup of morning coffee.
Our plans for March are for the Boardwalk, but I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are with a larger group, have a car, or want a relaxing, peaceful resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

2 adults 2 girls 9yrs 7 yrs their first Florida trip. On friends advice paid the fairly hefty upgrade for 1 bed apartment. Soo glad it was bliss. Washing machine/ dryer so useful . Large jacuzzi bath just the trick for aching feet. Beds even sofabed v comfy .We had a car so didn't mind where it was but glad we asked for high floor, v quiet. Tried to phone hotel for room choice few weeks before but they couldn't help said only via your travel agent unless you booked directly with hotel. The place is huge can see why those rooms close to reception highly prized . Was worried it might not feel disney went mainly for the free dining . However we went to numerous disney hotels for dining and to use their quick service restaurants for a change ALL of us agreed we preferred ours for its less hectic , friendly and very pretty setting.
For us disney dining was part of the fun but I spend hours researching the numerous restaurants beforehand and booked within a few days of the allowed 180 days. Tried to change nearer the time but no availability so stuck with plan . We were somewhat ruled by our dining reservations first week but the likes of Fulton crab, flying fish and royal castle meant it was well worth it . Having run out of table service by end of 2nd week we had plenty( in fact didn't use all since they were often v large and easy to get 1 adult and use for 2 kids . They don't check at the moment if its adult or child meal for counter service.) counter services to use for dinner this meant we could be more flexible by then . If you are planning to eat at different hotels best to have hire car other ways have to travel to a park and get bus to hotel from there . Do able but suspect time consuming . Was the driest holiday my husband and I have had for years due to this and the cost of a glass of wine ! Helped keep the weight down since the desserts especially key lime pie were often delicious . Strange that it seemed cocktails often cheaper than a glass of wine in Florida .
Used the magic hours especially the late ones a lot spend the days seeing shows and quieter rides and i went to outlets while others went to disney quest or water park . Most we ever Queued was 30mins this way. Gutted they are reducing the magic hours next year .
Hotel v well positioned for parks and v close to downtown disney nice to get a boat there . Halloween day saw free activities most if day at hotel great for us to have a chilling day by the pool . thought they were going to burst with joy at the amount of American candy they were given at the trick and treat stations .
As you can probably tell we had a ball, have already but deposit for same type room at this hotel next oct .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Staying here is like a home away from home. It is super clean, spacious and in the middle of anywhere you need to get too. The pools are amazing and lots to do with kids and teens. I recommend this resort to everyone :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband, Mother-In-Law and I really enjoyed this resort. We were only able to get a one bedroom but the sofa lets out into a bed and there is a half chair that lets out into a bed. Sofa bed was very comfortable. Room was very large and roomy. Our only complaints are about the distance from rooms to the pool area. If you drive a car you are OK. However we took the Disney Magical Express bus from the airport and used the Disney buses to get to the parks. And once you get used to the bus system it is not too bad. However it is a long walk from some of the rental units to the pool so again you can either walk, drive or take one of the resorts Disney buses to the pool area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, PA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Disney's Old Key West is by far my favorite place to stay in Disneyworld. This past week, we stayed in a studio in the Turtle Pond area. It was absolutely lovely. The housekeeping staff is extremely attentive, too. Our toaster was broken and was immediately replaced. We never had a long wait for a bus to the parks--the most we waited was about 20 minutes one day. The pool and snack bar in the Turtle Pond area are great. The food at the snack bar was fresh, and the pool was never crowded. Hope to return in the spring!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have used our DVC points on 5 different resorts now. While we love Animal Kingdom Lodge and Bay Lake Tower, we would easily stay at Old Key West again. We had a studio on the second floor of block 28 for a one night stay. The room is spacious, very quiet and the layout is really unique and functional. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. We found it much better than the similar Saratoga Springs overall. Excellent value considering are all-in cost for the points worked out to less than $90 for the night stay.

We enjoyed the pool and the shopping, but the quick service has quite the bee problem and is rather slow! The only problem at the pool is how much you can hear the road noise (Busses) compared to a layout like Caribbean Beach Club where the road is on the other side of the main facility. I would have also expected more dining options for a resort this size.

Transportation to and from the parks was easy. We were only a 5 minute walk from the central facilities. I can imagine it being a bit of a pain if you are further away. The grounds are well taken care of and the transportation to downtown disney on the canal is a perfect cruise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-1000
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#60 Family Hotel in Orlando
#66 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Old Key West Resort is a 761-room Resort that conjures up the leisurely romance of the Florida Keys. Discover the tranquil community of Conch Flats—an island hamlet of brilliant green landscapes, pastel-colored Victorian architecture and ornate gingerbread accents. Nestled among swaying palm trees, shimmering waterways and the lush golf fairways of the Lake Buena Vista Golf Course, the Resort's Guest rooms include studio, one-bedroom, 2-bedroom and 3-bedroom Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Old Key West Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.