We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney's Old Key West Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Old Key West Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Old Key West Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-1000   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disney's Old Key West Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband, Mother-In-Law and I really enjoyed this resort. We were only able to get a one bedroom but the sofa lets out into a bed and there is a half chair that lets out into a bed. Sofa bed was very comfortable. Room was very large and roomy. Our only complaints are about the distance from rooms to the pool area. If you drive a car you are OK. However we took the Disney Magical Express bus from the airport and used the Disney buses to get to the parks. And once you get used to the bus system it is not too bad. However it is a long walk from some of the rental units to the pool so again you can either walk, drive or take one of the resorts Disney buses to the pool area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    425
    173
    56
    26
See reviews for
955
170
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, PA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Disney's Old Key West is by far my favorite place to stay in Disneyworld. This past week, we stayed in a studio in the Turtle Pond area. It was absolutely lovely. The housekeeping staff is extremely attentive, too. Our toaster was broken and was immediately replaced. We never had a long wait for a bus to the parks--the most we waited was about 20 minutes one day. The pool and snack bar in the Turtle Pond area are great. The food at the snack bar was fresh, and the pool was never crowded. Hope to return in the spring!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have used our DVC points on 5 different resorts now. While we love Animal Kingdom Lodge and Bay Lake Tower, we would easily stay at Old Key West again. We had a studio on the second floor of block 28 for a one night stay. The room is spacious, very quiet and the layout is really unique and functional. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. We found it much better than the similar Saratoga Springs overall. Excellent value considering are all-in cost for the points worked out to less than $90 for the night stay.

We enjoyed the pool and the shopping, but the quick service has quite the bee problem and is rather slow! The only problem at the pool is how much you can hear the road noise (Busses) compared to a layout like Caribbean Beach Club where the road is on the other side of the main facility. I would have also expected more dining options for a resort this size.

Transportation to and from the parks was easy. We were only a 5 minute walk from the central facilities. I can imagine it being a bit of a pain if you are further away. The grounds are well taken care of and the transportation to downtown disney on the canal is a perfect cruise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived late (9.30pm) but had already emailed a few weeks earlier to request a quiet location on a higher floor. We know that this is request only, but were put in a really dingy, musty room on the ground floor backing onto the main road (block 14 - avoid!). I complained as we'd paid a lot of money for this accommodation but was told they were full (really?) but that we could move the next day which we did to block 18 unit 34 which was perfect (one bed condo) but a bit of a pain having to pack again and wait until 4pm for this to be ready.
Block 18 was fairly close to hospitality house - five minutes walk and had lovely views over the golf course and two lakes. It was light and airy. Only problem was a large cockroach we managed to capture on the first night! Didn't see any after that. Large kitchen and bathroom, laundry room and you could ask for a tea kettle (good for us Brits!). We didn't spend that much time using the facilities as we had a busy schedule and we did our own breakfasts but Olivia's restaurant looked nice.

As others have said this is a big resort. The main pool was always busy but we used the Turtle Pond pool which was smaller and quieter with a snack bar and there was also another pool at Millers Rd.

Transport links are good - lots of buses to the parks from hospitality house and also a lovely boat trip to Downtown Disney. Shop overpriced but fairly easy to drive to I-Drive and big supermarkets.
All in all a great stay and what must surely be the biggest on site space - perfect for families.

Room Tip: Blocks 17,18 and 19 were all good and walkable to hospitality house. Avoid any blocks backing onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was our first stay at Old Key West and we LOVED the room sizes! It is more spacious than any other Disney resort we have stayed in. Also, the deck area is actually usable! It is lovely to be able to sit on the balcony and have breakfast or coffee! This was a great stay! The staff was fantastic as well. The only drawback was the lack of housekeeping, unless you request it and no room service to speak of. Not a big issue for us though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just took my first trip to WDW. I initially started to plan this trip myself, but after seeing a few deals come and go without much success navigating the system myself I ran to the professionals. Lisa's Magical Moments Vacations (website or facebook), otherwise known as Lisa Monroe, got me into Old Key West at a discount, hooked up my park tickets and patiently answered my questions...over and over again:) My son has autism and she had some really good suggestions for me as to resorts and ideas to acclimate him to the parks. I highly recommend working with her. The Disney system is so smooth! Their transportation to and from the airport and around the Disney properties was perfection and my last morning found my room checkout, Magical Express and flight vouchers all hanging on my room door. Old Key West is beautiful. Every morning I would sit out on my patio and watch the golf carts start coming in as the gold course is nestled right in the resort. Having an Aspie son, there were a few things I needed to check out...he hates bees and wasps, but I can honestly say that I only saw three bees the entire time I was there and they were hanging around the soda dispenser by the pool. The delivery pizza was very good and Olivias, the restaurant on site, has no problem with special requests. The t.v. in the room has a dvd player so you can rent or bring your own movies and you can hook up a gaming system...HUGE bonus points for a family like ours who have to split up the day and spend quite a bit of downtime in the room. Mousekeeping was perfect...no problem with requests for towels, extra coffee. It was dead quiet at night and the temp control is run by outside units so there's no noise in the room from that either. I'm hoping to return again next year. These are actually part of the Disney Vacation Club resorts, but if they don't fill up they rent them out to non-members yet I was not once badgered about joining. There's information if you want it, but only if you initiate an interest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've probably been to Old Key West 20 times. Never disappointed. I love this resort over the others because it is more apartment-like. You can drive right up to your room area, rather than walking down big long hallways. These are the largest of the Disney Vacation Club resort rooms. They are very light and airy. Beautiful views out all windows. It is very comfortable for the number of people alotted.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-1000
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#46 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#58 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Old Key West Resort is a 761-room Resort that conjures up the leisurely romance of the Florida Keys. Discover the tranquil community of Conch Flats—an island hamlet of brilliant green landscapes, pastel-colored Victorian architecture and ornate gingerbread accents. Nestled among swaying palm trees, shimmering waterways and the lush golf fairways of the Lake Buena Vista Golf Course, the Resort's Guest rooms include studio, one-bedroom, 2-bedroom and 3-bedroom Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Old Key West Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.