We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and long waits for short rides.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Walt Disney World

Walt Disney World
World Drive, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)
(407) 934-7639
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #12 of 195 attractions in Orlando
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Disney
Activities: Dining, Getting married, Golfing, Tennis, Fishing, Rock climbing, Water-skiing, Shopping, Swimming, Group tours/day tour, Driving, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This world-famous resort consists of four theme parks (Magic Kingdom, EPCOT, MGM Studios, Animal Kingdom), three water parks, more than 20 hotels, eight golf courses and a myriad of attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hyattsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Over priced and long waits for short rides.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Magic Kingdom was crowded and expensive, but you gotta take the kids at least once, right? I admit I succumbed to societal pressure to take the kids there. I haven't been in 40 years, and will never go again! The park opened at 9, and by 11 every desirable ride seemed to have an hour minimum wait, so much for getting there early. Space Mountain was more like 90-120 minute waits, and Thunder Mountain was advertised as 20, but really it was 45. I don't think the haunted mansion ride has been updated in 40 years, c'mon Disney!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,133
    1,995
    934
    487
    405
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Epcot, Animal Kingdom, and Hollywood Studios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have to disclose a bias here. I live in Nevada and have going to Disneyland in California regularly since 1968, so I cannot help but compare the two parks. By far, Epcot is the my favorite park at Disneyworld. The restaurants are impeccable. I ate at the Chefs de France and Napoli and the service, food, and wine was absolutely divine. I really wanted to go on the Test Track ride, but after staying in line for 30 minutes (no fast passes), the ride shut down due to "technical issues" and remained "temporarily unavailable" for the most part for the next 3 days. Maybe Ford instead of Chevrolet, should have sponsored this ride, lol. When in Epcot, make sure you go on the Spaceship Earth ride (locate in the iconic globe). The Mission to Mars ride was fun too, and you have a choice of going on a less intense (Green team) or more intense (Orange team) journey. I selected the less intense journey, and next time would do the more intense version. Make sure you go on "Soarin" as well. It is exactly the same ride as the one in Disneyland, and I NEVER tire of this ride!

At the Animal Kingdom, I would highly recommend the Expedition Everest roller coaster and the Kilamanjaro Safari ride. Make sure you get a fast pass to Expedition Everest. It's an intense ride and the only roller coaster I've been on that goes backwards!

At Hollywood Studios, I recommend going on the Great Movie Ride, Tower of Terror, and Toy Story Mania (get fast passes for Tower of Terror and Toy Story Mania unless you want to stand in line for 90 minutes). You have to eat at the Prime Time Cafe, but make reservations in advance. The Studio Backlot Tour was a little disappointing compared to one in L.A.; SO much better! Don't waste your time going to "The Legend of Captain Jack Sparrow" show; it was incredibly lame. "Star Tours" was a lot of fun and no waiting time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, WV
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love Disney!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Always love Disney World - great fun for our whole family. We go at least every other year. Good food too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome but LONG LINES!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Took the grand kids to Magic Kingdom June 2013. It was 94 degrees and it was packed on a Tuesday. While it is a breathtaking place to experience the locals told us to go in October. Food for thought!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“still as good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

No matter how many times you visit Orlando you just have to visit Disneyworld Florida. There is just so much to do and lots to see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt Disney World also viewed

 

Been to Walt Disney World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walt Disney World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Walt Disney World to your Saves list