We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walt Disney World

Walt Disney World
World Drive, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)
(407) 934-7639
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Walt Disney World like an insider
Top Rated
$189*
and up
1-Day Admission to Disney World Theme Park with...
Ranked #8 of 282 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining, Getting married, Golfing, Tennis, Fishing, Rock climbing, Water-skiing, Shopping, Swimming, Group tours/day tour, Driving, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This world-famous resort consists of four theme parks (Magic Kingdom, EPCOT, MGM Studios, Animal Kingdom), three water parks, more than 20 hotels, eight golf courses and a myriad of attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Magic Kingdom was such a happy place. Everyone was smiling and having a great time. The parades were very good. We were lucky enough to see the Light Parade as well as the Christmas Parade so our timing was perfect. It is worth keeping your kids up late! We attended Mickey's Christmas Party and enjoyed the fireworks as well as the hot chocolate and cookies.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,264
    2,612
    1,221
    640
    539
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NorCal
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Booo to you, DW!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

From the moment our Plane landed...it was all downhill for us on this whole Disney experience! We landed at 9pm & got right on the Disney Shuttle - which took us NINTY mins. to get to our Hotel! There was no Traffic, there were no Lines...NINTY mins.! Next, our luggage was promised within 3 hrs. I figured since it was so sparse arriving - it'd be sooner. Wrong. I called down at 12:30am & was told our Hotel was the next stop. When it still hadn't arrived at 1am? They told us they don't deliver past midnight! I was livid! They brought us our Luggage per request - which meant we weren't in bed 'til 2am - wanting to be unpacked & settled to get a fresh start on the day! The hotel itself is a glorified & fancily painted Best Western at best. Our neighbors were smoking the last 4 days of our 6 nights & our room smelled of smoke the entire time! We complained, but nothing could be done. They kept claiming they couldn't 'catch' them...what? If our room smelled that bad - theirs had to be pretty easy to identify! Even the maids were complaining! The bathroom Tub in our Family Suite quit working (would only trickle HOT water) & it took 3 days to get that fixed...and the bathroom fans are on light/motion sensors - which means they kick on every 10 secs! While you're getting dressed - stay on for about 15. Just annoying - especially getting up in the middle of the nigh! The food here was the best we found anywhere - since we didn't want to worry about Scheduling from park to park for a Dining Plan - we were minimized to the Disney food stations/carts for most of our Trip. Add in the ridiculous system provided for Transportation (it took us 1.5 hrs at times to get back to the Hotel & nearly an hr to get from Park to Park) - I'm just not a fan of the whole Disney World experience! Wish we'd been warned NOT to travel with our normal, 3-wheel Jogger! We load it up for ease when we Travel - but, the Buses make you fold it down for every ride! If your child happens to be passed out? Good luck! No seat & have to hold it? Good luck! Season Passholders? Limited discounts available...I'm guessing this is because the Florida Season Passes are MUCH less expensive than ours from California - but, that was an adjustment! Next time (should we ever find ourselves giving in to our adorable almost-5 yr old again in the future)...we'll find the money to stay at the Polynesian - our Luau night there was one of the only 'fun' & stress-free evenings of the Trip! Having the Monorail is much easier than the Buses! We had selected Disney World as one of our 'Bucket List' stops for the Holidays...and were quite surprised they just don't do all that much! We're used to Disneyland - where we always have giggled 'Christmas got sick all over it!' & we love it! We were told by an employee at a hotel that she asked an Exec why that is & was told that people save all their lives for their Disney World experience - come from around the World - and most do not want our Holiday cultures imposed upon them. HuH? That makes no sense to me....but, anyways - Good luck! I'm not sure anything would've deterred us from going on this Trip - but, I wish we'd avoided it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed in Disney”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent a week in Orlando and had a 6 day pass for Disneyworld. Unfortunately, my son got sick on the fifth day of our stay and we could not go to Disney on that day. So, on our last day we wanted to use the remaining two days of our pass to go to Animal and Magic Kingdoms. When we wanted to enter Magic Kingdom we were told that we could not go to two parks on the same day because we hadn't purchased a park hopper ticket but if we wanted we could purchase a park hopper ticket for an additional 50 dollars per person. Since Magic Kingdom was only open for another two hours we decided to go home. I am pretty disappointed in Disney. Nowhere did it say that you can only use your pass for one park per day if you don't have a park hopper ticket. I understand that you cannot use one ticket for two parks on the same day but I don't understand why you cannot use two tickets for two parks on the same day. We paid for two days and could only use one. My five year old son cried and I did, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Always a great place to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Disney is magical. The first time I went with my daughter she was 7 years old. We just spend a day there with her , now 28 and her daughter 6 months old. We had a great time. The baby care center is clean and silent place to feed and change the baby. There are things to do for all ages and once again it's magical!!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St Lucie
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL PLACE AFTER 20 YR VISIT BACK!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Loved all of Disney but even the 1st week in Dec very busy i don't remember how rude allot of people are the new double carriages are the worst thing they could have made they will run you over before they have to move, these young mom's are insane with so many children and they are frustrated and tired WHY!!! they should wait till the child can enjoy it too sad to see that,,,

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt Disney World also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Walt Disney World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walt Disney World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.